Customer Reviews for

Sleep No More

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing thriller!

    This is one of my favorite Greg Iles books. It keeps you on your feet the entire read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    You Won't Fall Asleep Reading This One

    Greg Iles is an excellent writer and this book was really a suspense/thriller novel. I enjoyed every minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A new favorite Author people need to read

    I had a friend of mine suggest books by this author.I had never heard of him before. Now I have read 4 of his books. This was an excellent book with an end I didn't see coming. I love it when that happens. It kept me revited. Great plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Such a great thriller.

    This is my second book by greg iles, the first being "24 hours." I thought "24 hours" was pretty good, but this may have been the best thriller I have read. The author does a great job creating characters you will love or relate to. He also does a beautiful job bringing things together neatly. My only complaint is the very last chapter. I think the book could have used one or two more chapters before the last to make it all seem more real. After writing such a great book, it seemed to end by saying, "and it ended up like this." I would only deduct maybe a third of one star. Pick this book up if you love thrillers and have plenty of time to read when you get engrossed in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    EXCELLENT Thriller Book

    I thought ¿Sleep No More¿ was a really great book. It caught my eye at the store so I read what it was about. I noticed Steven King wrote something about it so I decided to read it since I like thriller books. I¿ve never read one of Greg Iles¿ books before but I think I will be reading more of them. Once I started reading it I couldn¿t put it down, it was so suspenseful and mind boggling. I was so engrossed in this book because his ex-girlfriend, Mallory, comes back into a different body after dying, and is trying to get back with John Waters. But it¿s different now, he¿s married, to Lily, and has a little girl, Anna. Mallory goes threw everyone to get to him and finally it works. She knows everything about him all in time. She starts to learn her powers on how to transfer threw people, so she goes into Lily¿s body so John will look at her like he does Lily and feel the same way too. But he finds out it¿s Mallory and threatens her so she would leave his wife¿s body alone, but of coarse she threatens him back with killing his daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    Great Read

    Like one reviewer has said, I also purchased this book because of Stephen King's comment on the cover. I was not disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed this thriller and have since read two more of Greg Iles books. I've become a new fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Excellent Thriller

    This novel kept me on the edge of my bed for days, until I finished it. Extremely fast, and very interesting. Can be weird at times, but overall it turned out to be on the top five of the greatest books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL

    I have read numerous novels but none can compare to 'Sleep No More.' It is outstanding!! If you read a lot like I do, you know that after a while, every book kind of mixes together and becomes really fuzzy. This is the only exception that I have found. The only bad thing about it is that everything I read now is disappointing in comparison to Sleep No More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    GREAT STORY

    THE STORY WAS GREAT! I LOVED THE FACT THAT IT WAS DEALING WITH THE SUPERNATURAL. THAT'S WHAT READING IS ALL ABOUT, GETTING OUT OF YOUR OWN LITTLE WORLD. I'M READY FOR PART TWO!!! WILL EVE COME BACK?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    LOVE this story!

    I'm an avid Stephen King reader - picked this one up because King gave it a rave review. It is excellent - a fun, suspenseful, sexy story. I burned right through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    How can this disappoint anyone?

    Greg Iles truly brings to the mind, the pictures of what we cannot see in print. He brings his characters, settings and all situations to life as the reader takes his books in! I don't know how anyone could be disappointed with his work, no matter how real or fictitious it is...in the end, his books are masterpieces!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    Creepy...

    Definately something different from what we're used to getting from Greg, but I absolutely loved it! I was glued to this book the way I was with Mortal Fear. Those expecting a 'down-to-earth' legal thriller (such as The Quiet Game) might be disappointed, but those who enjoy a taste of the supernatural (with plenty of squirm-worthy eroticism mixed in) will *love* Sleep No More. I'm pleased that the author decided to venture out and write something 'different'... He remains at the top of my list of favorites :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    The Best!!!

    The first book I ever read by Greg, I couldn't get enough. I continued to read all of the books he has written and I have read all of them. I hope that Greg contiunes to write more books and keeps up the great work. Because I will be waiting to read the next one, when it hits the shelf. I wish he could write much more faster, but a good book always takes time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    Creepy, Suspenseful...A MUST read!

    John Waters is a man happy with his life. He has a loving wife, a young daughter, a successful business, and all the pleasures he could want living in Mississippi, but underneath this surface is a dark past, a past that has caught up with him. Many years earlier John was in a relationship with Mallory Candler, a relationship that started off good, but quickly turned to obsession. John barely escaped the relationship with his sanity still intact, and soon after he met Lily. Mallory disappeared soon after John married Lily, and shortly after that John found out she was killed in New Orleans. Now, many years later a woman has entered his life, one that hides many secrets from the past. Eve Sumner enters John¿s life and within seconds she is mouthing words that John has long forgotten, and after their face to face meeting John realizes Eve has a connection to his past, but before he can find the connection a brutal act of violence will pull him into a maze of lies, love, friendship, and the realization of how far someone will go when passion turns to obsession. `Sleep No More¿ will definitely have you lose sleep turning the pages to discover the outcome in it¿s twisted plot. The first fifty pages start slow, but chapter five exposes the books first shock, and then it hurtles forward with twists and turns, more shocks, and more plot twists. A creepy plot of obsessive love, a shady cast of characters, and the small town setting sets the stage for this UP-ALL-NIGHT page-turner that will have readers wondering if they really know their loved ones. This is one creepy, suspenseful thriller! Greg Iles has been changing his thrillers with each new book, where many authors pick a genre and theme and stick to it, Mr. Iles changes them, successfully! There¿s no doubt that `Sleep No More¿ is headed for the top of the bestseller lists, and it¿s my pick for top-notch beach reading. A MUST read! Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    chilling paranormal thriller

    John Waters is a geologist living with his wife Lily and his seven-year-old daughter Annelise in his hometown of Natchez, Mississippi. He is reasonably contented with his lot in life until Eve Sumner comes into his sphere and changes everything he believed in. The first time he sees her, she mouths the word ¿soon¿ to him, something his obsessive dead lover used to do. <P>When Eve and Waters are alone for the first time, she tries to convince him that she is Mallory Gray Candler, his college sweetheart who developed a fatal attraction for him. Eve tells him things that only Mallory can know and she explains her knowledge by stating that her soul transmigrated into many bodies, her soul purpose to dominate the host¿s personality. Eventually, they begin a torrid affair one that ends when Waters, at the peak of his climax, blacks out. When he come to, Eve is dead, marks of strangulation around her neck. His friend offers him an alibi while his lawyer tells him somebody is trying to set him up, but he knows the truth is out there somewhere smack in the middle of the supernatural. <P>Greg Isles is a versatile multi-talented author, who has a unique voice and never writes about the same thing twice. Against the background of an illicit love affair and a murder investigation, the author forces the reader to question the concepts of life, death and the soul. The results are a chilling paranormal thriller that will be put on this reviewer¿s keeper shelf. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Unreal!

    Greg is my new favorite author. This book is his best. It is The Exorcist meets Fatal Attraction. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2