BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Slayers (Slayers Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    YOU GOTTA READ THIS BOOK!!

    What I would give to be a "flier." This is a great book for teens and adults who like urban fantasy. It is action packed, full of twists and keeps you turning the pages. As a reader I look for clean books that I can feel good about letting my young adults and teens read. C.J. Hill has brought it to the table!! I can't wait for book 2!!!!! Nobody better lose their powers!!! Go Slayers! We need a camp song!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    This year's must read

    Just when I'd grown weary of all the "dragons are our friend" books and movies, Slayers bursts onto the scene. Slayers is about a group of teens destined to kill the fearsome dragons foretold to destroy the world. It's told from the point of view of a young teenaged girl who doesn't particularly want to save the world, and no one particularly likes the rich new girl, either. The characters are complex and likeable. The stakes are high and there are lots of highs and lows as Tori discovers and learns to control new powers that just may save her life when the dragons hatch and begin wreaking their destruction. There's even a fun love triangle. But when things look up, the Slayers realize there's a traitor in their midst.

    Slayers in a must-read for anyone who enjoys reading fantasy or young adult novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    I¿m a believer! Dragons really do exist. After reading ¿Slayers

    I’m a believer! Dragons really do exist. After reading “Slayers” by C.J. Hill the storyline is plausible. Dragons may have disappeared but their return and attack on mankind is inevitable. All the stories in medieval times that Dragons exist are not fables but true. What’s great about this book is its happening today right in your own town. Well this story takes place in Washington DC but no one is safe from the return of Dragons!
    Tori can’t help being attracted to Team Jesse with his dark and tall features and Team Dirk with his blonde blue eyes and surfer boy attitude; really they are the “team” captains. That is how they train by competing against each other and they are very competitive. Tori’s way behind in training and very frustrated because she doesn’t know her purpose in the group. Her special power is she can hear what the dragon hears, which for now, as an egg is a heartbeat. How special is that?
    This story is exciting and keeps you speculating what will happen next. Not everybody is who they claim to be and with their lives on the line they have to decide who they can trust.
    Ryker is a side story of the boy who got away but I can’t wait until the second book when he finally joins the group and find out his powers. I believe he will be powerful and just what the other Slayers need to finally rid the world of Dragons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragons... Camp Full-Blood... Battle Adventure!

    Teens keen on evil, ruthless dragons, superheroes with powers like flying, likable characters, mayhem, chivalry, and a bit of romance will flock to C. J. Hill's debut fantasy novel SLAYERS--don't be the last to read this ROCKING novel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Amazing!

    gotta love dragons right???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pack your bags - we're going to camp!

    A new spin on the age old legend of Dragons and a new breed of heroes.

    I picked this book up at a great discount because the dust cover synopsis and the cover intrigued me. I didn't expect anything when I cracked it open and headed off to camp with Tory and the rest of the Slayers. And then I couldn't put it down.

    I hadn't heard of CJ Hill, which is a pseudonym for a well known YA author. So, this author was brand new to me and I really enjoyed the writing and the story.

    This book has everything you need; action, romance, mystery and a few twists. Once of which left me speechless.

    Of course now we're left hanging to the next one, isn't that the problem with series?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspense, romance, and of course, dragons!

    Suspensful, clean, romantic, and dragons. What more could you ask for?

    Tori has been dreaming about dragons her whole life, now she's signed up for dragon camp. As a seventeen year old she feels somewhat nerdy doing this, but she's drawn there regardless. When she's shown to the "advanced camp" she realizes she's in for more than she bargained for. She learns that dragons are real and that she's a descendent of dragon slayers with powers and now a moral obligation to kill them before they destroy Washington D.C.

    This is only book 1 of the series. No big metropolis destroying showdowns, but still packed with action, secrets, choosing sides, and choosing which hot guy to date. So many important decisions...

    If you like dragons or any of Janette Rallison's other books this is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Must Read!

    I didn't love, love, this book but I highly enjoyed it. The aspect that caught me was the fresh take on dragons. No, they are not going to be our pets and love us. They are just the opposite.

    For the main part of the book we see the story progress through the eyes of Tori. The POV switchs sometimes in between, I appreciated that because it gave us a look into different peoples thoughts on the matter. Tori, well, lots of people say they didn't like her but I didn't mind her at all. She's a little bit of a wimp at first but she is definitely smart. And I loved the fact that the author didn't make her excel at everything. We find that alot, where the main hero/heroine is good at everything. That made her more realistic in my eyes. As the summary above says, they will fall in love. Particulary two will fall for one (see where I'm going here?) and those two, although one was the obvious choice the other dare I say, I felt sorry for. He really did have good intentions. But I'm still sticking with the main choice here... he's awesome. He (yes no names here) can aim arrows, ride horses, shoot a rifle (with his eyes closed!) oh and yeah... FLY! He's a keeper. I like that the romance didn't overtake the book but there was enough to keep my interest (and enough swoon worthy boys around!). One of my favourite characters though, was Bess. She's so sassy and smart, and has all the bravo in the world!

    The book moved at a pace that was good. I enjoyed the writing style and I loved how she incorporated super-powers. That was awesome. But I felt as though the real action didn't come until far into the book, and I'm sad to report that.... I think this is going to be a series of some sort. Sigh. I had to keep reminding myself while reading that all these events were happening over a four day period and then it ended with finally mentioned the eluded Ryker (rocking name!) Davis, the character that I wanted to know so much about! Cliffhanger? No not really. Opening for second book? Uh, yeah. But all in all I was happy with the action, there were a lot of neat elements in this story.

    I would recommend it to fantasy fans, dragon fans, romance people and anyone who's interested. A very well done job by one of my favourite authors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    I Really Enjoyed This Book

    Great premise, fast action and interesting characters ¿ I really enjoyed this book. Dragons are real and they¿re almost unstoppable killing machines. A group of teens find out they are descended from dragon slayers and must now train at a secret camp to develop their special talents to save people. But what if they don¿t want to fight dragons and would rather go back to their regular teen lives? The plot in this well-written and enjoyable book introduces interesting twists. I can¿t wait for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Rallison never ceases to amaze us!

    I consider myself to be a huge Rallison/Hill fan. Her style of writing is bubbly, witty and CLEAN. I respect that this author has created such a high standard for all YA authors out there.

    My young sister is an avid reader, and I often cringe when I think of some of the YA novels out there with some explicit material that she might be exposed to. No need to worry about that issue this Christmas, parents! ALL of Hill's books are free of any explicit material for all ages. As a married woman in my mid-twenties, I still fall in love with love, in each of Rallison's books. "Slayers" was no exception. When I began reading "Slayers," I was instantly drawn into the story line. This has a different, yet similar writing style to her previous books. I found that I often could not put "Slayers" down. In fact, I finished reading it on Thanksgiving. Instead of eating with my family, I holed myself up in a room, finishing the book. No regrets! It was awesome! TEAM JESSE ALL THE WAY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Great Read

    This book was surprisingly good. I had my doubts when I first saw the cover, but after the first chapter... I was hooked.

    There is both romance, and adventure--my favorite combo. This book is fantastic, and fast paced.

    A definite two thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    LuvToRead

    Excellent story. Loved every part of the story line and characters. I wish I could fly with Jesse ;)
    I love fantasy and dragon myth. This book brings action and a small dose of romance that keeps you entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    He<_>ll to slayde

    Peace out. Im free. Ima goin back to true evil. Later you perverted freak!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Hollyleaf

    Flipps him off and started to pad away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great if.......

    If u like dragons and romance its starts out boring then gets amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    <3

    <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Breanna

    Has white skin and is a vampire that is kind,friendly,&caring. Has two sisters named Brenda and Bella. 13 years old. Goes to Vampire middle school. Has shiny black straight hair. Loves to wear cool clothes and wears lipstick everday. Has two best friends named Belle and Briella. They are vampires too. Loves making black and red friendship bracalets. Has a pocketknife that use to be her great grandmother's. Goes to sleep when the sun comes out and wakes up when the moon comes out. Has a pet bat named Batty. Has a mom and dad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Jessie

    Name-Jessie Bird (Jess) Age-15 Gender-Girl Status-None Looks-Petite with long blonde hair and blue eyes. Wears dark blue skinny jeans,white t,black colombia jacket and grey nikes.
    Personality-Nice strong lovable...vicious. Others-Love killing things. LOVES the color purple. And is very awesome!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Delta

    Name: Delta Minor ~••~ Looks: dark hair, light skin, gray eyes ~••~ Age: 15 ~••~ Crush or Boyfriend: none ~••~ Gender: female ~••~ Weapons: pistol, bow and arrows, matches, knife, spear ~••~ Personality: unforgiving, an outsider, is friends with weird ppl (i.e. is friends with a werewollf named Ben), mysterious ~••~ History: was raised properly by a monster hunter. Is a 9th generation monster hunter ~••~ Has been known to kill: vamires, zombies, krackons, demons, hellhounds, etc ~••~ Other: dont make me mad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2