Customer Reviews for

Sleeping Handsome

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cute Story!

After cheating on a project for her best friend, Paige's community service work is reading to a boy in a coma. His mother thinks the more interaction he has the more likely he'll wake up. Paige's squeamish about reading to him and is resentful about the whole thing unti...
After cheating on a project for her best friend, Paige's community service work is reading to a boy in a coma. His mother thinks the more interaction he has the more likely he'll wake up. Paige's squeamish about reading to him and is resentful about the whole thing until she finds his journal. As she reads his journal and gets to know him, she starts to feel like he's a real person instead of a `body in a bed'.

This was a really cute story. The characters were great. I was surprised at how much I liked Zach through just journal entries. It was also interesting watching Paige change through Zach's influence. The end definitely didn't disappoint either.

posted by slwarren on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty predictable

This was an ok quick read, but pretty predictable.

posted by krystalleigh1 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Cute Story!

    After cheating on a project for her best friend, Paige's community service work is reading to a boy in a coma. His mother thinks the more interaction he has the more likely he'll wake up. Paige's squeamish about reading to him and is resentful about the whole thing until she finds his journal. As she reads his journal and gets to know him, she starts to feel like he's a real person instead of a `body in a bed'.

    This was a really cute story. The characters were great. I was surprised at how much I liked Zach through just journal entries. It was also interesting watching Paige change through Zach's influence. The end definitely didn't disappoint either.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    This is an inspiring, innocent, and honest love story. The kind

    This is an inspiring, innocent, and honest love story. The kind of story that will tug and pull at your heart strings long after the last page. Being such a short story readers will crave more of this wonderfully talented author's style. Paige is a young girl that has traded popularity for something real. Years she has spent bending to her, so called, friend's every whim. Just her luck, the most recent event has proven to cost her more than she was willing to give. To avoid expulsion she has agreed to community service in exchange for her teacher agreeing to look the otherway about her current situation. Only she never anticipated her community service would involve daily readings to a young man only a year older than herself that has been comtatose for the past couple months. His mother is determined to try every means neccessary to bring her son back. After researching studies proving patients with regular interaction had higher recovery rates; she set out to make it happen. This is where Paige finds herself in a very uncomfortable situation of daily visits for the sole purpose of reading to Zach while his mother is at work. What begins as a job soon turns into Paige's favorite passtime. This is a very awkward transition where Paige is very overwhelmed by the machines and the unconcious boy laying in the bed, but as time shifts and her time grows she finds her comfort growing. After reading through several books she comes across Zach's private journal hidden within the bookshelf. After much diliberation she decides to read his journal, and learn more about the boy which she has grown fond of. This was such a truly incredible book, but the fact is nothing really happened in the story. Every single day, Paige reports to Zach's bedroom where he lays on a hospital bed, and machines make sure that his body continuing to work as normal. So, she just talks about her life, or what they are reading in his journal, or what type of person she thinks he was, anything and everything and she just keeps talking. As they journey through Zach's past everything begins shifting for Paige where she used to be so uncomfortable and uneasy; she now finds herself drawn to this boy that she really doesn't know. Paige knows that he probably can not hear anything she says, but interacts with him by commenting and analyzing everything. She even begins discovering their common traits, and making changes in her own life as a result. As this relationship (for lack of a better word) grows she finds herself overlooking Zach's current state and noticing him as a person. It was as if the journal gave him life, and allowed her to meet the person. Then oe day, it all falls apart when Paige is visiting Zach's, and his Mother informs her that the family needs to move forward; and her assist will no long be necessary. As Paige returns to Zach's room for her one last moment with the boy she has come to care so deeply for it is a heart wrenching and earth shattering moment. This was a wonderful and inspiring story about truth and honesty. I loved every minute, and my only complaint is that it is over. Paige and Zach are incredible characters for an equally incredible story. Anyone looking for a deep and thoughtful story should take a chance on this short story. BookWhisperer Recommended Read.


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Great story

    I loved this story although it was to short for my likeing the autgor did a very goodjob writing this. This is an icredibly cute story and i highly recommend it for everyone. It has a few choice words so i would say as long as you passed 7th grade you should read it. I loved how the story was told through the entrys in Zach diary oops i mean his JURNAL andhow he comes and finds paige at the end. I recommend this book if you have free time.... or no free time you should still read this. sorry my review is a bit run-on.
    : )

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    My apologies!!! I¿m not sure how the files were switched, but th

    My apologies!!! I’m not sure how the files were switched, but this free
    edition is Snow, Blood, and Envy not Sleeping Handsome. Distributing
    through Smashwords takes time, but I’m working on correcting the
    problem. Thanks for your patience and I apologize again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. I just jumped right into the story and it felt like a movie was playing in my head. It was perfect. It was not a page to short or a page to much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Perfect little ditty

    Okay. So this book is super short. But, in it is a cute story that has you on your toes until the end. No loose ends remaining. And fully satisfying. Basically a nice read if you wanna chill and escape life for a few hours. I would recommend this book in good conscience. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Liked It!!!

    Cute short story....I would consider reading more books from this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Omg

    I fell in love with this book it was sad and happy and sumtimes funny it was just an awesome book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    <3

    I absolutely LOVED this book it was amazing! :) read it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Cute short read

    Very cute i loved it. I wish it was longer just to know about the future but it was a nice easy read finding the one while in a coma.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Loved thr story! Really enjoyed the charactets. It eas lovely to see Paige grow and realize the things dhe did in her life that she didnt like and decided to take a stand andchange them. GREAT little romance!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Absolutatly stunning!

    I read this in one night and fell inlove with the characters! I plan on reading this agian and agian! Best book ive read in a VERY long time, short quick read but considering its free i recomend entirly i would easly pay for this book it would be in my mind totaly worth it. Lol i feel so happy reading it ^-^
    ~Nightmare

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Mari

    Loved it, awesome take on sleeping beauty.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Amazzingly sweet

    This was soool cute!
    It made me happy(:

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Sweet story

    This was such a nice quick read. Loved the character development of both characters....it would make a great movie (not usually what i ever think about a book) i can almost see the characters in day to day life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Lovvvveeeeee

    Im so in love with this book its crazy! Check out the sequal too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Wtf

    I got a completly diffrent book with characters name diffrent names and COMPLETE diffrent story

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    A great book.

    I read it in an hour. I wish it was longer. A feel good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    OMG!!

    This was an absolutely AMAZING story!!! Its been a long time since a young adult short story had me feeling every emotion...including crying when the mom told Paige about taking Zach off life support. You MUST read this!! Kudos to the author! I will DEFINITELY read more of your work and please keep on writing...you have talent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    really good story

    I really liked this story, it was so sweet and I got a little teary eyed at the end. I think it is a book for teen readers, but I enjoyed it very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6