Customer Reviews for

Sleepless

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    abba zoo

    cute book.refreshing after all those vampire and werewolf books.a must read! i gave it 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Recommended

    This story was very refreshing. I enjoyed the characters very much. I don't like reading reviews and there being a spoiler alert so I am not going to do that. The plot was very good and I recommendthis to anyone who enjoys paranormal stories as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Best Book Ever

    Never read a book about a Sandman before... and this one was the best! I loved the romance and want Eron to be MY Sandman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    I loved it.

    I love Balog. She's such a great writer. Everything was written well and with great voice. It was well-paced and a fun read full of creativity and thought. I really don't know which book to pick up next because it was really good and I don't want to part with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Must Read

    Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com ***** Let me start off with saying: THIS IS A MUST READ. Eron is a sleepbringer- charged with the care and safety of his assigned "clientele". Julia, one of Eron's charges is in danger, big danger and the rules dictate Eron can't interfere. But, that won't stop him.

    This story is amazing. I read mostly paranormal novels and this one brings a whole new edge to the regular fair of vampires, werewolves and angel books that is out there right now. Julia is blindly dealing with the death of her boyfriend-and surprisingly-she's not upset. Along with his friend, Bret, Griffin helped buffer Julia from the rest of the world. But when Griffin is killed in a car accident, she realizes she has lost her buffer and her best friends.

    Eron is the Sandman assigned to her, always has been. He's watched her grow and now that he's about to become human, he wants to be in her life. But there is one problem: Griffin has agreed to be the Sandman that will replace Eron-and he will become responsible for Julia's safety.

    This novel winds a tight tale that loops and wraps around itself until you are not sure which way is up and what the characters true motives are. It had me staying up half the night to untangle the web of confusion I was wrapped in. This is the first novel I have read by Ms. Balog, but I will say- I'm now 100% fan of her writing and plan on picking up all her other novels. Please check this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Sandman

    Okay, this book is great! After Julia's boyfriend, Griffin, dies in a tragic accident, things go all wrong. People are getting the wrong impression from her mourning and just wants everything to go back to the way it use to be. Bret, Griffin's best friend, begins hanging out more with Julia. Griffin now a sandman is having a hard time adjusting to his new life and that means watching Julia.

    Eron has been a sandman for a century and is Griffin's mentor. He has also watched Julia for a long time. He cares for her deeply and is waiting for the training to be done so he can have a chance with Julia. But with Griffin messing in a world he longer belongs in, trouble begins to brew.

    Julia has never had a dream about Griffin. Now all of the sudden he begins showing up in her dreams angry. Personal items are being misplaced and some things changed. Julia suspects she is being haunted by her dead ex-boyfriend but dismisses the idea. All she knows is something is not right.

    First off, Eron was such a great character and a guy (if I was not married) I would totally date. He is respectful, trustworthy, and very gentlemanly. He is very courteous with Julia and wants nothing more but to protect her, guide her. I did laugh and felt sorry for him at the same time because of the way he was being treated. Here was a young man, who has been dead since the 1900's and has no idea of the way of the world today. I wanted badly to step inside the book and help the guy out. After all, he doesn't know what to do.

    This book is everything I thought it would be. Adventurous, witty, and great writing. I love the plot and the many twist in the story. I like how she worked with two different characters, from two different worlds. The twist in the story were out of this world. Dreams to nightmares. Risking everything your worked for to protect another. Cyn did a fabulous job. I could not be happier with her book.

    If you have not, check this book out. It is simply an amazing read that will have a hold on you. Cyn's unique interpretation of the Sandman was nothing that I have seen before. Sleepless is definitely a book to read this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo.com

    In SLEEPLESS by Cyn Balog, the Sandman is not just a childhood fantasy - he, or she, is real!

    Eron De Marchelle is a Sandman and his job is to protect his charges and help them get a good night's sleep. And he isn't supposed to favor one over another or become involved in their dreams. But ever since she was a little girl, Eron has been attracted to Julia. And he has to watch as her world crashes around her when her boyfriend, Griffin, is suddenly killed. Will Eron break the rules and become involved with one of his charges, or just sit by and watch?

    The premise of this story is definitely new. A Sandman? I've never read anything of the like. (And where is mine? I always have a hard time falling asleep and wake up at least once an hour - so my Sandman must not be doing his/her job!) Anyway, when I saw what the story was about, I knew I had to read it.

    The storyline was good and the plot was well thought out, but I didn't really like the characters. I definitely didn't like Griffin or Brett. Sorry, but they just seemed like jerks to me. Guys who laugh at anything, and Griffin and Julia never had serious conversations. I don't know; just not very likeable guys. And while I didn't dislike Julia, I didn't really care for her either, until the very end. Then she seemed to get some of her own personality. Eron was cute. The way that he was so confused in the modern world was endearing.

    I liked how the story was told from alternating viewpoints between Julia and Eron. And I liked the overall plot. But I think the ending wrapped up a little too nicely and quickly. I could easily have read more and would have liked there to be more story at the end. Still a 5 star read, though.

    This was a fun book on a new topic, and I look forward to reading Cyn Balog's other book, FAIRY TALE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2