Customer Reviews for

Slightly Scandalous (Bedwyn Family Series)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    I loved this one!!!!

    I couldn't put this one down. My second in the Bedwyn series and I loved it. I liked the fact that it didn't follow the normal form for regency romance and put the lady always in the right. Freyja was always putting her foot in her mouth. But as strong a personality as she is it never stopped her from standing up for herself or others. Joshua is funloving and the perfect guy for her, for the simple reason he not only loves and accepts Freyja as she is , but he delights in her and is not afraid as, you understand through the book, most are. He challenges her and she him and through their love and understanding they compliment each other. I also thought it fitting that Freyja should find her love the way that Kit (A Summer To Remember) found his.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Great

    I love this series....Freyja's story lives up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Regency romance

    Like her five siblings, Freyja Bedwyn enjoys independence, freedom, and adventure, the very traits that the Ton detests in a woman. Still with four wild brothers as role models, Freyja does her own thing in spite of the aristocracy frowning at her scandalous behavior. His family believes he needs to be married, a state they ignored until he gained the title when his uncle passed away. However, as he visits his grandmama in Bath, Lord Joshua Moore is tired of his family's effort to find him a wife.<P> While Joshua flees the latest matchmaking machination, he meets and pleads with an amused Freyja to hide him. When they talk, he offers her a deal. She pretends to be his fiancee so that he can have a little relief from the marriage mart and she can use that cloak to go on an adventure. Freyja accepts. However, neither Freyja nor Joshua expected to fall in love, an emotion putting a cramp on what they thought they desired.<P> The third 'Slightly' Regency romance is a fun tale headlined by two strong, stubborn, yet seductive stars. The story line is amusing, as neither Freyja nor Joshua wants to fall in love. Though in many ways, Freyja is a female version of her brother Rannulf (see SLIGHTLY WICKED), fans of Mary Balogh, the sub-genre, or just a delightful entertaining novel will appreciate this fine tale.<P> Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Favorite so far in the series!

    I think this is my favorite of the series so far. I liked the characters a lot. I think Joshua was charming and he geniunely liked Freyja as a person. Freyja is a unique female for her time period. She is very fiesty. Unfortunately, she is also stubborn and should have realized Joshua was sincere sooner. Nonetheless, it was a good read and I am enjoying the Bedwyn series very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Fun Romance

    I loved this book. This is probably my favorite of the Bedwyn series. Freyja Bedwyn is a strong character that is truly a woman ahead of her time. She is also vulverable and caring. A side of herself she doesn't readily show. The male lead character, Joshua, is handsome and fun-loving. He is also more serious than he appears. The two characters work so well together first as friends then as lovers. This is a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    PREDICTABLE BUT ENTERTAINING

    ANOTHER INTERESTING AND ENTERTAINING BOOK BY MARY BALOGH.THE ONLY FAULT WAS THE PREDICTABLE ENDING.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    A perfect end for Freyja

    I love this book even though it was almost exactly like A Summer To Remeber. Freyja is a wonderfully daring lady of her time and I could barely put this book down much like the ones before. I just wish this wasn't the end of the Bedwyns I mean what happens to Wolfric, Alleneyen, and Morgan. I would really like to read about them as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Another great Bedwyn book...

    Mary Balogh pulls it off again!!! Another great book..Freyja and Joshua are perfect...for each other... But it takes them a while to see it, whilst we thoroughly enjoy the unfolding story with it's sometimes funny, and certainly entertaining pages. Please do not miss this one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Bland

    I think the author didn't know how to develop Freyja's story so she decided to mix the plots of the previous books. Like Lauren in One Night for Love, her beloved marries someone else. Like Lauren again in A Summer to Remember she enters into a fake betrothal and like Rannulf in Slightly Wicked, Josh is visiting his grandmother who is pushing him to marry. There didn't seem to be any passion among the protagonists. Not at all what I expected after Slightly Wicked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Hilarious! Witty! & A Joy to Read!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading tis one..Couldn't put the book down once i started reading abt Freja n her adventures. Looking fwd to reading the remaining Bedwyn family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Absolutely Great!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. At first i wasnt that impressed but it grows on you. I hope that there will be a book about Wulf the eldest brother, he sounds like a very interesting character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    Balogh does it again!

    There was no way to put this one down. You may want to read it alone though b/c of the strange stares you'll get when you get up and cheer or the uncontrolled laughter that is likely to occur. I recommend this to those who have never read a book from the regency genre. It's sure to hook you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Too much like A Summer to Remember

    This mimiced A Summer to Remember in too many ways - both have fictitious engagements, both fighting attractions, both wanting to avoid other potential partners and heartbreak, and the ending sequences were too close. Needed more originality to stand out from the first book of the series of four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    Very funny!

    Freyja is deffinetly a different girl during her time period which makes a character like her even more unique than any other female character. DIDO for Joshua! -Felicia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3