BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

about the Sleeping Doll

I just finished the Sleeping Doll and in some parts of the story, I didn't want to stop reading! I like the new character of Kathryn Dance, along with the other law enforcers.
Suspense was high in this story and also the psychological baseline with the twisted ending ...
I just finished the Sleeping Doll and in some parts of the story, I didn't want to stop reading! I like the new character of Kathryn Dance, along with the other law enforcers.
Suspense was high in this story and also the psychological baseline with the twisted ending was great and very unexpected.
I admire Jeffery Deaver as a writer that can go from Lincoln Rhyme on the forensic science kind of law enforcement to Kathrn Dance who is on the typical leg/field work side of law enforement.
I really liked how all characters in this story came with a vivid description. The story line was edgy and very real to actual police work.
It takes a very talented author to invent and tell this story!

posted by ndpndnt on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is What it is.

I believe this book has a lot of inconsistencies in the story. For the most part it was a good plot which included the two-dimensional Kathryn Dance, a Private Detective, her children, Daniel Pell (the bad guy), and Daniel Pell's accomplice. Daniel Pell was a supposed M...
I believe this book has a lot of inconsistencies in the story. For the most part it was a good plot which included the two-dimensional Kathryn Dance, a Private Detective, her children, Daniel Pell (the bad guy), and Daniel Pell's accomplice. Daniel Pell was a supposed Manson worshipper, who is a cold-blooded killer. In the beginning he and a mysterious accomplice organize a jail break where many policemen and killed. Pell then goes on the lam and the whole book is about the chase. Slightly disappointing.

posted by Charlotte_Isabella on July 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It is What it is.

    I believe this book has a lot of inconsistencies in the story. For the most part it was a good plot which included the two-dimensional Kathryn Dance, a Private Detective, her children, Daniel Pell (the bad guy), and Daniel Pell's accomplice. Daniel Pell was a supposed Manson worshipper, who is a cold-blooded killer. In the beginning he and a mysterious accomplice organize a jail break where many policemen and killed. Pell then goes on the lam and the whole book is about the chase. Slightly disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good first start to a new series...

    The are pluses to this one, I like Katheryn Dance, I like what she does and she is believable. The plot is good and kinistetics (sp?) is a ew way to go with books. However, if Deaver tells me one more time how it works within this book, I am going to have to bury it in the back yard. He goes into the mothods more than once and repeats himself constantly. I wanted to explain to him that I am not an indiot and I got it. Once you learn to skip these parts, the book was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    California Bureau of Investigation Special Agent Kathryn Dance is a renowned interrogator with an expertise in kinesics. Kathryn is sent to question prisoner Daniel Pell, known as the "son of Manson" due to his cult activities and the brutal slaying of the wealthy Croyton family in Carmel, mimicking the murders committed by the Manson family years earlier. Pell has recently been linked to another murder and Kathryn hopes to learn more about Pell and his reasons behind the murders. After the interview, Pell manages to escape and begins a murderous rampage, targeting those he feels have maligned him in the past in some way. Kathryn leads the investigation, aided by her good friend Michael O'Neil, chief deputy with the Monterey County Sheriff's Office, and Winston Kellogg, a cult expert from the FBI. Kathryn turns to the three women who were part of Pell's family years before, as well as the one victim he left behind when he murdered the Croytons, in hopes they can offer clues as to where Pell may be hiding.

    This series is a refreshing addition to the mystery genre; exploring the intriguing world of kinesics and the role it plays in criminal investigations as well as everyday life. Kathryn Dance is captivating, an intelligent woman who is now widowed and whose priority is keeping her small family together. As always, Deaver offers his reader plenty of forensics information packed within a suspenseful plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good start and end with some slow places thru-out.

    Again, I learned someting new by reading one of Mr. Deaver's books. His research [see Author's Notes at back of book] add much to the interrogation sceens. Story could have moved a little faster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance Series #1)

    IT WAS A GIFT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Made me wish I was sleeping at times

    Deaver as we all know is the king in this genre, well at least in my opinion but this book was actually boring more than it was exciting. I thought the story idea was pretty intense. The lunatic (Pell) was believeable to a point but I just thought the fella was a Harvard grad. He was pretty bright, always knew the perfect trick to escape but hey its fiction, right! Agent Dance was pretty good. Her walking lie detector self was in top form for this one but at times Deaver went back to her personal life taking some enjoyment away from me. I would just get amped up about something good and here would come a reflection about her dead husband or how hot Winston was.............. Ouch! In the end the book was well written but seriously wasnt it a bit long. Dont get me wrong I love the long ones but only if the extra 100 pages is worth the time. This one was not! It was at least 100-120 pages of filler material for what I have no clue. Characters were good, plot, twists and so on were typical Deaver and all great. Nothing he writes comes close to the Rhyme series but I am glad he keeps trying since some of his other books are pretty decent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    A must-read for Monterey County residents

    I fell upon this book in our 'locals' section of a bookstore and was pleasantly surprised with this book. I knew many of the locations of which the author wrote and could easily follow. It was thrilling and the type of story I didn't want to leave not for one minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    Sleeping Reader

    This book simply rambled on and on and I never felt in touch with the characters. Jeffrey Deaver is a master story teller, so what happened? Guess I'll wait for Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia. They seem like family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    The synopsis of the book is more interesting than the novel... Too long, too boring and the characters have not drawn me in. I was expecting a far more captivating story, but was very disappointed. Wait for the next Lincoln Rhyme novel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1