Customer Reviews for

Slawter (Demonata Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slawter Book 3

continues with where Lord Loss left off where we find the returnees coping after the fight between the demon master and are now investigating a movie in progress called slawter directing by a movie director who wants to make it as real as possible plus the movie's about...
continues with where Lord Loss left off where we find the returnees coping after the fight between the demon master and are now investigating a movie in progress called slawter directing by a movie director who wants to make it as real as possible plus the movie's about demons. They then make sure that's nothing out of the ordinary but at the end doubts rise while at the same time betrayals are known with a new revelation revealed in a to be continued ending...almost.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than excellent

I was kept on edge the entire time and couldn't stop reading

posted by 10576533 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Amazing

    I spent the whole night reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Good series!

    I starting reading this after my mentee told me that she was reading the series. I love horror novels, so this book was a good fit for my genre. The text is easy to read, the story is engaging, and you won't want to put it down! I have read the first three so far and intend to finish the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Darren Shan writes the most unforgettable books.

    Grubbs Grady was normal-except for 1 thing-he knew about demons. And David A.Haym was making a movie called Slawter -about demons!!!!!!The only thing was the people in the movie were really dying in their death scenes.Or at least dissapearing. It turns out Davida Haym made a deal-with real demons!!!!!!!!That's why Emmet Eijht never came back after the demon burst out of the manhole,grabbed him, ripped him apart,and blood sprayed everywhere. After that, I was shaking, and shivering,and telling everyone that one of my favorite characters just got murdered by a demon. Unstead of saying "That's what I call a death scene",I'd say "That's what I call gripping!" Davida Haym opens a tunnel to let the demons in, and Grubbs opened the shield to let the humans out. Then the tunnel closes and everyone inside is slaughtered.Afterwards,Grubbs, Dervish, and Bill-E to burn the set to the ground so they could say there was a gas leak. Lights...camera...SLAWTER!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    slawter

    If you like fast paced, grusome , and thrilling(oh yeah,creepy, interresting demons too)than this is the series for you.This is one of my favorite books in the saga so far, i have read all of darren shan's books and they are all outstanding. I love this author and i am so glad i finally found the perfect books for me. try it and i bet you will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    the best book ever made for teens

    If you like books with blood demons and carnage i think youll love this book it has adventure and suspens, lights camera slawter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    AMAZING

    Darren Shan is a pure genius when it comes to writing horror stories. This book was a terrific follow up to what happened in the first book 'Lord Loss.' I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Awsome Awsomw

    The book is cool and also a great mystery! However i think one part got copied from ben10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Oops in the last review for the second book, got the wrong name.

    Oops in the last review for the second book, got the wrong name. I meant Kernal not Dervish. Been a while since I read the series. Anyway, with this one we're back with Grubbs as he and co go to a movie set when they hear something about the director making a movie with demons, real or not. Very good sequel and one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    I'm so picky when it comes to horror books. I love the action an

    I'm so picky when it comes to horror books. I love the action and gore and twist in the plot. This series has me hooked and I cannot wait to read the next one. If you like creepy demons and gore this book is for you and the characters are awesome! Glad I found this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Awesome

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Book

    great book series to read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    very interesting

    This book was very good, and had a lot of bloody gore. It was very bloody and had a lot of deaths.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A Bloody Mystery

    This is one of the best books I have ever read and probably will read. I could hardly put it down when I was reading it. I loved it so much that I finished it in about one and a half weeks which is fast for me. The book starts out with Dervish having nightmares which he¿s been having ever since he returned from battling with Lord Loss. Grubbs wakes him every time these nightmares come, and usually gets hit or kicked. They lock up all the dangerous weapons so he can¿t take one and kill Grubbs. One regular day Dervish got a telephone call from a famous movie writer Davida Haym. She asks Dervish to help with her new movie ¿Slawter¿. ¿Slawter¿ was about a group of demons wrecking havoc on an unsuspecting town. Dervish helped by telling Davida if the costumes looked right or if they needed changing. Soon, they go to the movie set and get acquainted with everyone there. In the first filmed scene, one of Grubbs¿ and Bill-E¿s friends died. Bill-E is Grubbs¿ brother except Bill-E doesn¿t know it. Later when the next scene is filmed Lord Loss shows up. Grubbs is the only one who thinks the demons are real. Soon he proves they are real, and Grubbs, Dervish, Bill-E, and Juni must fight for there lives and the people still alive in Slawter. I like a lot of things about this book. I liked how he told the story. The author Wrote one book then wrote another book with a different story, but same idea, and came back from the first book in the third book. I didn¿t really hate anything about the book except the end which leaves you hanging. I think that you do need to read other books because it goes back to previous books. This book reminds me of the movie ¿Constantine¿ because in the movie the main character has to fight demons. I would recommend this book to people who like reading about demons or if they like reading books by Darren Shan. This is the third book in the series. The other books are ¿Lord Loss¿ and ¿Demon Thief¿.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    slawter

    Slawter in my opinion is the best so far in the Demonata series and so ya.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    sweeeeeeeeet

    I loved this book. This is the best book I have ever read. I haven't read any of the previous Demonata books yet, but the book still fills you in on the past throughout the book. I wouldn't say that it's necessesarilly (however you spell it) recomended for young adults- I'm only twelve and it was fine, there wasn't very many huge words, but it is pretty gruesom.... VERY gruesom. But yeah, Bill-E, Grubbs, and Dervish get to film a movie with Davida A. Hayme with lots of demons and things like that but it turns out, Davida and many of the cast and crew are actually working with the demons. So all of the demons in the book are real... not fake. And they killed Emmet, Kuk/Kik-which ever one, and in the end.... OH THE END!!! Okay, I'm not going to spoil the end.... But it's crazy. And I seriously need you to read this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    'The Girl Who Hated Books Loves Them Now!'

    The book is so exciting. I couldn't but it down. I loved all the other books. And that says a lot. Coming from someone who used to hate books. When I was young. I hated books. But thanks to this book. I love them.I rate the book as outstanding for the suspense and love it showed for the characters in the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Outstanding

    I love all Darren Shan books!!! But this one was an outstanding work of literature.It is truly outstanding.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    WOW!!!

    Darren Shan can write. I love the Cirque Du Freak Series (Saga of Darren Shan) and I did not how he can top that series, until he came out with this. The Demonata is an OUTSTANDING series along with Saga of Darren Shan. I do not know how this guy writes these amazing books. If anyone likes the Saga, will like this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Oh My Gosh!!!

    I pretty much dont even care that it isnt out yet cause all of darren shans work is amazing and i recommend any of his work for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4