Customer Reviews for

The Sleeping Beauty (Five Hundred Kingdoms Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The most fun yet

    This tale takes the Seigfried saga from the old Norse myths, has it run head-long into a pain-in-the-a.. (keister) cross between Sleeping Beauty and Snow White and stirs it with a big stick of Terry Pratchett-inspired goofiness.

    I picked it up, intending to read a chapter or so before going to sleep and found myself-ironically, given the title-wide awake until I finished it. I grinned and giggled and ruefully shook my head throughout. Basically, it's a fun little romp, and quite possibly the best of her Five Hundred Kingdoms books yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Nice twist

    I love old fairy tales, so Im a fan of ghe five hundred kingdoms. When the godmothers are involved the stories are even better.
    Nice twist mixing snow white and sleeping beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Who knew?

    A different version of our beloved fairy tales and a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Ah.

    So i see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    to question person

    No its based on generic medievil timesl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There's only been one of the "500 Kingdom Tales" that

    There's only been one of the "500 Kingdom Tales" that I have not liked and that was the Snow White one. All the others have been beautifully done (although she could write some sentient Otters in a book...wink wink nudge nudge XD ) All of her characters are smoothly written and inter-work beautifully.
    One might think the Godmother Series to be a "bit of fluff" but it certainly is not. With Mme Lackey's hands, she's spun a web so very fine the stories are simple but do-sit-on-the-edge -of-one's-seat!. I had to finish "The Fairy Godmother in an evening"; there was no way I was putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Keep the 500 kingdoms comming

    I really enjoy reading about fairy godmothers and the 500 kingdoms. They are very enjoyable and intertaining. Keep them comming. Can' t wait untill the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Sleeping Beauty isn't really a Sleeping Beauty story. Inste

    The Sleeping Beauty isn't really a Sleeping Beauty story. Instead Lackey takes several elements from the classic tale and weaves it into the mix with a Snow Skin tale. There are three points of view in this story. Rosa, the blond resourceful princess, who may eventually be a godmother for her own kingdom. Godmother Lily, who is a three hundred year old half fay, also blond, and is in charge of one of the richest of the 500 kingdoms. Lastly, Prince Siegfried, a Viking Hero, also blond, and who is trying to avoid his fate of doom by waking a sleeping shield maiden in a ring of fire.
    Overall, The Sleeping Beauty, is one of the more humorous stories in the series. I really enjoyed it. The romance is slightly predictable, but there are some trials that need to be overcome before the two love birds find their way to each other. (Oh and if you are wondering why I listed that all three main characters have blond hair, look at the girl on the cover of the book! The only character with dark black hair is the "evil" Queen Sable!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Funny as always!

    Just enough humor with romance with action. I love this whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Wonderful spin on classic tales

    I've read every one of 500 Kingdoms books so far and once again Mercedes Lackey has 'nailed it'. I can't wait for the next book in the series. I love the idea that even though fate might be pushing each of us into certain situations, we can change the outcome with just a little help and a certain amount of stubborness. The princesses are stronger willed than in the original fairy tales and the heroes aren't always quite so heroic but in the end, true love and fairy godmothers always win out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Read it now!

    I just finished this book and couldn't put it down.
    Mercedes Lackey has expanded her tales of the Five Hundred Kingdoms and has done so with a bang!
    This book has all sorts of traditional fairy tales being jumbled and tossed into each other creating a tangled web of intrigue. Sleeping Beauty combines with Snow White which combines with others to create a plot that will leave you clinging to the book covers and sitting in your chair until all the pages have been turned.
    If you enjoyed her other books from the Five Hundred Kindoms, you'll enjoy this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Suprise, Suprise

    Originally Posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com*****The Tradition. It is what rules the lives of all in the Five Hundred Kingdoms. The Godmothers do what they can to work around it so people aren't forced to a fate they don't deserve or want.

    Godmother Lily needs to find a way to thwart the Tradition and help Rosamund become more than another pawn to it. Lily has been the Godmother of Eltaria for three hundred years, with the help of her brownies and her trusted mirror servant Jimson, but the death of Queen Celeste has created a buildup of the Tradition unlike any she has seen before. Since it was demanding Rosamund have an Evil Stepmother, Lily works with the King to become Queen Sable, a dark sorceress, giving them time for more planning.

    Siegfried von Drachenthal is a Hero trying to avoid the Tradition as well, as his father keeps trying to wed him to the Sleeping Woman. Prince Leopold is looking for something as well, a way to succeed as the younger son in a family of many. Can they all work together to give Rosamund the chance at happiness outside the Tradition? Can they overcome kidnapping, danger, and trials of all kinds for the happy ever after? Can they come up with a plan to keep Eltaria secure and free?

    I love Mercedes Lackey's Five Hundred Kingdoms series. They are a mix of traditional fairy tales, with small and deliciously funny twists throughout. The Sleeping Beauty is no exception.

    There is the Godmother, Lily, determined to prevent the Tradition from determining Rosamund's fate. She is wise enough to know that some of the things can't be avoided, so she manipulates them to suit her purposes. The heroine, Rosamund, is intelligent and beautiful and more than capable of choosing her own destiny. She shows great wit and skill in facing each of the challenges thrown at her. Our heroes, Leopold and Siegfried, are handsome and strong, but totally different in demeanor. Siegfried is trying to avoid his own problems with the Tradition, while Leopold, as a younger son, is looking to make a good match.

    The solution Lily comes up with to buy time is a series of tests to find the best candidate to wed Rosamund, after inviting the eligible nobles from the surrounding kingdoms to participate.

    I loved the gentle love story that developed between one of our heroes and Rosamund as the trials progressed. I enjoyed the independence that Rosamund showed in learning to defend herself if necessary. This is a delightful twist on Snow White, Sleeping Beauty and the Norse Siegfried fable, with lots of humor--much of it tongue-in-cheek.

    Is there a happy ever after in this one? Actually there are three and two were a surprise I didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5