Customer Reviews for

The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

about the Sleeping Doll

I just finished the Sleeping Doll and in some parts of the story, I didn't want to stop reading! I like the new character of Kathryn Dance, along with the other law enforcers.
Suspense was high in this story and also the psychological baseline with the twisted ending ...
I just finished the Sleeping Doll and in some parts of the story, I didn't want to stop reading! I like the new character of Kathryn Dance, along with the other law enforcers.
Suspense was high in this story and also the psychological baseline with the twisted ending was great and very unexpected.
I admire Jeffery Deaver as a writer that can go from Lincoln Rhyme on the forensic science kind of law enforcement to Kathrn Dance who is on the typical leg/field work side of law enforement.
I really liked how all characters in this story came with a vivid description. The story line was edgy and very real to actual police work.
It takes a very talented author to invent and tell this story!

posted by ndpndnt on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is What it is.

I believe this book has a lot of inconsistencies in the story. For the most part it was a good plot which included the two-dimensional Kathryn Dance, a Private Detective, her children, Daniel Pell (the bad guy), and Daniel Pell's accomplice. Daniel Pell was a supposed M...
I believe this book has a lot of inconsistencies in the story. For the most part it was a good plot which included the two-dimensional Kathryn Dance, a Private Detective, her children, Daniel Pell (the bad guy), and Daniel Pell's accomplice. Daniel Pell was a supposed Manson worshipper, who is a cold-blooded killer. In the beginning he and a mysterious accomplice organize a jail break where many policemen and killed. Pell then goes on the lam and the whole book is about the chase. Slightly disappointing.

posted by Charlotte_Isabella on July 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Homerun!!! The psychological talent which encompasses Kathryn Da

    Homerun!!! The psychological talent which encompasses Kathryn Dance is a PERFECT compliment to Lincoln Rhyme's stunning forensic abilities. As a woman, I am impressed by how much depth Deaver gave his main character - Dance's family life is rich and tender but is woven through the plot delicately enough so it does not detract from the main story-line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It is What it is.

    I believe this book has a lot of inconsistencies in the story. For the most part it was a good plot which included the two-dimensional Kathryn Dance, a Private Detective, her children, Daniel Pell (the bad guy), and Daniel Pell's accomplice. Daniel Pell was a supposed Manson worshipper, who is a cold-blooded killer. In the beginning he and a mysterious accomplice organize a jail break where many policemen and killed. Pell then goes on the lam and the whole book is about the chase. Slightly disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    about the Sleeping Doll

    I just finished the Sleeping Doll and in some parts of the story, I didn't want to stop reading! I like the new character of Kathryn Dance, along with the other law enforcers.
    Suspense was high in this story and also the psychological baseline with the twisted ending was great and very unexpected.
    I admire Jeffery Deaver as a writer that can go from Lincoln Rhyme on the forensic science kind of law enforcement to Kathrn Dance who is on the typical leg/field work side of law enforement.
    I really liked how all characters in this story came with a vivid description. The story line was edgy and very real to actual police work.
    It takes a very talented author to invent and tell this story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Nook sample

    Jac2848- did not like nook sample

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    This was my first Deaver novel and I was hooked from the very be

    This was my first Deaver novel and I was hooked from the very beginning. An excellent, great page turner with a twisting plot. You think you've figured it out when he hits you with another twist! Highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    My new favorite series!

    I am a big fan of Deaver and I love the first book in this series. Very entertaining. Kathryn Dance is as brillant as Kay Scarpetta. Great plot and surprise ending. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    Inconsistent and Disappointing

    This is a poor effort from a pretty talented author of the Lincoln Rhyme series. Too many contrived pieces of the plot and Kathryn Dance is a one-dimensional character who is particularly tedious by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good first start to a new series...

    The are pluses to this one, I like Katheryn Dance, I like what she does and she is believable. The plot is good and kinistetics (sp?) is a ew way to go with books. However, if Deaver tells me one more time how it works within this book, I am going to have to bury it in the back yard. He goes into the mothods more than once and repeats himself constantly. I wanted to explain to him that I am not an indiot and I got it. Once you learn to skip these parts, the book was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    California Bureau of Investigation Special Agent Kathryn Dance is a renowned interrogator with an expertise in kinesics. Kathryn is sent to question prisoner Daniel Pell, known as the "son of Manson" due to his cult activities and the brutal slaying of the wealthy Croyton family in Carmel, mimicking the murders committed by the Manson family years earlier. Pell has recently been linked to another murder and Kathryn hopes to learn more about Pell and his reasons behind the murders. After the interview, Pell manages to escape and begins a murderous rampage, targeting those he feels have maligned him in the past in some way. Kathryn leads the investigation, aided by her good friend Michael O'Neil, chief deputy with the Monterey County Sheriff's Office, and Winston Kellogg, a cult expert from the FBI. Kathryn turns to the three women who were part of Pell's family years before, as well as the one victim he left behind when he murdered the Croytons, in hopes they can offer clues as to where Pell may be hiding.

    This series is a refreshing addition to the mystery genre; exploring the intriguing world of kinesics and the role it plays in criminal investigations as well as everyday life. Kathryn Dance is captivating, an intelligent woman who is now widowed and whose priority is keeping her small family together. As always, Deaver offers his reader plenty of forensics information packed within a suspenseful plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Another great story, from a truly great writer!

    This is a book you simply can't put down. Just when you begin to believe you know where the story is going, Mr. Deaver shifts gears, reverses direction, and heads down another lane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good start and end with some slow places thru-out.

    Again, I learned someting new by reading one of Mr. Deaver's books. His research [see Author's Notes at back of book] add much to the interrogation sceens. Story could have moved a little faster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finally another strong woman character

    I want to start with I am a HUGE Kay Scarpetta fan. Thank you Mr. Deaver for creating another character in this vein. I'm hooked. Keep writing. And if you haven't read this yet, dear reader friends, buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance Series #1)

    IT WAS A GIFT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    A great read

    A real pager-turner, all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Interesting Twist On The Series

    Readers of Deaver's The Cold Moon will be familiar with the heroine in this story, Katherine Dance, a kinesics expert who assisted Lincoln Rhymes. Her area of expertise is the interpretation of human body language, and its application to criminal investigation. I enjoyed her character in The Cold Moon and found this area of kinesics to be fascinating, and I was excited to read a story that featured her as the heroine.

    The story itself was pretty good, and had the usual plots twists one expects from a Deaver novel. But in this story, I felt Deaver was struggling a bit with Katherine as the lead. Different aspects of her character were very disjointed, and dry. I felt like the author would be telling a story and then it would be time to tell the reader a whole lot about kinesics, so he would have Katherine interview a suspect. But then it was like he felt it was time to show some "girly" stuff, so he would include random bits about her shoes. Then back to the regular plot. It felt like Deaver was giving us pieces of how he felt a female heroine should be portrayed, rather than the complex, insightful character she could have been.

    This is a great read if your looking for something light that you can loose yourself in for a little while, but don't expect more than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed Emotions

    This was my first book by Deaver. I picked up the hardcover edition at a bargain price. I have to say that I have some mixed emotions. Would I say it was great? No. Would I say it was bad? No. The storyline was good, a Charles Manson type killer escapes from prison & agent Katherine Dance must find him before more people die & he disappears forever. The basis of Dance is an interesting one, a human lie detector who can interrogate criminals & know by body language & speech if they are being truthful or not. When she's not working she is the mother of 2 children. I liked Dance with a few exceptions. This woman is hunting down a killer but there are many comments on the shoes she is wearing with big flowers on them. Apparantly she keeps spare sandals in her closet in her office too. When she interrogates people she slips on a pair of black glasses that shows she means business. These are just a few of the small details that started to annoy me & caused me to take her a little less seriously. She is a widow, yet she still has the same last name as her parents, did she not change her name when she was married? Why? This is never touched on. Aside from the main character, the character of the killer, Daniel Pell, is an intriguing one. 95% of the book was interesting enough to keep me reading but no real suspense. The end got a little better, some unexpected twists. I think the main reason I liked the book was because of the "bad guy", Daniel Pell. I'm giving it 4 stars because in the end, overall, I would have to say I enjoyed it. I'm not sure I enjoyed it enough to follow Katherine Dance through future books though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Even though you know who they are looking for, the chase is on!

    I would buy the next Kathryn Dance book. The characters are interesting and even though you know who they are looking for, the story-line holds your attention. A couple of good twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Great Read

    I absolutely love this new character, Kathryn Dance. I couldn't read fast enough to find out what happened and I can't wait until the next novel featuring her comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    the sleeping doll

    I really liked this book. I look forward to more books with Kathryn Dance. For someone who has yet to read anything by Jeffery Deaver, however, I would suggest they start out with the first in the Lincoln Rhyme series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Hopefully not the norm

    If this is Deaver's regular writing style, I'll pass on his other books. He needs a strong editor to cut the chaff from the wheat. There's way too much pedantic, smug "let me tell you about kinesics to show you how smart I am" that weighs down the plot, along with so-called character development. The characters are flat and the 'twists' in the plot are so frequent as to call attention to themselves as devices and unnecessary to good story-telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4