Customer Reviews for

The Sleeping Beauty Trilogy Box Set

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

50 shades these books are NOT and thats a good thing!!

i have no idea why folks would recommend these books to people who loved 50 shades of grey... these books are hard core BDSM... 50 shades is a vanilla pale farce of the BDSM lifestyle... a fairytale for women who long to "rescue" a poor, tortured handsome soul and have ...
i have no idea why folks would recommend these books to people who loved 50 shades of grey... these books are hard core BDSM... 50 shades is a vanilla pale farce of the BDSM lifestyle... a fairytale for women who long to "rescue" a poor, tortured handsome soul and have him fall head over heals in love and "omg can you believe it" .... puh-lease. These books are about personal growth... learning what you can endure and come out better on the other side... learning compassion through shared experience... if you enjoy TRUE bdsm then these ARE the books for you... personally i would HIGHLY recommend them... they are everything 50 shades had the promise to be but fell flat...

posted by 10949576 on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

It was different.....

I didn't know what I was expecting when I bought these books. However, when reading all the positive reviews about them, I thought why not and give it a read. I got through half of the first book, and had to stop. These series of books did not fulfill my needs of fan...
I didn't know what I was expecting when I bought these books. However, when reading all the positive reviews about them, I thought why not and give it a read. I got through half of the first book, and had to stop. These series of books did not fulfill my needs of fantasy, but made me feel sad. Everyone has there own likings, but these books were not for me. In some parts, I can understand why people enjoyed it, but most of the time it made me sick. Being in a fantasy, people should enjoy what they are getting into, and it seemed that Sleeping Beauty was not having fun but feeling worthless and degraded. I thought some point in the story it would get better, but it didn't.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    50 shades these books are NOT and thats a good thing!!

    i have no idea why folks would recommend these books to people who loved 50 shades of grey... these books are hard core BDSM... 50 shades is a vanilla pale farce of the BDSM lifestyle... a fairytale for women who long to "rescue" a poor, tortured handsome soul and have him fall head over heals in love and "omg can you believe it" .... puh-lease. These books are about personal growth... learning what you can endure and come out better on the other side... learning compassion through shared experience... if you enjoy TRUE bdsm then these ARE the books for you... personally i would HIGHLY recommend them... they are everything 50 shades had the promise to be but fell flat...

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Left me breathless

    quite literally. As far as erotica goes it just doesnt get any better than this, Anne Rice explores in depth sexual desires and emotional states in a way that no one else can. It is beautifully written and just like any novel deeply moving you feel the characters pleasure and pain. She pushes all the boundaries of sexual expression and brings to light your darkest desires.

    However a thousand praises aside this book is not your average womans sex novella. And is not for the close minded or "Sexualy traditional" for lack of a better term. It deeply explores Bondage, S+M, Power exchange, Sexual servitude, humilation homosexuality in parts. All things that can be highly offensive to the wrong person or the wrong mindset.

    All of that said this series is still a personal favorite of mine and i Believe it to be an orgasmic reading experiance it to anyone male or female with an open mind and an interest in the sexual themes mentioned

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW..Amazing

    I absoulty loved this series. Anne Rice dose a great job with everything in these books. I loved the characters and could picture them clearly and I couldn't help but fall in love with Beauty in all her vulnerablity.I couldn't put them down and read the seies twice. If you're looking to get sweeped off your feet into a fanciful world of exciting non-stop sexual adventures, this is the book for you.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    It was different.....

    I didn't know what I was expecting when I bought these books. However, when reading all the positive reviews about them, I thought why not and give it a read. I got through half of the first book, and had to stop. These series of books did not fulfill my needs of fantasy, but made me feel sad. Everyone has there own likings, but these books were not for me. In some parts, I can understand why people enjoyed it, but most of the time it made me sick. Being in a fantasy, people should enjoy what they are getting into, and it seemed that Sleeping Beauty was not having fun but feeling worthless and degraded. I thought some point in the story it would get better, but it didn't.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Arousing collection

    I love this arousing collection! Based on the fairytale of Sleeping Beauty Anne Rice takes the reader on a thrilling joy ride that explores the most sensual aspects of bondage and discipline love. A true erotic winner.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    Truly Degrading

    I read the first 2 books and half of the 3rd of the series. At first I was shocked, then sickened, and then I started wondering why I was reading it. I threw them all away. The lines of sexuality were compeletly gone, and all the degradation was horrifying. The series took all that is meaningful out of sex. What took it's place was sexual devience and an absured obsession with spanking. I have an open mind with erotica, but homesexual porn is not my idea of exciting reading.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    These books were well done, and for that I felt compelled to giv

    These books were well done, and for that I felt compelled to give five stars. That said, it wasn't really what I was looking for. When I read D/s or BDSM, I expect something a bit more active. If you want literary, go with these, if you want something more exciting, I'd suggest A Dose of Slavery or Amy's New Owner.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Kidnapping and rape fantasies

    No free will for these victims. There is only rape. These are disgusting tales of rape and brutality. Not hot, not sexy, not erotic, not 50 in the least. I bought the trilogy, suffered thru the first book, could not continue through the atrocities of the second. Wish I could get my money back. Ann Rice has some serious demons.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Dark and disturbing

    I felt like I need a very long shower this book disturbed me on so many levels! Iwas not offended by the book just felt saddened that these characters never had the experience of making love to someone; fantasy sex can be amazing and I am definitely a fan of erotic literature but this story was so dark and depressing I felt more distubed than turned on!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    These are the WORST books!! I made it about half way through The

    These are the WORST books!! I made it about half way through The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty, and I could not read anymore! At one point the prince was making Beauty eat off of the floor like a dog. This wasn't a fun erotic book like I thought from the reviews. Everything I read was very degrading, and just made me sick. I love Anne Rice but these books by far, were not her best. It seemed more like a man was writing.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    heh

    It was an amazing set... although I recomend have a significant other while reading these books

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    A Tale Like No Other

    all I can do is beg for more...my jaw was dropped to the floor by the end of the first few pages and yet I COULD NOT put it down! Let's hope she branches back out into this kind of writing again someday..soon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    I haven't read any erotica better!

    I wish she'd write more like them!! They SIZZLE!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Titilating

    This trilogy is sure to open your eyes and your mind. I've read the entire story at least 3 times. It is definitely a page turner. I do not recommend this book for anyone that is not comfortable with his or her own sexuality, but if you are...purchase and enjoy multiple...er...readings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Happily Ever After?

    Sleeping Beauty written in this style is better than the G-rated version. I wonder what Anne Rice's alternative story would be for Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs?? This is an excellent read if you are bored on a Saturday night. Anne Rice has a quite an imagination. Go get it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Degrading and disgusting. I only finished them because I paid fo

    Degrading and disgusting. I only finished them because I paid for them and I questioned reading them for that reason. Don't waste the time on these. 

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Pretty gross

    This was listed somewhere as "if you liked 50 Shades, you'll like this", but it was all S&M, no love, and set in a weird fantasy kingdom.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Most Vile Book I have Ever Read

    I made the mistake of buying this book because I liked her vampire books. Big mistake! The First page of the book a 15yr old Unconscious girl is raped till she awakens the raped som more. Next he proceeds to humilate her in fron of servants and her father. This guy is no Christian Gray. There are no cars, clothes, seduction to go along with the sexual deviant behavior.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Sleeping Beauty

    I read these novels. I was very interested in the first one that took me on to the second one. But by the time I got into the third one I was really getting bored. Nothing ever got any different. It was the same old thing over and over and over. I think if it had ended with the second book it would have been better. I could not finish the third book. I love Anne Rice I have read all her Vampire Chronicles and her other books. Love her!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite Good for What It Is

    This trilogy [The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty, Beauty's Punishment, and Beauty's Release], written under a pseudonym by Anne Rice, is hardcore erotica. It is set in a generic kingdom of medieval Europe. A lovely young princess named Beauty is awakened from curse induced slumber by the kiss of a prince---whom immediately carries her into sexual slavery in his own realm. This story is not as dark as it first seems. The sex is graphic and expands to include a great deal of both female and male gay sex, as well has hetero sex and S & M situations. It is very entertaining, but like hardcore porn, this is little story beyond the endless sex and punishment. Extreme but fun. While this is arousing, it is easy to understand why Ms. Rice chose not to use her real name. Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel "To Be Chosen"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9