Customer Reviews for

Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ageless!

This book may be getting told by a young boy starting as a high school freshmen, but I'm an older girl starting as a college freshmen and I found it just as compelling, relatatble, and nostalgic as I would have if I had read it before my first day of high school.

Wit...
This book may be getting told by a young boy starting as a high school freshmen, but I'm an older girl starting as a college freshmen and I found it just as compelling, relatatble, and nostalgic as I would have if I had read it before my first day of high school.

With a new baby coming, starting high school, keeping his friends close but his bullies far away, young Scott has a lot on his plate. When he finds himself overloading with extracurriculars to get close to his gorgeous classmate, sitting with the scariest guy in school at lunch, and standing up for the green-haired, freaky b***h, his freshmen year gets tossed into and unforgettable, life-changing adventure.

This book also has some very interesting tidbits about certain books, poems, classic writing humor, etc. If English is your favorite subject, read it just for this!

Funny and an excellent read... reccommend to all ages and genders.

posted by BGRaquel on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok

It was pretty good. I wouldnt say it was my favorite or really suggest it but it wasnt BAD. I guess it depends on theperson

posted by 10850445 on October 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Loved It

    I read this a while ago, while I was in high school, and I still remember this book. It was an incredible read, and it kept my attention. I couldn't stop reading because I wanted to know what was going to happen to Scott. Scott was a great main character; I was connected with him and his journey through high school and family issues. Honestly, I never laughed out loud at a book so much. Defintitely worth checking out. You won't be disappointed.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    NYREADER

    Had to read this for summer reading, for school! I couldnt put ot down! It was soooo good! I felt soo bad fro Scott,as al lof his friemds start to ditch him, but i loved his creativity in the school newspaper. His desire to date Julia was a mix of desprate and passion, amd i can totaly realte, sorta.
    Solid book, great book. Great characters! Awesome, easy, enjoyable read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Book

    Sleeping Freshman Never Lie is a great book for anyone who wants a good quick read that will make you laugh. This book is about a freshman in high school named Scott Hudson and a few of his friends and family members. The story starts out with Scott ready and excited for high school but after a few weeks his life turns upside down! His best friend from kindergarten, Julia, turns into a total cutie, his mother is pregnant, his best friend moves away, and Scott might like the new Goth girl, Lee, who is known to be freaky.Scott does everything he possibly can just to get close to Julia; from joining the school paper to doing the school play. The whole time he is in school Scott writes in a journal that he will give to his un-born brother. This book is perfect for ages 12 and up. Or mature 11 year olds. I loved this book from the first page to the last. I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    JUST RIGHT!

    I GOT THIS BOOK A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO BECAUSE I JUST BEGAN HIGHSCHOOL TOO. AND IT WAS ONE OF THE BOOKS MY TEACHER TOLD US TO READ.IT WAS A REALLY GOOD BOOK AND PERFECT FOR KIDS JUST STARTING HIGHSCHOOL.FUNNY,CLEVER AND REALISTIC. DAN LUBAR'S BOOK IS WORTH READING :-D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie

    This book is about a boy named Scott who is coaping with life in the 9th grade and just after the start of his freshmen year he finds out his mother is pregnant. He also finds out that a girl he was friends with in kindergarten turned hot! So one day after the second day of highschool scott starts making a survival guide to give to his unborn brother. During his whole time in 9th grade he joins clubs like the school newspaper, Student council, and the school plays just to get to see julia (the girl who he was friends with in kindergarten) but soon he relizes that julia dropped out of those clubs he was pset but still stayed with the programs. Through half way towards the end scott is starting to loose friends but at the same time he is gaining them back. At the end of the story scott invites the new girl in the school to the last school dance. At the dance lee (The new girl) encourages scott to ask julia for a dance but after scott dances with julia he relizes that Lee is the girl for him. Shortly after the dance scott meets his new baby brother.<BR/>I thought this was an outstanding book for readers 13 and up and mature 11 to 12 year olds. I say that because there are a few cause words a terms that would be strong for younger readers. In my book I would rate this book a 9 out of 10.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    How will Scott Hudson ever survive his 1st year of high school?

    Sleeping freshman never lie, is a book that all ages can enjoy. Scott, a new freshman, faces the challenges that every middle schooler fears. How will he ever survive? He worries about getting shoved in his locker, being beaten up, and hanging out with the wrong people. Everything is changing in this new, social world. His friends have either moved away, or left him for another clique. He misses out on getting a book review to write, his gym teacher is out to kill him, and he is practically forced to try for student council. On top of all the struggles of being a new freshman, the girl he likes, Julia, never seems to notice him, his mom's pregnant, and he faces total rejection from the school, for befriending Lee, an `emo¿ kid. Scott takes the reader through a journey, as he writes of his year in a diary he plans to give his unborn sibling. As his journey as a freshman finally ends, he walk¿s away learning more then he could ever imagine. The lonely boy in the beginning of the story ends up realizing how important the small things really are in life. As a middle schooler, I have never experienced being a freshman in high school, but after reading this light and funny book, high school doesn¿t seem so bad. It actually seems kinda funny. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    not bad

    this book was actually not that bad. it is not one of my favorite books but it was a fun read. the book was very relatable but at some parts it got boring. scott is a funny dude and survived his first year of high school and i hope his tips will help me on my first day. if you want a quick fun read u should get this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    David Lubar does a great job of drawing in the reader. I was hoo

    David Lubar does a great job of drawing in the reader. I was hooked the moment I started reading. I really enjoyed the story line of this book and it was very well written. The main character, Scott, is trying to fit in as a freshman in high school and it isn’t working out at first. He cannot gain the courage to talk to the girl that he likes, his best friend moves to Texas, and to top it all off, his mom is pregnant taking all the attention that is his away. He goes through the many trials and tribulations that any freshman at any high school would, but he feels pretty alone. While reading I found myself chuckling and really relating my own high school experiences to the ones portrayed in this story. I recommend this book to any high school student or young adult that wants a good read along with a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Freshmen Are Compelling. I might've read this as a junior in hig

    Freshmen Are Compelling. I might've read this as a junior in high school, but I remembered what it was like to be a freshy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    Review

    I absolutely love this book. It brought back memories just thinking about it. The characters are so dynamic throughout the story. Something new happens in each chapter. Everythings seems to be well placed. I also love how realistic this story is. Its as if everybody can relate to at least one situation or event that occured in this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    a fun read!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I was very much entertained by how Scott, the main character, was able to get through his freshman year and still be able to make a high school survival guide for his unborn brother so he'd know what to do and what not to do when his time comes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    awesome

    This book is good for a person starting high school. It tells how a boy goes through so many things and relizes that he has a good life compared to other people. He loses three of his friends, gains two akward friends. Has a pregnant mom, an aquiatance for kindergarten who he likes, teachers that love him, and bullies after him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Sleeping Freshman Never Lie

    I enjoyed the book ¿Sleeping Freshman Never Lie¿ by David Lubar because of the author¿s style of writing and the overall content of the book. I liked learning about what freshman year can be like through the eyes of the main character, the protagonist. The story was often told through journal entries, which helped me relate to the story. The author also used interesting and descriptive word choices to describe settings and characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes people stories and enjoys the author¿s unique style of storytelling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Sleeping Freshman Never Lie- A school book review

    Welcome to Scott Hudson's freshman year of high school. He isn't the handsomest or most popular guy around, and he doesn't have a clue as to how to talk to Julia who has morphed into the hot chick over the summer. Meanwhile, his honors homework keeps him up all night long and his gym teacher is trying to kill him. He joins the paper, runs for student council, and tries out for the play, just to try and impress an old kindergarten pal Julia, who turned hot over summer vacation. Scott tries to do too much, and things become stress full and does not go as planned. He turns out to be the least athletic sports reporter in school history, and freshman lackey to the sadists on stage crew. On top of his woes he quickly finds out his mother is pregnant. He loses out on a book reviewer's position for the school newspaper, and he gets roped into running for the student council. In the novel, Scott takes the reader humorously through his freshman year of high school, recording his thoughts, fears, and wisdom in a 'journal' he plans to give to his new sibling. Little does he know that in the process of trying to get by, he is learning what it means to be a friend, an honorable man, and a brother. I would have to give this book four stars out of five. I think that this book didn¿t have enough action, but it can get very interesting at times, like the very beginning of the book. I think that the beginning was very easy to get into, and was interesting. This was a hilarious and funny book, also it was a very easy and non-stressful read. I believe that this book is a great way to learn how to survive High School. I thought this was a well writen book, aimed for middle school/teens, girls and guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    It was great!

    Eventhough I thought it was unrealistic at times with people constantly getting beat up, I thought it was really good and HILLARIOUS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2