BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sleepeasy Solution: The Exhausted Parent's Guide to Getting Your Child to Sleep from Birth to Age 5

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I got the Sleepeasy Solution book on my Nook and I have to say t

I got the Sleepeasy Solution book on my Nook and I have to say this is the best method I've come across for sleep training. It's clear and concise on what to do and nothing by the way of this method makes me feel like I have to go against my instincts to get the job don...
I got the Sleepeasy Solution book on my Nook and I have to say this is the best method I've come across for sleep training. It's clear and concise on what to do and nothing by the way of this method makes me feel like I have to go against my instincts to get the job done. It sympathizes with the caring gentle mother who hates to hear her baby cry but learning to self-sooth is a skill they must learn. I suggest reading this book cover to cover before starting the process. You're baby will cry, it's inevitable, but this books gives you all the tools to successfully sleep train with the minimal amount of crying. Finally, a sleep training book that works!!

posted by AuntiePickle on March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book was not for us. After researching and trying some diff

This book was not for us. After researching and trying some different ways of teaching my child to sleep I purchased the book after seeing they had a "Least Cry" approach. The "least cry" approach is basically a cleverly marketed Ferber method that a...
This book was not for us. After researching and trying some different ways of teaching my child to sleep I purchased the book after seeing they had a "Least Cry" approach. The "least cry" approach is basically a cleverly marketed Ferber method that allows for consistent, timed check-ins. There is no less crying involved. Nevertheless I tried this approach with my 6 month old. I followed the instructions carefully for 6 days, printed out the logs, wrote down all my check-ins and our bedtime routines. I was consistent. However, instead of a shortened nightly duration of crying each night, my daughter gradually lengthened her crying spells, until we were at an hour and a half of crying. In addition, she became so withdrawn, exhausted, and clingy during the day, she would sob if I set her down or gave her to my husband. The book mentions that some children seem tired for a couple of days as they "catch up" on sleep. I realized what was really happening with my daughter was that she was losing her trust in me to be there for her needs. I stopped immediately. I'd rather lose sleep. It has been a few days back to our regular schedule and she is back to her happy, active self.

I am still giving this book three stars because I have no doubt that this would help many parents of less attached babies if that is your parenting style. I am demoting it ONLY because they market it as a "least cry" approach and I feel that may deceive people, not because it didn't work for us. The authors are fair, and mention that you should go with your instincts and if this method doesn't seem to work for you, don't do it. I wish I had listened.

posted by RoweBoat on November 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    I got the Sleepeasy Solution book on my Nook and I have to say t

    I got the Sleepeasy Solution book on my Nook and I have to say this is the best method I've come across for sleep training. It's clear and concise on what to do and nothing by the way of this method makes me feel like I have to go against my instincts to get the job done. It sympathizes with the caring gentle mother who hates to hear her baby cry but learning to self-sooth is a skill they must learn. I suggest reading this book cover to cover before starting the process. You're baby will cry, it's inevitable, but this books gives you all the tools to successfully sleep train with the minimal amount of crying. Finally, a sleep training book that works!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Amazingly effective, truly!

    I bought this book soon after having my first child. I bought a few others and read them all (hard with a newborn with colic, trust me) trying to figure out which would work best with the quickest turn-around. This one was the easiest to read with very understandable and quick to follow outlines for when you are exhausted. I started training my son at 6 months and within a week, he was sleeping through the night and perfectly at nap time. This was 4 years ago and I've since used it with subsequent kids and kids that I babysit during the day. It really works! I recommend taking quick little notes on how to do the bedtime sleep training so when you're frustrated with them crying, your husband keeps asking, "are you sure we're doing this right?", and you can't think straight from lack of sleep, you have something to easily reference. I give this to all new moms as a gift... wonderful and so effective!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    MY MIRACLE BOOK!!!

    I had a terrible sleeper and napper 7 months old baby girl, until I read this book! I was desperate searching some answers, tips or sleep training strategies on the web and I found this miracle book! I read the reviews, the method, the approach and I thought that this book was exactly what I was looking for. My LO was taking 20-35 minutes "catnaps" and was crying for hours when I put her down for sleep EVERY NIGHT. She didn't know how to sleep without my breast, so she was waking up in the middle of the night, looking for me and my breast to fall back to sleep again. I was exhausted! I read the most important chapters in 1 night and the night after, I decided to begin with the "sleep learning", following every step of the book. She went to bed without any protest and now, she takes 2 hour naps, twice a day and she is TOTALLY ANOTHER BABY! Now, she's well rested in the morning, she can play, she's not fussy, she's a really happy baby! Thanks to the miracle book! I'm totally amazed! This book saved my life and my marriage! Thanks Jill and Jen!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    Buy this book immediately!!!

    I rarely take the time to write reviews, but felt so strongly about this book that I had to share. Our 7 month old was up nearly every hour and I was completely beyond exhaustion. I truly felt like I could barely hold myself together any longer. Several friends recommended this method, after I had attempted and failed at the Ferber method (whose book I also read front to back). The Sleepeasy Solution had very clear simple instructions for the foggy brained sleepless mom. I really studied the book before diving into the "training" and feel that it helped tremendously in our success. And before this turns into a novel itself, you must trust me that this book is worth a shot! I worked miracles for us!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    Great book!

    This book was great for me, but you must follow what it says. My daughter has been sleeping through the night ever since I started within a week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    Awesome book!

    This book was amazing. I have a seven month old who was still waking up 3-5 times a night. After mediocre information on how to get him to sleep through the night, I found this book. By the third night of using this book he was sleeping through the night and going to sleep without any crying or fussing. We've been using the book for two weeks and he goes to bed so easily now, no crying at bed time, no crying during the night. Anyone who is struggling with getting a child to sleep through the night, go to sleep without fighting or fussing, or working on taking good naps should buy this book. I'm going to give this book at any baby shower I go to in the future!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Please buy this book if you are at wits end with your child's sleep problems

    I am sitting here typing this on day 3 of starting this method. I can honestly say I am near tears on how happy I am because this method actually worked! Please, please, please buy this book and read it. My daughter will be 2 yrs old this week! And we have had nonstop issues with getting her to sleep at night and naps have been a complete nightmare. I felt lost, helpless, alone, depressed, etc because I knew she needed sleep so desperately and I couldnt seem to help her. I was VERY worried about doing this method because I thought there was NO way it was going to work. We started a month or so ago by creating a bedtime book and got her in the routine of doing the same thing every night. She loves it! We also spent a lot of time playing in her room. I spent 3 very uncomfortable nights sleeping with her on the floor in her room before starting this. On the first official night she only cried for 20 min and we only had to do one check in on her!! She woke up an hour later and cried for about 4 min and went back to sleep until 8am the next morning!! The first nap time was yesterday and she cried for 3 min and then slept for 1 1/2 hours! This is so amazing because in 2 years she has NEVER slept for more than 30 min in her crib! Today it took her 10 min to go down for her nap and she woke up 40 min later. I did a check in after 5 min and she cried for 3 min and fell alseep for another25 min! I am only giving all these details to give an idea of how things might go. All children are different so you will not have the exact results but please please try this. It is hard to see your child cry for even a min but it is SO worth it to know they are getting the sleep they need. Did I say yet to please please read this book!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1