Customer Reviews for

Sleeping with the Fishes (Fred the Mermaid Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    This book needs to 'sleep with the fishes'

    I hate to say this but the editing in this book is REALLY REALLY bad. It begins with a letter from MD trying desperately to justify herself. This should have tipped me off that something was off with this book. By the end it was easy to see that the letter was just an attempt to say 'sorry my book sucks, this is why..' I know that stuff happens (like people dying) and deadlines get pushed back but that's still no excuse for all of the mistakes in this book. They should have pushed back the date even further. It's ok to prolong a books release if the quality of the book is awful. I would have rather them postponed this book for years rather than publish this slop. It's plagued with spelling and gramatical errors as well as plot and character mistakes. For example, look up at the 'from the publisher' section, it says Fred is volunteering at the aquarium. She works there! They can't even keep track of where she works! In the novel she and Artur are in Thomas' office, from there they proceed up to the observation deck where all of the sudden Artur tries to kiss Fred leaving her leaning against Thomas' desk. This isn't possible unless they were suddenly back in the office or the desk magically appeared on the observation deck. Further, the characters were a little off. Fred is not lovable at all. She's irritating and cranky and rude. I wouldn't want to be her friend much less read a whole novel about her. In fact, I was kinda hoping she would die at the end but no such luck. Artur was a typical one dimensional character. How many times can we pull the 'super attractive, smart, rich and utterly lacking in charm' card. It's been done...Artur could be Sinclair with a tail. And what is up with Jonas? I mean the man is GAY! GAY GAY GAY! I don't care how many sex scenes you give him, it feels wrong. He should be doing a dude! No man is that secure with his masculinity. I mean, he is MARC only he hasn't come out of the closet yet. This novel started off bad with Fred walking in on her parents having sex which wasn't necessary and just succeeded in not only grossing me out but leaving me with the question of 'why'? It continued to go downhill with a bad storyline, a lame badguy, one dimensional characters, an awful ending and all and all terrible editing It's too bad really. I know she's capable of so much more. I wanted to literally take a red marker to this book and send it back to the publishers. Oh well, if she writes a sequel I'll surely read it with the hopes that maybe she will get it right the second time because it would suck to waste such a good concept.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    This was a great, funny story. the only problem I had was that t

    This was a great, funny story. the only problem I had was that the climax of the story was over and done with within a few sentences. I still enjoyed it immensely, but that kept it from being perfect. A good book for laughs and crazy romance. The other books of the series basically had the same problems and same pluses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Good book.

    Good book. Nice short series & I like the author's witty writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, fast read

    This is a fast read book designed to be fun, not deep. Foul language, but not used out of context. Less than you will hear on the city bus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    not as good as i expected

    Fred is a lot like her other character betsy taylor. this was not too interesting, and i was expecting a lot more. I guess i should have read this series before i read betsy taylor series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh no...

    Sorry, but I really didn't like this book. The language in it was really vulgar and I couldn't get past the first chapter. Lured in by the pretty cover, I was VERY decieved. It just wasn't wholesome or interesting in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    One of My Favorites

    Despite what others are saying about the book i personally enjoyed reading 'Sleeping with the Fishes' and am eagerly awaiting the release of the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    A reviewer

    Upon reading Sleeping with the Fishes you gotta love the interplay between Fred and Arthur and the other guy although personally I hope Fred ends up with Arthur and I hope Mary Janice Davidson writes another book continuing Fred's story cause I would love to hear how it turns out. All in all a great book and who would have guessed that a mermaid could get seasick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    my IQ dropped a few points after reading this....

    Although most of the characters in the book hold doctoral degrees, I found this book quite silly and dumb. Yes, it's supposed to be a fast and very light read, but everything was too simplified and the result is a failed attempt at quirkiness with flat, boring characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Fred

    Fred really wants to get rid of the two guys bothering her, but they end up pulling her along. With both trying to steal kisses, her best friend interested in her boss, and weird levels of toxins in Boston harbor, fred has an interesting story to tell.- there are sexual refferants- so not for the immature

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    What i did and didnt expect, but loved!!

    This book is nothing like the little mermaid, which by the way who i love and the only reason i probably even looked at the book because of the mermaid on the cover. My fav character besides Fred is Jonas, he is a awesome character, he needs to get his own fame in a book. The book overall shocked me at the end, and thats why i loved it so much. The author is a very self-satire women which is very cool, i would like to read more of her books, she reminds me of Jennifer Crusie. Loved t, read it people if you love sex, mermaids, flirtatious, funny, and a good time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Soo Good But So Short

    I just finished this book and OMG was it good. Another stellar book from MJD. Although I hated that it ended. I can't wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Loved it

    I loved this book!!! I'll admit that the ending wasn't the best, but that just leaves you want to keep reading. I don't care what everyone else says I'm going to keep reading her books faithfully. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Mary Janice Davidson Wake Up!

    Mary Janice Davidson, has had great success with her Undead series. Unfortunately, Sleeping with the Fishes is everything the Undead series lacks multiplied. While both the Undead series and this hovel have novelty, creativity and charm, Sleeping with the Fishes is a little too cute. Fred is beyond cranky. She¿s rude. All the male protagonists are tall, handsome, and buff. Both Fred and her boss are beautiful but unaware of their attractions. Each problem in the plot is difficult to believe. For example is it possible that fish would prefer the Pet Shop Boys to anyone else and stage a food strike? The villain is too predictable and the ingénue too ingenuous. The world suffers from serious and complex ecological problems. Too bad we can¿t just find the poopers and make them clean it all up too! Mary Janice Davidson wake up! Don't sleep with the fish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    I feel disloyal to MJD

    Recently I was disappointed in yet another author's spitting out books so fast the quality that was there in the beginning. . . well, it was lost. I remember thinking at least MJD doesn't ever disappoint. Well, this time she did. She has now joined Laurrell K Hamilton, Judith McNaught and other 'stars' who have lost their edge now that they are so prolific. This book should definitely sleep with the fishes. I will read the next one, out of sheer loyalty and the belief that everyone deserves a chance to fix their mistakes. I'm not going to waste time listing the mistakes - let's just say that I haven't been so disgusted in a good long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Left me wanting too much more!

    This was the first time I had read anything by this author. She was funny and I loved the characters, but I thought it was way too fast paced and that she just suddenly stopped. She left me wanting way too much more of the story-so much that I probably wouldn't read anything from her again. Not enough plot or character development. I thought the story had a ton of potential, but she breezed right through with too much left unresolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Outstanding and Wanting More

    This book is OUTSANDING! I love fantasy novels, like about dragons and mermaids so when this was here I had to have it. I finished it and I do hope that there is another book. I look forward to readong other novels by MJD and I hope that they are of the same quality as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A zany amusing fantasy

    Twenty-nine year old marine biologist Dr. Fredrika ¿Fred¿ Bell knows her dad is not her biological father as she is a mermaid and her dad cannot swim her mom says a mer-man bonked her. At work at the New England Aquarium, Fred¿s boss Dr. Barbara Robinson introduces her to the new water man, Dr. Thomas Pearson, who shocks her when he notices her hair is green as most people say it is blue. Of course Fred has not dated in six years so finding true love seems impossible. Fred mentions the water man to her friend Jonas, the only human besides her parents who knows she is a mermaid he insists she is in love.------------------ Thomas tells Dr. Barb and Fred that there is a high level of toxin in the ocean, which he traces back to Boston Harbor. Not long afterward High Prince Artur tells Fred his father, the king of the sea-folks, needs her help with the poison in the ocean. Artur has the hots for Fred and steals a kiss. Thomas sees Fred in a fish tank where the water brings out her tail. He knows she is a mermaid and kisses her as she leaves the water. From no lovers, Fred has two wannabe lovers while Jonas has the hots for Barb. However, first they must deal with the poisoned ocean.--------------- SLEEPING WITH FISHES is a zany amusing fantasy as MaryJanice Davidson provides her trademark wacky fun tale of the tail. The story line focuses on Fred with a strong support cast bringing out the best and worst in her while making the ¿undersea-folks¿ seem genuine. Readers will enjoy this delightful whimsical story as readers will wonder whether the human or the sea-prince will get Fred as the trio tries to resolve the question of that dirty water, Boston is her hometown.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3