Customer Reviews for

A Slice of Heaven (Sweet Magnolias Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A moving tale

    Two years ago in Serenity, South Carolina, Dana Sue Sullivan caught her spouse Ron cheating and kicked him out of her home and her life. He knew he was wrong so he put up no fight and just left though that means he deserted their daughter too. After he departed in disgrace his wife developed an eating habit unable to resist her own delicious deserts at her café that has led to adult diabetes though she still cannot resist the sugar and worse their teenage daughter Annie became anorexic. As Dana Sue gains weight by noshing on her sweets in a dietary Dorian Gray scenario, Annie loses weight.--------------------- However, now Annie¿s condition has turned critical as she is hospitalized for the impact on her body her eating disorder has wrought. Desperate Dana Sue asks Ron to come home hoping her father might be able to save their daughter¿s life. Ron welcomes the chance to make amends as he knows he blew his slice of heaven when he cheated. His plan is to win back the love of his wife and daughter, but the guilt is compounded when he sees the condition of his little girl and making matters worse he does not understand he that both of his women never stopped loving him instead he needs to gain their trust.------------------- In spite of the help, encouragement, and admonishments of her two best friends Helen (next tale star) and Maddie (see STEALING HOME), Dana Sue knows Annie needs her father and she would do anything including begging him to come home for her. This is a deep family drama as the three prime players carry baggage that has turned them beyond dysfunctional into harming themselves. The look at diabetes and especially anorexia is as deep as a novel gets as this in trouble family is not starring in a rose colored tale instead they each need to move past their recent history so that they might have a future.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Wow! Awesome read about real issues...

    "A Slice of Heaven" is book #2 in the Steel Magnolias series and it's every bit as good a read as book #1. This book focuses on Dana Sue's life challenges: an anorexic teen, pre-diabetes, the return of her ex-husband-all while trying to devote the endless hours required to make a new restaurant become a success. Luckily, she has her best friends Maddie and Helen to help her face these life stressors head-on.
    Woods gets kudos for weaving these difficult, real-life issues about touchy topics into her romance stories. It gives them a depth and substance that are often missing in this genre.
    I look forward to watching how Helen's story plays out in book #3 in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Another Excellent Read

    I stumbled across Sherryl Woods books quite by accident and find them a wonderful way to relax with a good book. A Slice of Heaven grabs your attention right away and holds your interest throughtout. I simply couldn't put it down until I had finished. Ms. Woods has a way of developing characters that makes them very believable and tends to put you in the center of the drama along with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Book 2 - Sweet Magnolias Series

    I love Sherryl Woods and this book 2 of the Sweet Magnolias is readable, believeable and well done. A favorite author and a favorite series. I have read all four books in this series, so far, and I will keep watching for more from the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Why is B&N search function such a piece of c- - p! I have to

    Why is B&N search function such a piece of c- - p! I have to got hrough 50 pages of garbage to finally get to the point I need to. Why can't they just have a option to go to the page you want to. Plus, when I search for classics, I find modern works in the search as well. Come on, B&N, you can do better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    A little too sweet

    No steel flowers these

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Excellent #2

    I am loving this series dealing with the lives of characters in this small SC community. I particularly love the personalities of the "Sweet Magnolias" and can't wait to see what happens next. The plot is well developed but you almost know what will happen and it is just a matter of seeing how the author works her magic. I am purchasing the whole series and think anyone who enjoys the light reading of a romance novel will enjoy these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Love this book.

    Really funny and sweet and more. I really enjoyed this over book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    The Secret Path

    Prologue
    A white tabby shecat, a dark brown shecat, and a mottled gray tom move across the slope to a ginger tom. Stars glitter in all their pelts.
    "Greetings, Fierystar." Mews the white tabby.
    "Hello, Cloudypelt." The ginger tom responds.
    The brown shecat, Elmstar, steps forward, her amber eyes bright. "Fierystar, we come seeking advice. The Clans and Tribes have become like littermates. Like Clan to Clan. The Tribe of Endless Hunting struggles as well. They lead seperate, very different lives."
    "We must respect their ways, along with ours. Getting too close could change both traditions." Adds Grayfleck, the gray tom.
    Fierystar nods. "The prophecy will hold. Many cats will be affected. Possibly every cat."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Red

    *I pull out a rag and wipe your tears*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Hazel

    * i touch my hand to your cheek * thank you red. You always were so sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Highley Recommended

    Of course it is good it is by Sherryl Woods and part of her Swet Magnolias series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Ready for book no. 3!

    I love how each book focus' on a different persons point of view. There were times when i couldnt put this book down & other times where i thought that it draged on a little bit too much but overall i loved it. I kept telling myself "one more chapter & i HAVE to get back to work" but by the end of the chapter i couldnt put it away. I kept rushing to get everything done so i could see what happened next. It killed me to have to wait till i got paid to buy the next book. 2 days without reading this seris was almost like torture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    If you enjoy Sherryl Woods, this series is a MUST read!

    As a NY woman, reading about southern women has its eye-opening moments. Deep down, we all want to be happy. Don't start this series with limited time on your hands as you won't want to put each book down. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great read

    The first book I read on my nook. Good read now on to the next one :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    A MUST READ...............

    I have truely enjoyed this series. The way Sherrrl writes give you enough detail but not to much. Leave a space for your imagination. The women in this story are amazing. You want want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty typical Woods.... and that's good

    A "fluff-n-stuff" book, to be sure, but a nice enough thread of three women friends, each dealing with real-life issues and how they work through their problems together. Southern belles and southern food. Now what could be better than that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A story loaded with important messages.

    I enjoyed the fact that some of the storyline was about eating disorders. I learned a lot from this book. I am convinced that your soul mate is out there and when true love is found, there is always a way to make your marriage work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Excellent reading

    I'm looking forward to reading Book #3 in the series and any future
    books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5