BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sleep My Darlings: The true story of a mother who killed her children in cold blood

Average Rating 2.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Gave 4 star cause i like D. Fanning .. there were no pictures, and no trial. My heart does hurt for the children, how a mother could look at a her child and shoot is so heartwrenching. I pray she gets whats deserved !! .... Bn

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

gives zero insight into the crime.....rambles on about extempora

gives zero insight into the crime.....rambles on about extemporaneous events to fill the pages

posted by 15755519 on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Boring

    This book was extremely boring and hard to read. The author put to much fill-in information about the history of towns, events, buildings, etc. There was scare information about the crime and mental illness claimed by Julie Schenecker. There was very little information about the family leading up to the time of the crime. This book was a real disappointment. Save your money and wait to read about it after the trial. If yoiu are a history buff, you might find this book interesting.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    gives zero insight into the crime.....rambles on about extempora

    gives zero insight into the crime.....rambles on about extemporaneous events to fill the pages

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Tragic

    I definitely agree with previous reviewers that the first part of the book spent way too much time on the history of different places, some of which really had nothing to do with the crime. While the information was certainly interesting, it didn't add to the story and seemed to just be put in to fill pages. I think the author's time could've been better spent, and pages better filled, with more background and information on the principals in this tragic story. I also wish she had waited till after the trial to write the book. That being said, after about the first quarter of the book, I started to become really engrossed in this tragic story and I finished it quickly. I admire Parker Schenecker for his grace and strength during the most difficult time of his life. I think the ways he has chosen to honor his children's memories is commendable. It will be very interesting to see how Julie's trial plays out. May Calyx and Beau rest in peace and may justice be served...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    She's ridiculous. She is not better than a ambulance chaser. Obv

    She's ridiculous. She is not better than a ambulance chaser. Obviously no one in the family or close frientds would even talk to her. She took a tragedy beyond words and made money from it. Please don't buy this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Ok

    Gave 4 star cause i like D. Fanning .. there were no pictures, and no trial. My heart does hurt for the children, how a mother could look at a her child and shoot is so heartwrenching. I pray she gets whats deserved !! .... Bn

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    This book was very hard to read. The author describes the histor

    This book was very hard to read. The author describes the history of towns and events; even going into details about the JFK assassination at one point. If you're interested in the story, simply google it and you will find articles that give as much information as this book without all the history fill-in information. There also isn't a true ending, simply because the trial for Ms. Schenecker isn't  happening until April of 2014.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Awful

    Horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Dont spend the money

    Author did not have access to any family or friends which made book boring, redundant and hard to read. You can easily determine that all research, statements, etc were taken directly from internet. Cringe worthy writing skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Horrible

    207 pages and half of that is explaing towns and places history since this family lived all over the author feels the need to explain every historic detail about it I didn't read half of it and kept flipping pages to get to the story. I had no idea this case was still going on otherwise I never would if purchased it. Wait till the trial is over and look for another book written by another author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    TOXIN TO ALL

    Move to "blood battle" result one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Thistlefang

    Poked his head in silently.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Aspen

    Purred. Gtgtb bbt after skool

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Mynt and co.

    Striking watched Mynt pad around and collect the kits. His wounds were covered and he sighed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Lightless

    Peeked in, not seeing a whole lot, then ran back to camp, bewildered by what broken was yowling about.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Broken

    Gets up and limps oit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    If you are a true crime fan then this book is for you! It is very well written and very intriguing. It keeps you enthralled throughout the entire story. It definitely hooked me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1