BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Slightly Married (Bedwyn Family Series)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Wonderful

    This is my 5th Mary Balogh. I absolutely loved this book. Start with One Night for Love, then Summer to Remember (Summer introduces you to the Bedwyn family). Incredible books!! And this one is also incredible. MB's books will have you crying, laughing, feeling. MB really delves into the emotion of the male lead, Aidan, in this book, which I absolutely loved. I can't wait to read S Wicked and S Scandalous. I do hope she writes all of their stories. Wulf needs a book!!! I'm intriqued and a little saddened by his story, so I'm hoping for a book about him. MB writes with deep emotion, not just a lot of empty sex. You feel the emotion. A lot of authors leave you empty. Not MB.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Nice Couple----Nice Story.......................................

    Nice Couple----Nice Story...................................................................
    Just when you start to feel sorry for Eve because she is being walked all over she spunks up and puts everyone in their place.  Loved that about her.   Aiden was  honorable and caring.   A great knight in shining armour.   Can't wait for Wulf's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Loved this

    A

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Loved the story! Very likeable Heroinne and Hero.

    Loved the story! Very likeable Heroinne and Hero.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Keeper for the Library

    This was a wonderful story about a soft hearted women with a penchant for taking in misfits, and her marriage of convenience to an officer fulfilling a promise. Although the marriage of convenience angle is visited alot with regency romances Balogh makes it work. The entire Bedwyn series is wonderful, and the last one, about the oldest brother Wulfric, happens to be my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Worth repeating

    As near perfect as the romance genre can offer... yes genre fiction is built on the manipulation of formulaic elements, but Balogh is a master manipulator. I love this series for its exploration of love in all its many guises, not the least of which is the love among siblings. Eve and Aiden are admirable but thoroughly, humanly and delightfully flawed people. It has been as enjoyable watching them grope toward love this second time as it was the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Great story!

    Good story! I like reading series romances very much. I like really getting to the know the characters from more than one book. The Bedwyns are an odd mix. You like them and dislike them at the same time. However, Colonel Aidan was charming in his gruff manner. He is one of those men with a soft underbelly that few people see or even know exist. Eve, the heroine, is able to get through his tough outer core. (For example, he seldom smiles, but when he finally does, it means all the more.)
    I also liked the heroine, Eve. I find her sweet and tough at the same time. I very much liked the scene when she goes to meet the Queen.

    The Duke of Bewcastle is another interesting character. He is the oldest in the family with a lot on his shoulders. I understand the last book in the series is about him and look forward to reading it. He is even tougher than Colonel Aidan so it should be good. However, I believe in trying to read series books in order so the Duke's book will have to wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG, This is So Stupid

    OMG, this was so stupid. First, it's one of those "marriage of convenience" stories set in Regency England with the most contrived device I've seen even. Unless the heroine marries within four days, she will lose her inheritance and her estate--turning out her unemployable servants as well. The scene with the servants featured dialogue that went like: "Oh, but you're such a good cook, you'll have no trouble finding another place." "But Miss, once they find out I worked for that brothel..." Another servant had been a poacher; another is, shall we say, mentally challenged; another has one-arm and she was going to buy him a neighboring estate to establish a home for fellow disabled veterans. I could hear the sound of the smallest violin playing. Oh, and did I mention the two small orphans and elderly aunt taken in by the heroine? Even the dog had only three legs and one eye. Stopped at page 48. First of a series--I won't read more of it--or the author. EVER.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Read this Balogh series!

    I consider this the first book in the "Slightly..." series. Aiden is the soldier of the Bedwyn family and takes his oaths seriously. He has promised to protect Eve and gets more than he bargained for. The progression of events that lead them to a happy ending are not expected. After you read this story and get a taste of the Bedwyn family, you'll want to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Start

    I liked this book. This family has potential. Both and Aiden and Eve were believable and they made a good couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    so so

    I was dissapointed by this book, I liked Eve, but Aidan had no personality, there was no passion between the two, and I very much disliked all the Bedwyn brothers and sisters. I have no plans to read the rest of the Bedwyn storys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    Recommend

    I've read Mary Balogh's Bedwyn series out of order, but have enjoyed this book the best so far! Again, the author has very strong character development, a good plot, and excellent dialogue. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series and hope they live up to the quality of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Just ok

    I love historical romances, but this one was just ok. The plot was good, but I never felt them fall in love. That was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    JungHyun Nam

    Yes, It is very delicious story. I like Aidan's love for Eve, based on responsibility. That is reliable. Who can resist such kind of love?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    A truly marvelous book

    Slightly Married is an absolute delight...Eve and Aidan seem to be star crossed, no love between them...just honor and necessity,due to a death too soon...but then they begin to really SEE one another.. this book kept me enthralled to the last page... good for you, Ms. Balogh...Will look for another title of yours....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    slightly missing...

    Beautiful protagonists with many great qualities but I feel the author made their intimate encounters too cold, with no passion. They did love each other and you can read it about it but not truly feel it. Overall, I liked the story but I feel it was lacking something. And why did he have to be ugly looking?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Beautiful Story!

    This book has one, if not the most heart-warming stories I have ever read. The ending was so wonderful that I wanted to cry. If you love Cinderella stories, I really recommend this novel. I can't wait to read the next story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4