Customer Reviews for

Sleepers: The Swarm Trilogy, Book 1

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in two days! It's amazing to me how different t

I read this book in two days! It's amazing to me how different two books with similar themes can be. The last two books I've read - this one and the last one - have been about young women who were warriors and on a journey to return to their homes. Of course they both h...
I read this book in two days! It's amazing to me how different two books with similar themes can be. The last two books I've read - this one and the last one - have been about young women who were warriors and on a journey to return to their homes. Of course they both had love to deal with - should she love this one or that one? But this book, Sleepers, handled the story so much better. The action sped along with twists and turns everywhere. The setting seemed to be medieval, which I love, and the characters - Lianne, Bryden and Kellan - seemed to have the coloring of the Irish, which I also love. I know it's a fantasy, but I seemed to connect with the story and it seemed "believable". And there was love and physical attraction, but no explicit sex. I liked the way Bryden could calm the fires inside Lianne. She was a true heroine and always wanted to do the right thing. It may seem strange to some people, but I liked the way the entire story took place in what seemed to me to be a relatively small space - the castle, the river, the surrounding land - one area. No crossing mountains and forging rivers to a distant land. There are things I wonder about concerning the Dalagans and the Fithians that hopefully will be explained in the books to come. Good job, Megg Jensen! I loved your book!

posted by LuLuPA on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

Its a bunch of first chapters from multiple books that finally all end up together and was WAY to hard to follow. Lost interest amd gave up... horrible!

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    So you open the book, and what’s on page 1? An execution!

    So you open the book, and what’s on page 1? An execution! What a way to grab attention. The book is well paced, so your attention is always kept front and center. The fantasy world is neat with a mystery surrounding the peoples and their histories that is kept alive until the final pages.

    In addition to the mystery, we’re also provided with an age old favorite – the love triangle. Lianne is torn between the boy she’s always been best friends with, Bryden, and the boy she’s always had a crush on that’s finally taken notice of her, Kellan. This has no bearing on the story, but I was personally team Bryden from the get-go, just sayin’. She struggles with this throughout the major conflict, and it gets her into further trouble.

    Now, lately I’ve been getting pretty tired of love triangles, but this one is actually done in such a way that I only wanted to smack Lianne a couple times, so that’s a plus! However, there were other times that I felt she was seriously niave, but then had to remind myself that at the age of 16, answers can be staring you in the face and you would still not see them…because teenagers are young, blind, and stupid. Just because the world is such that 16 is older than it would be in our world, doesn’t mean that doesn’t apply. Alas, regardless of age, I still felt invested in the outcomes for all the characters!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Good

    I gave this book four stars not because i was overly fond of the series, but will be great reading for kids/yeens. i agree with another review, great for the younger crowd, but Lianne drove me crazy with her minute by minute changing her mind on who she loves. Just like kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    It was a mostly good book

    But the main charcter couldent decide who she liked and there was too many plot twists within afew chapters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    interesting characters and a twist

    I read this book a couple of months ago, so I can only remember the bare bones of this book. I do remember that I liked the characters, the love triangle was actually interesting (in that it actually propelled the plot!) and the idea of the novel was good. I think there were some rushed areas where I felt other characters (besides the mains) were painted very sketchily and one note.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    I love Megg Jensen's story telling it's gripping and layers of i

    I love Megg Jensen's story telling it's gripping and layers of interesting characters and stories of interweaving ideas. When Lianne begins to not trust everything that she knew before. Her world turns upside down and she has very little time to try to save what she knows is true. Her friendship with Mags and the infant that the king has ordered to die.

    It's a non stop kind of story which I love. Ms. Jensen is always able to catch me off guard with her twists that I never see coming. Her books are somewhat shorter than most but there is so much content that it leaves you with a feeling as if swept up in an adventure.

    Lies, secrets, magic, death and battles. (Don't forget the sexy guys!) It's all packed into one great story. I think that this first book in the Swarm Trilogy really starts of with a bang and I loved every minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Laura Carter for Readers Favorite Lianne was one of

    Reviewed by Laura Carter for Readers Favorite

    Lianne was one of three babies given by her defeated homeland to the land of Fithia as a peace offering after a great war. All her life she has been raised to believe that her homeland is magic less, defeated and weak, until her 16th birthday when a spell placed on Lianne as a baby ends and she discovers that much she had believed to be the truth is actually a lie. With those supposed to guide her through her awakening dead, she must rely on fellow adoptees Kellan and Bryden for the truth. When everyone has a hidden agenda how will Lianne decide who to trust? Will she follow her heart or will she allow herself to be led astray?

    I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. At first "Sleepers" seems like a traditional, predictable fantasy book but there are many surprises that make it far from predictable. I loved the element of mystery in this book and the twists in the plot kept me guessing throughout. I liked the characters, especially Lianne and Bryden and can’t wait to see them developed further in the rest of the series. This book just kept on getting better and better as I got further through it and the end was simply amazing, an action packed roller coaster of surprises and excitement. I can’t wait for the second book in this fantastic new trilogy and I will be very eagerly awaiting its release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic trip to another world

    I didn’t take many notes on this book, because I could barely put it down! It was a superb read, and I can’t wait to read Book Two!

    Lianne is a handmaiden to the queen of Fithia, Mags. But Mags is also a friend, one of the few that Lianne really has. Of course there’s her boyfriend, Kellan, and the other adoptee into Fithia, Bryden. But that’s about it. She’s never really been a part of the society she lived in from the time she was a baby, and never knowing her own homeland, she was almost alone her entire life.

    Then on the morning of her sixteenth birthday Lianne wakes up angry. It’s not just a passing mood; it’s a rage at what’s been done to her, Kellan, and Bryden since they were adopted into Fithia as part of a treaty at the end of the war between the Dalagans and the Fithians.

    Kellan is dark and sexy, the “bad boy” young girls dream about. He makes Lianne feel alive and ready to live, ready to fight. And then there is Bryden, the third adoptee. He was injured as a boy and has a permanent limp. He’s book smart, not so much the fighter that Lianne and Kellan are. Odd man out, you’d think. That is, until Lianne wakes up angry. Bryden is the boy who brings her to calmness and serenity. Maybe not what she wants at the moment, but what she needs, right?

    I really loved this love triangle. It was hard to tell who to trust at different points in the story. In the tug of war over Lianne’s heart, I often felt myself switching sides between Bryden and Kellan. Lead with your heart, or lead with your head?

    When Lianne goes through her “awakening” and she wakes up knowing the secrets that have been hidden from her for her entire life regarding the war between the two sets of people. I thought this was a very unique plot twist that I haven’t seen yet…children under a magical spell until their sixteenth birthday. Brilliant idea, in my opinion.

    Lianne is getting different information from almost every place she turns to for answers. I was right there with her, trying to figure out whom to trust and who not to. It seems no one really knows what the real answer is. Her whole life has been a secret and a lie.

    When the truth finally comes out it is explosive! There is nonstop action, and I actually felt joy at the impending war that was certain to come next. I know, that sounds bad, right? But it meant freedom for the adopted kids who really never knew family, never knew their history, their people.

    But wait! The secrets aren’t over, oh no, not by a long shot. And when things are brought to light, and Lianne discovers that what you think is good is not always good, and what you thought was bad was not entirely wrong… well, it rocks her world and everything she believed. The plot twists in this story will definitely keep you reading and waiting anxiously to find out what happens next. As for me, I’m happily waiting until June of this year for book two, Afterlife.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Good read

    Verry original story line. Very nicely written. The only thing i didnt care for was the wishy washyness of the guys. I love this one no i love this one no i love this one... it was said too much. But good none the less. Would recomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Great start to a new series!

    It's abundantly clear from the very beginning that the main character, Lianne, is one tough chick. She's able to fight better than anyone she knows, although this is a secret she must keep quiet from everyone but her fellow Dalagans (a bit of background: her people are called Dalagans and they gifted Lianne to the Fithians to ensure peace). I really liked how strong she was, but I felt like she was insanely naive at times, to the point that I was shaking my head; although, she was only 16, so we should probably take her young age into account and not judge her too harshly. She definitely became more self-assured and mature by the end of the book. Then we have the two guys in her life, Kellan and Bryden. Kellan is the more out-going of the two, confident to the point of being cocky, and the object of Lianne's affection. I wasn't sure how I felt about him in the beginning, but by the end you will certainly have a very strong opinion regarding his character. Bryden was quiet, reserved, and obviously harboring some secrets. He also used to be best friends with Lianne until the accident when they were young that changed his life. I liked Bryden right away; I can't really tell you why exactly, but he just seemed more trustworthy and genuine than Kellan. Another character that deserves mentioning is the Queen, or "Mags" as Lianne calls her. Her and Lianne became best friends, despite the odds, even though they would most likely both be punished if the king found out. Mags was as much a prisoner as Lianne, for although she seemed to live in the lap of luxury, she was confined to the walls of the castle and lived only to serve her husband, King Rotlar. In fact, I felt worse for Mags than I did for Lianne, because she had no one else to confide in about anything; Lianne at least had Kellan and, eventually, Bryden to talk to about things going on in her life. Overall, we see some big changes in most of the characters; some good, some bad, but all really interesting to read about. Romance Sizzle Or Fizzle?: I can't really go into much detail here either, for fear of giving away too much! I won't tell you if she ends up with Kellan or Bryden, but I will say I found the romance to sizzle, because I feel that Lianne and the guy she chooses have great chemistry and seem to belong together. Now you just have to read this book for yourself to find out who the lucky guy is! Overall, not a bad read! The first half for me was 5 stars, the second half I would rate as a 3 (maybe 3.5, but I don't really deal in 1/2 stars), so I'm going to even it out to 4 stars. Even though it fizzled a bit for me in the end, I still enjoyed reading it and am wondering what will happen next with these characters. If you enjoy a book with magic, plot twists, and a good love triangle, then you should definitely check this one out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Fantasy Read!

    I'm a huge fan of Megg's writing if you've read my previous reviews of her Cloud Prophet books you'd see that. Megg has a way of creating a fantasy realm that you could see yourself living in even wanting to! I'll try and not spoil too much so this review will be short and sweet because I feel like I could ramble about this book for days!

    Lianne is the type of character you fall in love with immediately she is loving, caring, but also very strong. The two boys in this story couldn't be more different there's the quiet shy Bryden or the strong outspoken Kellan. I'll be honest I didn't like Kellan from the start I thought he was arrogant and something always felt off with him. Bryden though stole my heart immediately with his dreamy eyes and his smarts!

    I think the best part of this story was all the twists and turns. I'd finally get comfortable where it was going and then Megg would throw a huge monkey wrench into the scenario and we'd be headed off in a completely different direction.

    Go pick up Sleepers now! I'm patiently (not really) waiting for book 2 :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1