Customer Reviews for

Slide

Average Rating 4
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Good book. Good story. Enjoyable. Hey, people...it's a "rev

Good book. Good story. Enjoyable.
Hey, people...it's a "review"..NOT A FRICKIN' BOOK REPORT! STOP STOP giving all the details of the story away! A review means: rate it; give a COUPLE of COMMENTS on how you liked or disliked the book. DUH? Seems to me, it's p...
Good book. Good story. Enjoyable.
Hey, people...it's a "review"..NOT A FRICKIN' BOOK REPORT! STOP STOP giving all the details of the story away! A review means: rate it; give a COUPLE of COMMENTS on how you liked or disliked the book. DUH? Seems to me, it's pretty hard for people to comprehend "REVIEW."

posted by ireadeverythingMI on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

!

Every so calked review here is a plot spoiler. I wishyou rude ppk would go elsewhere with your blogs and reveals and stop ruining books for other readers. We dont get our books gor free like you do, and when you reveal every detail you ruin the book for us, so thank you...
Every so calked review here is a plot spoiler. I wishyou rude ppk would go elsewhere with your blogs and reveals and stop ruining books for other readers. We dont get our books gor free like you do, and when you reveal every detail you ruin the book for us, so thank you. Bn, please do something to these rude ppl. Thus is a term of service violation, so cant they be banned?

posted by 8888649 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    When I read the premise for Slide by Jill Hathaway I knew this w

    When I read the premise for Slide by Jill Hathaway I knew this was a book I had to read. I mean, I've never read anything like it. This girl can slide into other people's mind and she witnesses a murder. No big deal, right? Seriously, though, this story is epic. It's full of deaths and mystery and so much frackin intrigue. How could anyone resist? ¿

    The beginning was really strong. We're introduced to Vee's narcolepsy, and in turn her sliding, which really sucked me in! But then the middle kind of sagged for me. Vee spends a lot of time wishing and wanting. She wishes that she could tell Rollins the truth about sliding, she wants to figure out who the murderer is, and she wishes people would consider the prospect of a murder instead of suicide. It killed me because it's like, Girl, you've got this incredible skill and you're not even trying to utilize it. But once she realized she could use her gift to help her solve the mystery, things got much more interesting. All of a sudden, everyone was a suspect. As the story unfolded, though, it was pretty obvious who was guilty and his or her motivations.

    I simultaneously liked and disliked the ending. I mean, it was really intense, but it almost felt like I was watching a scary movie. You know the whole, "DO NOT GO UPSTAIRS. DON'T LOOK IN THE CLOSET! TURN AROUND. RUN. RUN NOW!" kind of thing. Sometimes I thought that Vee was kind of dumb. Everything was right under her nose the only way she saw it was with a big neon sign. At first, I wasn't pleased with the ending, because I thought this was going to be a standalone, but when I discovered it is a series, I thought it was all wrapped up quite nicely. Still, there are more things I want to know. Like, why does she slide? Is there a way she can control it? And did the very very very ending mean what I think it did!?

    I thought that the characterization was executed pretty well, for the most part. Vee may not be the brightest, but I do love her background story and the way that, even though her sister is a complete brat to her, she is still always there for her and eager to protect her. Rollins was my favorite, of course. He was mysterious, but not in a way that we didn't get to know anything about him. He was sweet and obviously really cared for Vee. I hope there is a buttload more of him in the sequel. Zane was an okay character. We learn a few major things about him but for the most part we don't get to know him at all. There was a case of insta-love with him, but the romance doesn't play a particularly prominent role in the book, so it's not as annoying as most cases.

    All in all, Slide by Jill Hathaway was a quick read with an interesting premise. I will definitely be looking forward to the sequel. Although I wasn't particularly blown away by the book, I think it's a book that appeals to everyone, and I'd recommend you give it a shot!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Slide by Jill Hathaway is entertaining but in my opinion I would

    Slide by Jill Hathaway is entertaining but in my opinion I would have LOVED it if Slide gave a little MORE! Slide was a fast read, a great story and gave a mystery suspense feel, but there was just not enough depth into some aspects. I would have liked to know more about Zane, Rollins, Vee's mother, or even Sylvia herself. Though predictable in the outlining of the mystery of whom the murderer was the out laying of the story was enjoyable. Vee was kind of dense in some parts (i.e. her best friend and her boyfriend), but I liked her voice and she's not a bad but rather a likable character. I really enjoyed the foreground of the loss and impact of Sylvia's Mom had on all of them. I always relish tear jerkers! It is what gets me in the mind set of what I am reading. =)
    The prospect of "sliding" into someone else is gripping and can easily grasps your interest. It's definitely a new take on the saying -- "try being in someone else's shoes".
    I hated the ending, but not in the way that you would think. I hated it because I SO did not want it to end that way. In all weirdness I wanted Vee to end up with the other guy. Least to say I cried my heart out for the poor unfortunate boy's fate.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Summary: Vee's sister's best friend just killed herself, exc

    My Summary:

    Vee's sister's best friend just killed herself, except that she didn't kill herself. Someone slit her wrists for her and wrote the note. How does Vee know? Well she saw it from behind the eyes of the killer. But who's gonna believe her? She doesn't even know who she slid into that night, doesn't know who the murder is. She has to find the murder herself because she tried to tell her dad once about the slides and he sent her to a shrink. No way is she gonna repeat that disaster. With no one to trust and her best friend Rollin acting weird, Vee turns to the new guy, Zane, for comfort.

    My Thoughts:

    3 stars - a good read

    The idea of sliding into someone else and observe that person is a new idea that I haven't seen done before. I was excited to dig into this one because it seemed so different and I really enjoyed that aspect of the book.

    Vee has tried to tell her father about what happens to her when she just passes out but he thought she needed to talk to someone about it. Not quite the reaction Vee was hoping for. This isolation at dealing with her "disability" forces Vee to grow up a lot. She is a very strong teen that has had to deal with her mother's death, a distant father and a younger sister that needs her a lot right now. I was very happy to see a strong female lead.

    The book draged some for me. Vee spends a lot of time trying to figure out who really killed Sophie. It isn't until she decides to see her sliding ability as an asset that the book pickup and the pages flew by. The story itself was a mass of clues that through suspicion on everyone possible except for maybe one place. Yeah, I had it figured out ahead of time but I enjoyed the unfolding of the story anyway.

    The characters were interesting. I wish we had learned more about Zane. He felt vague to me. Rollin was a fabulous character and I loved him. I am hoping the ending meant what I thought it did. Speaking of the ending, the story was nicely wrapped up but it could easily have a sequel.

    This is a good read and if you enjoy YA it would be a good choice.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3