BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sleeping Beauty (Five Hundred Kingdoms Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    The most fun yet

    This tale takes the Seigfried saga from the old Norse myths, has it run head-long into a pain-in-the-a.. (keister) cross between Sleeping Beauty and Snow White and stirs it with a big stick of Terry Pratchett-inspired goofiness.

    I picked it up, intending to read a chapter or so before going to sleep and found myself-ironically, given the title-wide awake until I finished it. I grinned and giggled and ruefully shook my head throughout. Basically, it's a fun little romp, and quite possibly the best of her Five Hundred Kingdoms books yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Simply charming.

    Mercedes Lackey's latest installment of the Tales of the Five Hundred Kingdoms is a fun, imaginative romp. Lighter than the fourth book in this series, this story starts out as the Tradition appears to be acting out a Snow White tale, but all is not what it appears. The main heroine in the story is Rosamund or Rosa. While Princess of one of the richest kingdoms, Rosa's mother was a shepherdess and installed in her daughter practical knowledge to allow Rosa to face whatever the Tradition throws her way. After tragic events leads to various princes competing in a series of trials for Rosa's hand to protect the Kingdom, the story takes a more humorous turn as the trials lead to often hilarious situations. The two heroes in the story, Prince Leopold and Siegfried are often thrust into humorous situations running the gamut from obsessed unicorns to cursed objects. A charming story with a satisfying ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Nice twist

    I love old fairy tales, so Im a fan of ghe five hundred kingdoms. When the godmothers are involved the stories are even better.
    Nice twist mixing snow white and sleeping beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    This is the best of the series in my opinion.

    Definitely funniest, with good action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Who knew?

    A different version of our beloved fairy tales and a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Ah.

    So i see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    to question person

    No its based on generic medievil timesl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There's only been one of the "500 Kingdom Tales" that

    There's only been one of the "500 Kingdom Tales" that I have not liked and that was the Snow White one. All the others have been beautifully done (although she could write some sentient Otters in a book...wink wink nudge nudge XD ) All of her characters are smoothly written and inter-work beautifully.
    One might think the Godmother Series to be a "bit of fluff" but it certainly is not. With Mme Lackey's hands, she's spun a web so very fine the stories are simple but do-sit-on-the-edge -of-one's-seat!. I had to finish "The Fairy Godmother in an evening"; there was no way I was putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Keep the 500 kingdoms comming

    I really enjoy reading about fairy godmothers and the 500 kingdoms. They are very enjoyable and intertaining. Keep them comming. Can' t wait untill the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    A enjoyable and fun book, a wicked twist to fairy tales

    If you enjoy books with humor and fantasy, you will like the Five Hundred Kingdom Books. I recommend you start with number one as in some of the books characters from other books are in the story. I greatly enjoyed all of the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Sleeping Beauty isn't really a Sleeping Beauty story. Inste

    The Sleeping Beauty isn't really a Sleeping Beauty story. Instead Lackey takes several elements from the classic tale and weaves it into the mix with a Snow Skin tale. There are three points of view in this story. Rosa, the blond resourceful princess, who may eventually be a godmother for her own kingdom. Godmother Lily, who is a three hundred year old half fay, also blond, and is in charge of one of the richest of the 500 kingdoms. Lastly, Prince Siegfried, a Viking Hero, also blond, and who is trying to avoid his fate of doom by waking a sleeping shield maiden in a ring of fire.
    Overall, The Sleeping Beauty, is one of the more humorous stories in the series. I really enjoyed it. The romance is slightly predictable, but there are some trials that need to be overcome before the two love birds find their way to each other. (Oh and if you are wondering why I listed that all three main characters have blond hair, look at the girl on the cover of the book! The only character with dark black hair is the "evil" Queen Sable!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Nuthin Lackey-in from this book!

    If you loved fairytales as a child you have GOT to read this series. Funny and interesting. Neatly provides the backstory and depth you missed from the Grimm versions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Funny as always!

    Just enough humor with romance with action. I love this whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Definitely recommend

    Fun tale with a cross between Sleeping Beauty & Snow White. Just a fun fairy tale romance sans the smut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Enjoyed

    This was a little slow in the beginning. The author has a good imagination. Not at all like the really Sleeping Beauty story. I like the characters it keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Wonderful spin on classic tales

    I've read every one of 500 Kingdoms books so far and once again Mercedes Lackey has 'nailed it'. I can't wait for the next book in the series. I love the idea that even though fate might be pushing each of us into certain situations, we can change the outcome with just a little help and a certain amount of stubborness. The princesses are stronger willed than in the original fairy tales and the heroes aren't always quite so heroic but in the end, true love and fairy godmothers always win out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Liked it!

    A very nice blending of several different tales. Loved the hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Nice twist to classic fairy tale.

    This story bucks TRADITION as the fairy godmother, the wicked stepmother, and the princess must work together to save their kingdom! I enjoyed it alot, especially the end! Ha ha!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A New Twist on an Old Classic

    The fifth and latest book in the series, The Sleeping Beauty, sounds like it will be about a Beauty Asleep who pricks her finger on a spinning wheel and sleeps for years, but it isn't. While Princess Rosa was born with the fair looks of a Beauty Asleep, she's no longer eligible for this path once her mother dies. The Tradition tries to make her father fall for an evil sorceress, which would put her on an Ella Cinders path, but the kingdom of Eltaria's fairy godmother, Lily, disguises herself and marries the King in order to keep the realm safe. Not liking the twist on what it wants, The Tradition tries again, this time forcing Rosa on a Snowskin path. Something goes wrong, however, and the seven dwarves who find her lock her up and treat her like a slave. After she's saved, the magic begins to level out and the novel becomes more concise. A third Traditional path is introduced, this one by the fairy godmother herself. Because Eltaria is a rich country, the neighboring kingdoms are always invading. In order to keep the land from falling into enemy hands after the king dies, Godmother Lily creates a tournament so that princes far and wide will come in an attempt to win Rosa's hand. This will also keep Eltaria from being attacked by its neighbors.

    The plan works well, and three suitors in particular stand out: Leopold, who steals many of the books comedic moments, Seigfried, a hero on his own Traditional path steeped in Norse Mythology, and Desmond, who is full of mystery and secrets. Rosa finds herself leaning toward these three princes and hoping one of them will win the tournament. In addition, Rosa begins taking lessons from Godmother Lily for in case she has the magic necessary to be a Queen Godmother, which would be much-appreciated in her kingdom, which is constantly pouring out new Traditional stories.

    The Fairy Godmother remains my favorite title in this series, perhaps because I read it first. I loved the way it told the tale of an Ella Cinders whose prince was too young and the way she chose to instead become a fairy godmother. In the process, she defied The Tradition every step of the way and even created her own, unheard-of happily ever after. The Sleeping Beauty, on the other hand, took a while to find its voice. There were a lot of tales and paths twisted together in this novel, making it hard to get into right away. The novel becomes stronger when the tournament is introduced. Characters are fleshed out more and Princess Rosa becomes much stronger and more interesting. I liked the fact that this novel once more had a lot of focus on the godmother's role and that, in a way, Godmother Lily made her own story by taking a non-traditional route toward happiness. I really liked the inclusion of Norse Mythology and the fact that one of the suitors,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Read it now!

    I just finished this book and couldn't put it down.
    Mercedes Lackey has expanded her tales of the Five Hundred Kingdoms and has done so with a bang!
    This book has all sorts of traditional fairy tales being jumbled and tossed into each other creating a tangled web of intrigue. Sleeping Beauty combines with Snow White which combines with others to create a plot that will leave you clinging to the book covers and sitting in your chair until all the pages have been turned.
    If you enjoyed her other books from the Five Hundred Kindoms, you'll enjoy this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8