Customer Reviews for

Sleight Malice

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Julia Hopkinson for Readers' Favorite Sleight Malic

    Reviewed by Julia Hopkinson for Readers' Favorite

    Sleight Malice is the second in Vicki Tyley's series of stand-alone thrillers set in Melbourne, Australia. Following her recent separation from cheating husband, Trent, website designer Desley James, has been leaning on best friend, Laura, for support. After waving Laura off home after a wine-filled girls’ night in, Desley is woken in the middle of the night by sirens, in time to witness her best friend’s house burning to the ground. If that isn't enough, there is no sign of Laura or her boyfriend, Ryan; only the charred body of a unidentified man. Frustrated by the local police’s lack of progress, Desley starts to investigate, aided by new client and PI, Fergus Coleman. Soon enough, Desley knows she’s searching in the right direction when her house is broken into and her own life is threatened…

    Vicki Tyley has written another corker! Sleight Malice is a modern, complex, multi-layered mystery which deals its twists and turns skilfully. The plot is enhanced by good dialogue, a little romance and some sprinklings of humour. Whenever you might think you’ve worked it all out or guessed what's coming next, know for sure that you have not - there is an ocean-full of red herrings on offer here! The story is quite dark in places, is structured well and builds cleverly to a tense climax. I was reading through the last few dozen pages at double speed, desperate to find out what happened next; and it was well worth the wait. I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to all mystery and thriller fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    highly recommended

    As usual Vicki Tyley has not disappointed. The story captures your attention from the first sentence and keeps you until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Confounding Deceptions - Absolutely Recommended!

    Vicki Tyley's story telling skills are such that I instantly feel I know her main characters very well. No turning back to the first few chapters to check on details. In this story, Desley is a loyal, trusting soul who is confronted with confounding deceptions, and reacts in a very human way. She has a quirky side too . who would've thought of preparing a Vegemite snack the way she does! Desley is surrounded by a gamut of strong characters all with their own agenda and seemingly plausible reasons for their actions. A cleverly thought out, well edited and entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    Keep u guessing all the way!

    This is a great book! I recommend it to more mature audience's. I also say buy this authors other 3 incredible books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    What a great read!

    "Sleight Malice" was my second encounter with Vicki Tyley's writing. Her debut novel "Thin Blood" was a truly captivating story with strong characters already, but early on, "Sleight Malice" makes it clear that it is superior in many ways. Once again, Tyley shows her prowess in creating dimensional characters that readers can latch on to very quickly. These characters make up the heartbeat of the novel, as her character-driven plot is more about what people say, think and feel, as it is about t...more"Sleight Malice" was my second encounter with Vicki Tyley's writing. Her debut novel "Thin Blood" was a truly captivating story with strong characters already, but early on, "Sleight Malice" makes it clear that it is superior in many ways.

    Once again, Tyley shows her prowess in creating dimensional characters that readers can latch on to very quickly. These characters make up the heartbeat of the novel, as her character-driven plot is more about what people say, think and feel, as it is about the unfolding of the actual events.

    In this case the events surround the mysterious burning down of her best friends house and the disappearance of said friend and her husband. Determined to find out what happened, the story's main character, Desley, makes use of all the tools and information at her disposal as she goes down a path of self-discovery that ultimately solves the case.

    Tyley's writing conjures up images of urban Australia, the lifestyle, the people, while always keeping it a bit edgy and unsettling, as the mystery evolves and the sense of danger grows. Nicely balanced and paced, the story is filled with surprises that keep the reader engaged. By the time the story reaches its third act it is practically impossible to put the book down and I found myself turning page after page to finally learn what really happened.

    What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A-list suspense

    You can see my cover blurb if you look in the product description, but just wanted to add that Vicki Tyley keeps surprising and delighting with every paragraph. Psychological suspense that ratchets the drama into a tense and compact knot before it explodes with unexpected consequences. Tyley is at the top of my A-list for suspense and mystery fiction.

    Scott Nicholson, Disintegration

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Warning--Don't start reading this novel at bedtime.

    'Sleight Malice' by Vicki Tyley kept me up most of the night. In this mystery/suspense Ms. Tyley skillfully rachets up the pressure until I felt I couldn't endure it any longer. Then there is a surprise ending. You will get no hints from me.

    Ms. Tyley cleverly provides several suspects and red herrings that left me unable to predict the finale. I love the Australian background with little comments about climate, scenery, housing and way of life which all blend in smoothly with the plot. Ms.Tyley gives small touches of humour at intervals allowing the reader some much needed breathing space.

    I sensed a tension between Delsey and Fergus Coleman throughout. This is very normal since the relationship develops under so much tension and makes it even more realistic.

    Vicki Tyley shows that she is a professional by providing readers with both three dimensional characters and a well written, polished, difficult to solve mystery. I eagerly await her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Sleight Malice

    Another fabulous novel from Vicki Tyley. Fast paced, it's a page turner from the get go. There are also plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very end. I can't wait for additional works. I'll buy them all. :) Thanks Vicki!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Engrossing Aussie thriller with a great heroine

    Laura and Ryan's home burns down. A man's body is found in the embers but Laura is missing. The police seem baffled. Laura's best friend, website designer Desley James, takes matters into her own hands to solve the mystery. The more she probes, the more complex things become. Friends and family are drawn into the intrigue. Twist follows turn as the story builds up to a tense climax - and a most surprising conclusion. Vicki Tyley has given us another fast-paced, page-turning mystery to follow on from her debut novel 'Thin Blood' (also great). Like the first book, this one too is set in her Australian homeland. It's a very enjoyable and easy read, with nicely developed characters and natural dialogue, and some well-judged romantic interest along the way. Desley is a warm and sympathetic character that you grow to like. I really enjoyed it. Get it at the current price and it's an absolute bargain too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1