Customer Reviews for

Slightly Single

Average Rating 3
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Honest Account of REAL Female Dilemas

    Wendy Markham's "Slightly Single" is an honest account of real female dilemas. It follws a women named Tracey, who is in love with her actor boyfriends Will, however, he doesnt reciprocate the feelings. When he leaves for the summer, Tracey comes to a realization that things are not what they seem for the relationship- so, 40lbs lighter and looking HOT, Tracey finally figures out what is eating her man....

    A Cute novel that follws real issues that woman face within their relationships everyday. Wendy Markham clearly knows her stuff, and she brings it about in this story. I cannot wait to read the next installment in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Loved it!

    I could not put this book down. I was really disapointed to see the bad reviews this book recieved because I thought it was great. The main character is witty and I could relate to her struggles with 'love.' I'm ordering the rest of the series right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Perfect for a Summer Read

    This book was my first Wendy Markham book and I could not put it down I work 40 hours a week and go to school and I made time to read this book and the second one Slightly Settled. Any woman in her twenties can identify with Tracey Spandolini in some way. It was one of the best books I have read since the shopahloic trilogy and I will certainly be looking forward to what comes next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Couldn't put it down

    I agree -- this is a great beach book. The neediness of the protagonist makes her charming and 'real.' I read the book in one evening. Maybe I enjoed it so much because I felt in tune with Tracey -- more so in this point in my life than in any other. Perhaps I would not have enjoyed the book as much at a different point in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    A decent read

    I started reading this book with high expectations. They were not fullfilled. Tracey is a needy character that i found it hard to relate to most of the time. She is whinny and at times her lack of motivation was really frustrating. There were definate parts I enjoyed and it was a good read but not one I would highly recommend. There could have been more resolution and more action. It wasn't one of those books you can't put down but it was enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    .

    I found I could relate to Tracey. I like how this book is fairly different from others of this kind. It's not nearly as sexual as many of the other books you'll find. I was kind of disappointed with the ending though. It just ended. No explinations. Overall, I say it was a fun, entertaining, clean book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Badly Boring

    Slightly Single has no zip to it. I kept reading hoping the book would get better. There was NO exciting parts to the book. The main character didn't have any depth. She is a typical unhappy woman who likes she is in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    A Great Beach Book

    I really enjoyed this book so much I couldn't put it down! It is definitly a quick read for the beach. I wish Wendy Markham would write a sequel though because it sort of leaves you hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    a little bit of a let-down

    This book was very slow starting, but after about page 100, it seemed like it was picking up. By the time I was almost finished, I felt like I really related to Tracey, the main character. I couldn't wait to find out how it was going to end. With the build up, I expected a dramatic eye-opening ending, but instead it just ended, rather abruptly. I even turned the page, looking for more. Overall, it was a good book, but I wish the end had given me a little more. After investing my time to get to "know" Tracey, I would have liked to have known what happened to her in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    So-so, not as good as i thought, though!

    *******When I read the back of the cover, I thought Slightly Single would be a little bit more involved in Tracey's battle with HERSELF, rather than with Will(her sort of boyfriend who went to persue acting). I mean, it seems throughout the book, Tracey completely revolves her life around him, and the ending was (pretty much) just as I predicted it'd be. I recommend you read it, but it's not my favorite book...overall a good book for people who like romances, but note that it's different than most other books out there... *******

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Slightly Disappointing

    I just finished Slightly Single and I am kind of disappointed. It seemed like through the whole book it was leading up to some dramatic moment and I think the moment at the end that was supposed to be dramatic, really wasn't. It just kind of ended and I just hate it when authors do that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    great book

    This book was excellent. I felt like I was the Tracy in the book. I could totally relate to her character. I struggle with weight, men, and bad jobs. This book was funny and enjoyable. I recommend this to all females.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Excellent fast read!!!

    This book was very interesting to me.. I was going through a similar relationship when I read this book and found it very comforting to relate to "Tracey". The story is very well developed and the characters are believable. I would definitely recommend this book to any woman who is going through some confusion with a relationship...you just might change your outlook on your current situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Didn't get past page 35

    Well, the title says it all. I'm not a big chick book fan, modern romance books...but my sister gave me a few & 2 out of 4 were good. I really liked getting over it & disturbing the peace. The other two, I got to about page 35 on each & quit. That was slightly single & girlfriend 44. I don't know, it might be my mood this week, but this book wasn't "hooking me" It was boring- at least as far as I read. I had a hard time getting into what was going on & the characters. I almost fell asleep. But if you like this genre, try the above two I mentioned, those had the pages flying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    A Good Read-it-in-one-day Love Story

    I found this book at random and this book was very interesting, and I was never bored. I would reccomend it if you are in a sappy or romantic-comedy mood! it is a lot like bridget jones diary, except new York edition!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    Just okay...

    This book was somewhat of a disappointment...I expected to read about a girl who not only reinvents herself but actually becomes a stronger person...not the case with this book. The main character is overly self-depricating and completely lacks self-confidence and then whatever 'strength' she does achieve is still not enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    A Great Read for Woman of All Ages

    Slightly Single is a great book about the adventures of a twenty-something woman trying to reinvent herself for her boyfriend, but ends up finding her true self in the process! This is an excellent book and I could not put it down! I definitely recommend it and can't wait for Wendy Markham to write another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2002

    A very good book

    This book was good. I loved it the whole book was something you could relate to. Tracie could have been you or was probably you at one time. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2002

    Finally! A book every woman can relate too.

    This book is absolutely wonderful. I think every women should read this one. I really related to the main character Tracey. It is nice to know other women fight weight problems, insecurity and loving the wrong men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating mainstream novel

    Twenty-four years old Tracey Spedolini lives in a crummy New York efficiency. She works as a secretary in a crummy ad agency where her boss takes advantage of her. She is fifty pounds overweight and in love with a drop dead gorgeous wannabe actor. <P>After three years with Will, Tracey retains true, but Will rejects any commitment to her. He is doing summer stock in a small town, but refuses to allow Tracey to accompany him there. She is hurt but turns mortified when she finds herself attracted to Buckley, someone she met at a party. Tracey plans to have that confrontation discussion with Will and perhaps step out with the new man in her life. <P> SLIGHTLY SINGLE is a fascinating mainstream novel about a woman starving for love who lies to herself about her boyfriend. Readers will feel the doubts, denial, and discomfort that Tracey suffers from in her relationships with men. Wendy Markham provides an insightful tale about a nice person unable to stand up for herself when the male of the species is unkind to her. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2