Customer Reviews for

Slawter (Demonata Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good series!

I starting reading this after my mentee told me that she was reading the series. I love horror novels, so this book was a good fit for my genre. The text is easy to read, the story is engaging, and you won't want to put it down! I have read the first three so far and in...
I starting reading this after my mentee told me that she was reading the series. I love horror novels, so this book was a good fit for my genre. The text is easy to read, the story is engaging, and you won't want to put it down! I have read the first three so far and intend to finish the series.

posted by mrs_word on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than excellent

I was kept on edge the entire time and couldn't stop reading

posted by 10576533 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not best of series

    Pretty good story I would say but by far not as good as the first 2 of the series. I was glad to see Grubbs coming into his own and his powers getting stronger than either he or Dervish thought/think they would. Pretty predictable conclusion. Book leaves you with a couple of question s that hopefully get answered in the upcoming books. Hope this helps. Off to read BEC. Would recommend the series regardless!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Lights! Camera! Slawter!

    Do you believe in demons? If you don¿t, start believing, because demons are real. Grubbs Grady and his uncle, Dervish, have been offered to come on the set of David A. Hayms latest horrifying thriller movie, Slawter. David wants Dervish to help her in her research about demons because she knows he is an expert on them. Dervish, still recovering from his latest encounter with Lord Loss, a demon master who had tortured Dervish, is wary of joining a movie with demons even if they aren¿t real. Dervish decides to take the offer and takes Grubbs and Bill-e Spleen, who is a friend of Grubbs. It seemed great for Grubbs and Bill-e. They made a new friend name Emmet, who is staring in the movie, they get to do virtually whatever they want, and get to eat like kings. The pair becomes good friends with Emmet. Emmet is excited about his death scene. When the scene takes place, Emmet is dragged into the sewer by a ferocious demon. Everyone cries out in shock and Grubbs is in shock. He feels unbalanced and tells himself it wasn¿t a real demon. But deep down, Grubbs knows he is wrong. This book is the third in the series of The Demonata. This book could probably be read without reading the first two, but you would be missing out on some knowledge and events. If you¿re a horror lover, than this book is right for you. This book is the second series from Darren Shan which his first is absolutely spectacular. If you¿ve read the previous Cirque Du Freak books, then Darren Shan won¿t disappoint you with his new series. In the book, Slawter, I loved those really tense moments when a chill ran up your spine. If there was anything I didn¿t like, it would be how the books jump from one character to the next as you go on in the series. It doesn¿t matter if you¿re a boy or a girl, if you like horror, then this book is a good book to read. As David A. Haym would say, ¿Lights! Camera! Slawter!¿

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Slawter (The Demonata Series #3)

    Continues after book 1 Lord Loss when they fought with the title character. The gang of hunters are now investigating the goings on at a movie set that they believe might be something sinister lurking behind the curtain. This was was pretty good and kept with the suspense and not revealing anything too early.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Slawter Book 3

    continues with where Lord Loss left off where we find the returnees coping after the fight between the demon master and are now investigating a movie in progress called slawter directing by a movie director who wants to make it as real as possible plus the movie's about demons. They then make sure that's nothing out of the ordinary but at the end doubts rise while at the same time betrayals are known with a new revelation revealed in a to be continued ending...almost.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Good Book

    I somehow got a hold of this copy in my public library, when it wasn't suppose be even released yet. But, this was a good book. Filled with gore, violence, and action as usual. I am bit confused, because the second book is a about a different kid and the third book is continuing the story with grubb...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Grandma Bev for TeensReadToo.com

    Darren Shan is at the top of his form in his latest masterpiece of gruesome demons and terror. This third book in the DEMONATA series picks up where THE DEMON THIEF left us. Dervish is almost back to normal. Grubitsch Grady, better known as Grubbs, and his half-brother, Bill-E, are trying to live a normal life without demons. A group called The Lambs want to take Bill-E to their lab and observe and test him to see if he is really cured of lycanthropy. Uncle Dervish and Grubbs are certainly not going to allow that. Then Dervish is approached by acclaimed horror movie producer, David A. Haym, or "Davida," who wants Dervish to be a consultant on her new film. She has resurrected a ghost town and renamed it Slawter. Her masterpiece will have a demon theme, and Dervish, of course, is a demon expert. <BR/><BR/>The demons that romp through SLAWTER seem all too real to Grubbs and he begins to wonder whether more than filming is afoot when strange happenings disrupt the set and the filming. He can't seem to convince Uncle Dervish that real demons are on the loose, and are not just ingenious costumes. People begin to disappear. Is Lord Loss back in business? <BR/><BR/>Darren Shan broke new ground with his bestselling CIRQUE DU FREAK series, and now his DEMONATA series promises to be as great a hit with the kids. Shan is a master at characterization and plotting, and the fear factor raises your goose-bumps to a new height. I would not recommend this series for children ages ten and under, but for older kids that love scary stories with lots of gruesome gore, this book fits that category. The reluctant readers will love this exciting, horrific story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    Slawter (The Demonata Series #3)

    Continues after the events of the first book Lord Loss where we find the returnees coping with their battle with Lord Loss and thus are invited by a famous movie director to help her with her film that's about demons and wanting to make it as real as possible. At first there having doubts and decide why not all the while investigate making sure nothing supernatural is afoot. They had no idea what lies ahead for them on the set of the movie called Slawter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    pretty good

    I thought this was good way to continue the series but there could have been more action going on. I think the first book is the best of all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2