Customer Reviews for

Sleepless

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute and Fun

    My sandman must be a little too good at his job. I have to be his best charge. I love sleep and he has no problem dowsing me with sand each night (too the point where I struggle to get out of bed each morning)...wait, doesn't that mean he's not good at his job? Darn it! I bet Griffin is my sandman! lol

    As you can see, this story stuck with me. It was fun and sweet. I had a little trouble getting started with this book, but I will blame that on my busy schedule and not the story itself. Sleepless is about Sandmen (incase you couldn't tell from my tangent above. Eron De Marchelle is a Sandman and he has been one for 100 years. This is the term that each Sandman must fulfill his duties before he (or she) can return to a human life and complete their unfinished business. Eron has always followed the rules, been a model employee. That is all about to change when he starts to train his replacement.

    Griffin Colburn is dead, leaving behind his girlfriend, Julia. He was offered a chance to return to his human life after he completes 100 years as a Sandman. He is to be Eron's replacement. Griffin is having a difficult time letting go of his life and Julia. When his best friend Bret sets his sights on Julia, Griffin is determined to prevent his advances. Eron now has bigger problems then inserting his 1910 experience2010 world. Eron will have to make sure than Griffin fulfills his duties as a Sandman so that Eron can become human while protecting his charge, Julia (whom he loves) from Griffin's tirade. But spending time in both worlds is difficult and Eron never knows when or for how long he will be able to exist in human form.

    Julia is dealing with the death of her boyfriend. She is once again in the spotlight. Her boyfriend's best friend is suddenly making passes at her and now an incredibly hot stranger has popped into her life. Why is it that Eron seems so familiar to her? As her curiosity and attraction grows for Eron her life becomes more confusing and more dangerous.

    The story is told from two points of view, Eron and Julia. I really liked this book, but I wish it had been a little longer. As I mentioned before I have been a little busy lately, but I had a hard time getting through the first 70 pages or so, which is a third of the book. After those first 70 pages I was hooked, but some might lose interest before then. Cyn Balog had a great plot for this book and I feel like in the end it turned out to be a great read, but she could have bulked this story up.

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I loved how this story played out. Eron DeMarchelle is a sandman

    I loved how this story played out. Eron DeMarchelle is a sandman granted his life back after 100 years of sandman services. It is so cute how charming he is and how innocent his view of Julia is... Too damn cute <3 I can totally see this making it in the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great book

    I loved the characters in this book, and the way they formed as the story went on. The plot was good but alittle complicated. Over all this book has to be one of the best books i have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Refreshing Read

    3.5 Stars

    In a genre dominated by vampires and werewolves, Sleepless was a refreshing and unique read. Cyn Balog takes the commonly known legend of the Sandman and adds to that legend with her own twist.

    I loved the alternating point of views in this book. A lot of times, I feel, that alternating point of view takes away from the story, but I believe in this case it enhanced the reading of the story. I loved reading Eron point of view and seeing what it was like to be a Sandman, and learning from him, the difficulties of being a Sandman.

    Cyn Balog did an excellent job of making me want to read more about these characters and the plot. There were many small mysteries, such as what happened to Julia when she was seven, that made me want to continue reading. The threat of danger to Julia also kept constantly shifting, making me want to keep reading to see who was actually the one who wanted to hurt Julia.

    My only complaint was that this book was too short! I wish it was longer! Towards the end I felt the plot was a bit rushed and I just wanted to read about these characters and the world Cyn Balog created with the Sandman. I also must say too that at times I was frustrated with Juila for not seeing that her boyfriend was not as good as she thought he was and that he was a bad boyfriend. Overall though, Sleepless was a book that kept me turning the pages until the end and left me wanting more, always a good sign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good!

    My first impression of Sleepless was that it was going to be awesome, because it has a unique story between a girl and a sandman. Yeah, it sounds pretty great, right? It was a very good book and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

    Eron is a sandman and has three charges, which are whom he seduces to sleep. Eron is totally sexy for a boy who lived in the early 1900s. The way he speaks properly and has great mannerism is attractive, so it was really easy to get into him. He's been with Julia her whole life, being that he's been a sandman for almost 100 years.

    Once Eron's hundred-year sandman service is up he has two options: continue being a sandman or move on. Unfortunately, Julia's boyfriend is his replacement and he's not cooperating. Eron is stuck between worlds and decisions, but his main priority is protecting Julia - no matter what!

    After her boyfriend dies Julia's not sad, but she's not happy. She's confused about her feelings, mostly because she's refrained from feeling too much since she was a little girl and expressing sadness is hard for her. She would much rather make a joke and laugh it off. I feel like there was still some developing for Julia by the end of the book. I would have liked to get more into her thoughts and feelings, instead I felt like we were just skimming the top.

    I enjoyed Cyn Balog's writing. It flows and is easy to follow, but it has feeling. The book is read in the perspectives of Eron and Julia, which I loved. It's always nice to read from a couple of perspectives, because you can understand the feelings of each and it brings to life a whole other aspect to the storyline.

    Sleepless lacked a little in character development, especially with Julia, and the first few chapters were slow. Overall, though, I really enjoyed reading this unique story and can't wait to pick up another book by Cyn Balog!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book, Don't be fooled by it's short length.

    I really liked this book, I had read many mixed reviews so I was unsure when I picked this up but once I started I couldn't put it down. It was honestly a nice surprise, considering the length of the book I was sure I would come away feeling like the story was some how incomplete. But it was quite the opposite I found myself hoping for a continuation of the storyline in the feature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Enter Sandman

    My thoughts...Sleepless has a very original plot that gives readers a fresh reading experience. The story is about a Sandman and his charge. Eron, who was a human boy about 100 years ago, became my favorite character almost instantly. His old world manners and charm made his character very enjoyable. He is in charge of putting Julia, among others, to sleep every night. Julia's character felt cold to me at times, but she dealt with her misfortunes in her own way and still maintained her dignity. I found some of the characters transparent at times, their true motives seemed to be just beneath the surface.

    Sleepless was a fast paced book. It is told from several point of view which provides a good perspective of the characters. Parts of the story were predictable, but it allowed me to focus on some of the other details. The ending of the book left me feeling a bit unsatisfied, it seemed a bit abrupt and forced. However, it left room for another story about the characters. Cyn Balog has a wonderful style of writing that lends itself to great storytelling. I would recommend this book to fans of YA literature, especially if you are looking for something new and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another short one

    Her books are always too short and quite frankly, just not worth the time and money they cost you. Books that don't break 200 pages shouldn't be published in hardcover, only paperback, like a $6.99 size paperback. I'm kinda sick of being ripped off. Skip this author and check out my suggestions, get something for your $17.99. (The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I obviously haven't read it.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1