Customer Reviews for

Sleeping Arrangements

Average Rating 3.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

This is the second book that I have read from this author and I found it equally enjoyable. It was a fun summer read that kept me looking forward to the next chapter ahead.

posted by 379255 on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ho Hum

I'm disappointed that I didn't like this book more, because I usually like the author's work (whichever name she writes under!) The characters weren't really likable and the renewed 'affair' was lame and unbelievable... after 15 years apart and a few creepy stares at e...
I'm disappointed that I didn't like this book more, because I usually like the author's work (whichever name she writes under!) The characters weren't really likable and the renewed 'affair' was lame and unbelievable... after 15 years apart and a few creepy stares at each other across the room they succumb that easily? The only one I was amused by was the nanny, but she couldn't carry the whole book with her 'Jokes!'. Sorry - just didn't think this one was worth the time.

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Enjoyable

    This is the second book that I have read from this author and I found it equally enjoyable. It was a fun summer read that kept me looking forward to the next chapter ahead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Sleeping Arrangements is just ok

    It's nothing special. I really like her books and I was a bit disappointed in this one. It was hard for me to finish it. I really could have just stoppped reading half way through and not thought twice about it.
    It just was kinda boring and dragged on. I just didn't care to find out what happend.
    Look for something else to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read!

    This is a fun read that is great for the beach or rainy days. The characters are interesting and the plot is humorous and heart-warming at the same time. I was able to relate to the characters in the story. This book would make a great gift for girlfriends!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    ok but not her best

    A little too predictable; seems like she couldn't decide between writing a mystery or a romance. I love this author but this wasn't one of her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Don't Bother

    I really like this author, but not this book. Frankly, I read it quickly, but only because I wanted to finish it, so I could read something better. The plot and characters were weak. Not worth the time invested.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the best

    I was really disappointed with this book. Usually I love books by Sophie Kinsella though she was writing under Madeline Wickham for this book. The characters were lacking. I didn't like them. None of them ever became characters I really care about. They all seemed shallow and full of self interest. The best characters were the kids of the "lovers" and they don't play that big a role. I think Madeline should stick with being Sophie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Ho Hum

    I'm disappointed that I didn't like this book more, because I usually like the author's work (whichever name she writes under!) The characters weren't really likable and the renewed 'affair' was lame and unbelievable... after 15 years apart and a few creepy stares at each other across the room they succumb that easily? The only one I was amused by was the nanny, but she couldn't carry the whole book with her 'Jokes!'. Sorry - just didn't think this one was worth the time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love Sophie Kinsella and this is the first book I'v

    I absolutely love Sophie Kinsella and this is the first book I've tried of her chick-lit line featuring less romance and more grounded issues—through her real name, Madeleine Wickham. Sleeping Arrangements is light, refreshing, and has a bit of a implausible—but still charmingly British—storyline; I enjoyed it immensely, but don't think it's something from which I took much away.

    The hidden past surrounding Chloe and Hugh is slowly unraveled through flashbacks. From their first encounter at Gerard's villa, there's an explosive recognition—boom. From there on, readers slowly learn what exactly it is that's between them, and how exactly they'll react. Without giving too much away, I will say the plot itself was highly extractable and far-fetched, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

    Wickham's characters aren't particularly deep. For the most part, they're static and unrelateable, but she pens them with such grace and endearment, that I can't help but like them all. Even the ones that are portrayed negatively, such as Hugh's ridiculously anal wife, Amanda, are pleasing and entertaining to follow.

    The highlight of this novel would definitely be its execution. The plot and characters themselves are mediocre and unremarkable, but the writing flows easily, and Wickham's style is smooth, often subtly hilarious, and blithe. I breezed through this novel; Sleeping Arrangements is a quick, lighthearted story set to the backdrop of a gorgeous Spanish town; a great read for a sunny day!

    Pros: Charmingly clever // Witty and perceptive // Linear storyline // Light, breezy read // Masterful, yet brief description of Spanish countryside

    Cons: Shallow, two-dimensional characters // Nothing deep or profound // Unmemorable

    Verdict: Cute and fluffy, Sleeping Arrangements isn't particularly complex or profound, but it's a damn entertaining read. The characters are fun to get to know and the story unravels by itself; this is effortless, feel-good chick-lit with stormy twists and turns and a penchant for family values. Madeleine Wickham weaves a funny, breezy, and tender story with her usual British magnetism and sprightliness of touch.

    Rating: 8 out of 10 hearts (4 stars): An engaging read; highly recommended.

    Source: Complimentary copy provided by TripFiction in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good read...light reading

    This was a good book with a few twists I didn't see coming. Very entertaining. Great vacation, take to the beach book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Disointed Disapointed

    Love most of her books but this one left me wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    I don't get it--how can Sophie Kinsella be fabulous, and Madelei

    I don't get it--how can Sophie Kinsella be fabulous, and Madeleine Wickham so....Tab?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Eh

    Kinda good but end was weird. She had an affair then didnt really tell anyone. It was ok but not her best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Riveting

    Keeps you guessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Ok

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted January 27, 2011

    WHORE-ible!!!!

    Very, very disappointed. I loved SK's first Shopaholic book and her other stand-alone titles. This book made me nauseous. The plot revolved around every character justifying why it's okay to sleep around. The other reviewer mentioned "baby barfing" throughout the entire book...I couldn't have said it better myself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    This book had me baby barfing all the way through.

    I enjoyed many of Sophie Kinsella's books. This book was an unbelievable disappointment for me....on so many levels. I COULD NOT believe the "heroin" justified an affair at all, let alone after a few stolen glances. The nanny would have been funny if she wasn't so disturbing. I'm not a prude when it comes to romantic comedy. But this was ridiculous and nauseating. Sorry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    FUN AND LIGHT-HEARTED READ

    Summer is here and this is a beach read type of book. Or as I call them-car books. I always keep a book like this in the car-I can read it in spurts while I am waiting to pick the kids up from school, stuck in traffic, need a few minutes to myself, etc. Put it down, pick it up two days later and you really don't lose continuity. For some reason, writing as Sophie Kinsella, the tone of the novel is frothier and more fun than when the author writes under Madeleine Wickham. I loved the SHOPAHOLIC series but some of her other books tend to be a bit dragged out. The storyline here is cute, not entirely unoriginal and has some aparks to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy Read with some good Qualities

    I am a bug fan of Sophie Kinsella/Wickham. I loved the shopaholic series as well as Can you keep a Secret. Now, I enjoyed reading this book. It is a light read, easy to follow, and had some interesting occurences. The characters were fun, yet some of the situations such as Chloe and Hugh getting together and no one finding out about it, ticked me off a bit. These two characters got around their partners with a secret they had for 16 years, and its a bit unbelievable. I guuss thats why it is a story, but you feel like you want to knock the characters upside the head!

    All in all its a cute book, some may love it, others may hate it. But if your looking for a cute beach read pick this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SHe did it again....

    This book is great! I started in during a golf tournament and could not put it down...till the tournament was over...and so was the book. Of course, I promptly gave it to my sister to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    I'd b*tch-slap all the main characters if I could.

    I loved her Shopaholic series and looked forward to reading this. However, I was sadly disappointed with this one. The characters are mere caricatures and none likable. The book was just gratuitous whining, drunkenness, illicit sex, underage sex, and pot smoking. I'm not a prude, but instead of using any of this to drive character growth, it was simply background. And boring background at that.

    It's a quick read if you don't want to engage your brain and are fine with extreme redundancy and false drama.

    I do feel slightly guilty bagging on her like this, as I've always been a fan. I guess prolific writing will produce a bad result every now and again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6