Customer Reviews for

Slide

Average Rating 4
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Good book. Good story. Enjoyable. Hey, people...it's a "rev

Good book. Good story. Enjoyable.
Hey, people...it's a "review"..NOT A FRICKIN' BOOK REPORT! STOP STOP giving all the details of the story away! A review means: rate it; give a COUPLE of COMMENTS on how you liked or disliked the book. DUH? Seems to me, it's p...
Good book. Good story. Enjoyable.
Hey, people...it's a "review"..NOT A FRICKIN' BOOK REPORT! STOP STOP giving all the details of the story away! A review means: rate it; give a COUPLE of COMMENTS on how you liked or disliked the book. DUH? Seems to me, it's pretty hard for people to comprehend "REVIEW."

posted by ireadeverythingMI on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

!

Every so calked review here is a plot spoiler. I wishyou rude ppk would go elsewhere with your blogs and reveals and stop ruining books for other readers. We dont get our books gor free like you do, and when you reveal every detail you ruin the book for us, so thank you...
Every so calked review here is a plot spoiler. I wishyou rude ppk would go elsewhere with your blogs and reveals and stop ruining books for other readers. We dont get our books gor free like you do, and when you reveal every detail you ruin the book for us, so thank you. Bn, please do something to these rude ppl. Thus is a term of service violation, so cant they be banned?

posted by 8888649 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Enjoyable read but ending contrived.

    Well written with good pacing. But ending felt too abrupt and too conveniently wrapped up, leaving me feel disappointed overall. Why didn't the editor catch this?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    For teenagers

    High school girls are not my interest but I would have liked it if I were younger. I didn't finish it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Yet again, the reading world is graced with another contemporary

    Yet again, the reading world is graced with another contemporary/paranormal mix. I'm not keen on the mixture but what can I say. It's different. Slide is not your normal contemporary and paranormal mix. It harnesses a uniqueness of its own. And that is the ability to slide into someone when one falls asleep. Now, in this case, Sylvia does all the Sliding. She's an edgy type of girl with punkish pink hair and a personality that's average for a normal teenage girl only difference is that she can slide and she hates it. She tries to avoid it at all costs.

    In my opinion, Sylvia's the only thing that keeps her family grounded. After her mothers death, her dad became a workaholic and her little sister is on a tightrope trying to conform into the popular crowd in high-school. While Sylvia stays out the popular crowd and sticks with the two-person crowd her and best friend, Rollins. Rollins is an interesting character, nothing new but interesting.

    As the story goes along and Sylvia, tries to unravel the mystery of her sisters best friends suicide after a series of bullying and the truth that it wasn't a suicide but a murder. This knowledge she obtained by accidentally sliding into the murderer, as the murderer writes the victims suicide note.

    This has her on her toes in fear that her sister might be next. Her fight to find answers was slow and kind of dragging. But when another "suicide" comes in. The story begins to pick-up pace and everything started happening too fast. Almost like the author rushed it. Either way, the story was realistic. I don't think I've ever read a young adult contemporary novel that has so much gore and death in it.

    The book was unexpectedly good. It thrills you with mystery and death and definitely keeps you entertained with the corny but sweet romance. Along with the touching family bonding and support. Not much of an unputdownable book but Slide is most certainly a good book with a good plot that will keep you entertained enough to finish the book all the way through.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Quick fun read

    Perfect for the beach!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Good story

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Enjoyable

    This was a good book and an easy read. There was a lot of suspense and it kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Loved the concept.

    What would it be like to look through another's eyes? This book lets you see. Would have liked the main character to have a stronger moral character. Kept me wondering who did it until almost the end. Interesting twist of plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Its a YA Book

    I am sure many teens will enjoy this book and I frequently read them for a change of pace. As an over the hill reader this one was not quite up to my tastes but am sure my teen grand daughter will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Kinda a Si-FYI book!

    Fast and different read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Easy Read.

    I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    It was an interesting story. Loved the twist in the plot.

    It was an interesting story. Loved the twist in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Check it out!

    I am not usually a big fan of paranormal, but this one kept my interest. Great plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Different concept..I enjoyed the book. Fast read

    Different concept..I enjoyed the book. Fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is good in the proper setting YA. I did finish reading

    This book is good in the proper setting YA. I did finish reading the book but I will probably not buy further issues. The characters were typical whining teens. The author did her best for this group but not for me. Just my opinion. you may enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    This book was a little slow

    This book moved slow it had no bite to... it was predicble.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Okay (and that's kind of generous)

    The book starts with an amazing premise, but goes downhill from there. For one, there are a few plot holes and continuity issues. For another, the romantic aspect of the novel is so astoundingly tacky I started to skip almost every scene that mentioned either romantic interest's name. Also, the characters are not that great. Then the way the mystery progress is horrible—you couldn't have logically concluded who the murderer was, her search for clues was ratchet (for lack of a better word), her conclusions were always stupid, she took forever to come to simple and logical conclusions... And then there's the main character, obviously a version of the author herself. The main character talks about how she's a misfit and her friends are backstabbing popular girls and so on for several pages total (though the mentions are always brief so you get this air throughout the novel). Lady, get a counselour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Interesting

    Sort of juvenile, but kept my interest with some twists & turns. Over all, an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Good book with different story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Okay

    Okay.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3