Customer Reviews for

Sleepaway Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Amzing!

    I absolutly hate this genre of books but my friend recomended this book, so I read it. I absolutly LOVED it, it is probably the best girlish book I have ever read! This book is a summer must read. If u dont read this book u are truley missing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Great!

    This book made me want to go to campy really really bad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    sooooooo good

    loved this book it was ammaaaaaazing coildnt stop reading it one of my favorite books kinda predictable tho but jad some god twists in it. loved it!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    get it

    not a MUST get but it is very good and wilk make u gasp every few chapters! quick read and funny too! get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    cool...

    this book really made me want to go2 camp! i absolutly love my nook color!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    amazing

    great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Awesome book

    This book was cute, funny, insiring. everything you would want summer camp to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fun take on summer camp

    I know that I am now in college and should move away from the high school based books I always read, but sometimes its too hard!! I picked up Jen Calonita's book Sleepaway Girls and I saw that the characters were primarily based in early high school and to not expect much. Funny thing, I got alot out of this book. There will always be people like Ashley, the alpha girl at Whispering Pines camp. There will always be times where you want to scream and toss pancakes and orange juice at someone. Ms. Calonita's book lets us see summer camp from the eyes of Samantha Montgomery, a true newbie to the summer camp experience. There is one wrinkle, Sam's mother is divorced and the director of the summer camp(who actually is the father of Ashely and her older sister Alexis) is dating her.
    But the book does not dwell on the dynamics of that relationship, what it focuses on is the true friendship she has with some of the other counsellors and the way Sam grows from being a girl who lets her best friend dictate what they do, to a self confident person who can take on telling her crush that she loves him...in front of the whole camp. I loved this book and it truly left me wanting more. I want to find out what happens during the rest of the year, if Sam's mother keeps the relationship going, and I really want to see Sam back at the camp, and with her friends. She stayed in her shell for so much of the book, i felt like I wanted another chapter just to enjoy the confident Sam.
    I give it a Must Read!! Even if you are not at the summer camp age, its still a good read to boost your spirit and make you long for days spent at summer camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    OMGosh amazing

    how could you not want a book so amazing that you finish it in one sitting? Hw could you not want a book that everyone says is awesome? You can't! If you have a brain, then you need to pick up this book today. It is a story about a 3rd wheel that a lot of us cn relate to, and how Sam deals with that. This story is very well written, explained well and shows a real life girl that is totally some one all can relate to. PS. Some of the charecters can be a little shallow, but all in all a good story written by an author who has brought all who have read it wanting more :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A new adventure

    Sam and her BFF do everything together, but when her best friend finds herself a boyfriend, it becomes too much. Sam can't bear the though of being a threesome all summer, so she finds a job as a CIT (counselor in training) at a camp. She's never been to camp before so when she arrives, she's in culture shock. She's the only new girl there and she makes quite an entrance. Sam had no idea people look forward to camp all year long nor does she know what a Color War means. Before long, she's making friends with the CITs in her bunk until they find out her secret. She's the girl from the Dial and Dash commercial and someone takes great offense to her success. Ashley doesn't take competition well and makes sure Sam knows her displeasure. Sam's too busy making new friends and checking out one very cute counselor to let it get her down.

    Sleepaway Girls is the perfect summer reading complete with boys, friends, mean girls, and revenge plans. It makes me actually want to go to camp for a summer. Plus the cover's super cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Get ready to go to summer camp!

    A camp counselor deals with cute boys, best friends, evil girls, and hilarious camp escapades. This book is funny and a great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    All Around Enjoyable (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    Sleepaway Girls
    By Jen Calonita
    Pub. Date: May 2009
    4.5 out of 5 stars
    PG - Fine for all ages, but will appeal more to teens
    Recommended

    How does spending the summer with your best friend and her boyfriend making kissy noises around you, the third wheel, sound? Um. no thanks! Sam takes a bold step and applies to be a Counselor-in-Training at Whispering Pines, a summer camp, two hours away from home. Though she is accepted, not everyone is welcoming. Ashley, the camp director's daughter, tried to alienate and humiliate Sam at every turn. Shadowed by her hit national commercial, Sam is instantly dubbed a threat to Ashley's stardom at camp. Camp is turning out harder than she first thought it was going to be. Not to mention the hot and lardaceous counselor, Hunter, creating awkward moments. And then there's Cole. Always joking and sarcastic, yet kind and gentle with his cabin's kids. Will Sam's eyes linger on the wrong boy? With three new unique friends by her side, the usually passive Sam knows it's time to stand on her own two feet and take matters into her own hands. But will Sam learn to use her voice?

    Sleepaway Girls was a lighthearted read perfect for summer reading. It had amiable characters, a respectable timeline, a benign plot, refreshing dialogue, and a pleasant wrap-up. The only con is its familiarity. It lacked a unique taste that would have separated it from other appetizers. Sadly, it's not a delicacy. Though there are similar books out there, Sleepaway Girls was still all around enjoyable.

    Date Reviewed: April 29th, 2009

    For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1