Customer Reviews for

Sleight of Hand

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love Phillip Margolin¿s books and can¿t resist his Dana Cutle

I love Phillip Margolin’s books and can’t resist his Dana Cutler stories.

This book starts out with what seems to be two separate, unrelated stories. Although both were interesting, I kept wondering how they would come together.

One story involves Dana Cutler who is...
I love Phillip Margolin’s books and can’t resist his Dana Cutler stories.

This book starts out with what seems to be two separate, unrelated stories. Although both were interesting, I kept wondering how they would come together.

One story involves Dana Cutler who is a private investigator hired to track down a stolen relic that turns out to be a dead end. When she returns to Virginia, Dana becomes involved in the second story that involves the murder of Carrie Blair just days before she would receive millions of dollars from her husband Horace according to the terms of their prenuptual agreement and he is charged with her murder. In a series of twists and turns, Margolin pulls the two seemingly unrelated incidences together. The two cases turn out to have a common thread and Dana is pitted against Horace Blair's defense attorney Charles Benedict. Dana uncovers evidence that Horace may have been framed for the murder, but Benedict blocks her attempts to get the answers she needs. This story gets really suspenseful when Dana becomes a target of the real killer as she hunts for the truth.

Margolin creates a masterful book and captivates readers from the first page. This novel was very well written and the storyline was intricately put together. The character development in this story is quite in depth. You get to know a great deal about the main characters, their lives, and their histories.

Sleight of Hand is very well set up. It progresses in a logical fashion from beginning to end while keeping the reader completely captivated with the many different twists found in the story. As usual, I was impressed with Margolin’s ability to take multiple storylines and complex characters and bring them together in a way that held my attention.

posted by Joey44 on July 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I quit reading this when the multi millionaire (or billionaire)

I quit reading this when the multi millionaire (or billionaire) called an attorney who had admitted to having an affair with his wife. Said attorney is a professional hit man who panics and shoots said wife, then proceeds to blame millionaire husband. I would think th...
I quit reading this when the multi millionaire (or billionaire) called an attorney who had admitted to having an affair with his wife. Said attorney is a professional hit man who panics and shoots said wife, then proceeds to blame millionaire husband. I would think the husband, being a millionaire, would have an army of legal counsel on retainer. But to choose the man who admits to cheating with your wife? I'm sure I would have many more complaints, but that was as far as I got in the book. I won't even mention when Benedict switched evidence in the courtroom.

Please! people are paying good money to read a good book. This book is totally unbelievable. If you must read it, get it from the library.

posted by thriftyreader on September 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    I love Phillip Margolin¿s books and can¿t resist his Dana Cutle

    I love Phillip Margolin’s books and can’t resist his Dana Cutler stories.

    This book starts out with what seems to be two separate, unrelated stories. Although both were interesting, I kept wondering how they would come together.

    One story involves Dana Cutler who is a private investigator hired to track down a stolen relic that turns out to be a dead end. When she returns to Virginia, Dana becomes involved in the second story that involves the murder of Carrie Blair just days before she would receive millions of dollars from her husband Horace according to the terms of their prenuptual agreement and he is charged with her murder. In a series of twists and turns, Margolin pulls the two seemingly unrelated incidences together. The two cases turn out to have a common thread and Dana is pitted against Horace Blair's defense attorney Charles Benedict. Dana uncovers evidence that Horace may have been framed for the murder, but Benedict blocks her attempts to get the answers she needs. This story gets really suspenseful when Dana becomes a target of the real killer as she hunts for the truth.

    Margolin creates a masterful book and captivates readers from the first page. This novel was very well written and the storyline was intricately put together. The character development in this story is quite in depth. You get to know a great deal about the main characters, their lives, and their histories.

    Sleight of Hand is very well set up. It progresses in a logical fashion from beginning to end while keeping the reader completely captivated with the many different twists found in the story. As usual, I was impressed with Margolin’s ability to take multiple storylines and complex characters and bring them together in a way that held my attention.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Good read

    It's fun to read a story in which the villain is known. The author then must weave in the details in a way that keeps the reader involved. Phillip Margolin does this.
    One thing that impressed me: In his acknowledgments, Margolin recognizes his copy editor by name. It's easy to see why. This is one of those rare books in which I found no glaring grammar or spelling errors. Kudos to Margolin and to his editors.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended-you must check it out!

    Couldn't put it down.Rate five stars

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I thought "Phillip Margolin IS BACK"!! I loved it!!

    I thought "Phillip Margolin IS BACK"!! I loved it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I quit reading this when the multi millionaire (or billionaire)

    I quit reading this when the multi millionaire (or billionaire) called an attorney who had admitted to having an affair with his wife. Said attorney is a professional hit man who panics and shoots said wife, then proceeds to blame millionaire husband. I would think the husband, being a millionaire, would have an army of legal counsel on retainer. But to choose the man who admits to cheating with your wife? I'm sure I would have many more complaints, but that was as far as I got in the book. I won't even mention when Benedict switched evidence in the courtroom.

    Please! people are paying good money to read a good book. This book is totally unbelievable. If you must read it, get it from the library.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    I'd never read this author before Sleight of Hand. I loved this

    I'd never read this author before Sleight of Hand. I loved this book and read it all in one day. The story thread just pulled me right through with
    interesting characters and twists and turns and a great ending. Charles is the perfect criminal. He is a genius, a magician, a killer and a lawyer. What a combination!!! I'll get more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I would recommend this book.

    For me its a little slow to start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Click this

    Kiss your hand three times and post this on three diffrent books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Michelle to all rpers

    Hi. Im Michelle, obviously, and this is the bios book. Just put your name, House, gender, best subjec, and looks. I will be hiring teachers for every class and make sure u have an owl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Most of Margolin's books are the best! Always keeps me on my toe

    Most of Margolin's books are the best! Always keeps me on my toes and guessing, the suspense drives me crazy. This particular one was not one of my favorites, sorry to say, but still an exciting and good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Another Dana Cutler novel. I love this author's works. The book

    Another Dana Cutler novel. I love this author's works. The book is worth your time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Great ending

    Suspenful and complicated plot fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    fairly entertaining!

    Not an especially great read. I certainly have read many more exciting crime

    stories but this definitely was not one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Good read for the little price

    A little all over the place in the beginning, but keeps your attention and great ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    It was the best

    You already who killed Carrie and the best part was how the policeand the detective came togather. Loved it. The bad part was it was only 252 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    So fun

    T is

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Read sample that was enough

    Re chess for kids it was gin rummy and poker and monopoly that interested kids and they learned to count which is next to bridge for memory and score keeping mom

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    A good beach read based on magic

    Fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    great author

    Good reading absolutely!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2