Customer Reviews for

Slightly Tempted (Bedwyn Family Series)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely loved it

I laughed, I cried, I loved the characters, and I found their story completely believable. It is definitely a character driven story despite the Battle of Waterloo and feud aspects. Morgan and Gervase were incredibly well drawn characters with personal strengths and wea...
I laughed, I cried, I loved the characters, and I found their story completely believable. It is definitely a character driven story despite the Battle of Waterloo and feud aspects. Morgan and Gervase were incredibly well drawn characters with personal strengths and weaknesses. This is not only my favorite out of the series so far (I've read Slightly Dangerous, Slightly Scandalous, and A Summer to Remember) but is going on my shelf as one of my favorite books overall. This is not one of those romances that prattles on for a couple hundred pages about how hot the hero and heroine find each other, only to throw them into some sort of extraneous mystery or big misunderstanding culminating in one of them almost dying and the other one realizing how they can't live without the other in the end. I enjoy those books but they aren't real to me. This book not only had a great love story but touched me with its considerations of life and death, war and peace, family, class, pain, loss, forgiveness and love. I have no complaint about it except that, like any good book, it had to end.

posted by 1984426 on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fiddle-Dee-Dee

This book had a lot of war and tending to wounded soldiers in it...very Gone With The Wind. I liked Gervase and the feud with him and Wulf. It was alright.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    The best one

    Enjoyed the whole series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    A Worthy Addition to the Bedwyn Series

    Many authors have written of the chaos after Napoleon's escape from Elba and the definitive battle of Waterloo. Mary Baolgh successfully presents her usual unconventional heroine with the trials and aftermath of war. The history is well described, the characters are attractive and the story line holds your attention.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Absolutely loved it

    I laughed, I cried, I loved the characters, and I found their story completely believable. It is definitely a character driven story despite the Battle of Waterloo and feud aspects. Morgan and Gervase were incredibly well drawn characters with personal strengths and weaknesses. This is not only my favorite out of the series so far (I've read Slightly Dangerous, Slightly Scandalous, and A Summer to Remember) but is going on my shelf as one of my favorite books overall. This is not one of those romances that prattles on for a couple hundred pages about how hot the hero and heroine find each other, only to throw them into some sort of extraneous mystery or big misunderstanding culminating in one of them almost dying and the other one realizing how they can't live without the other in the end. I enjoy those books but they aren't real to me. This book not only had a great love story but touched me with its considerations of life and death, war and peace, family, class, pain, loss, forgiveness and love. I have no complaint about it except that, like any good book, it had to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    3 1/2 stars.

    This was really more 3 1/2 stars in my opinion. I liked the historical connection with the Battle of Waterloo. I enjoyed Gervase and loved his French side. (I liked how he continued to call Morgan "Cherie" even after she told him it was not appropriate. Morgan is a honorable girl and I like how she dove right in and helped the soldiers. Finally, I liked their friendship. They were true friends before anything else and I find that romantic.

    However, I only gave it 3 1/2 stars because I wanted a final conversation between Gervase and Bewcastle. It was wrapped up in the end, but not to my satisfaction. Also, Gervase should not have agreed with all Morgan's accusations because not all of them were true. He should have explained sooner than he did. It annoyed me.

    Still, it is a good read and I am anxious to read the next book. I want to find out about Alleyne. I am also very captivated by the Duke of Bewcastle. He has a lot on his shoulders and hides his true self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fiddle-Dee-Dee

    This book had a lot of war and tending to wounded soldiers in it...very Gone With The Wind. I liked Gervase and the feud with him and Wulf. It was alright.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Entertaining

    The book although not as good as some of the other Bedwyn books was very well written and more touching than some of the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Wonderful all the way through

    This so far is my favorite one out of the Bedwyn Series....i absolutely loved it all the way through...i totaly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    wonderful!

    morgan's story is wonderfully written, and the historical accuracy behind the love story makes this book my favorite in the series... the backdrop of napoleon's reemergence and the battle of waterloo are brought very vividly to life, and give this book and edge over the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    First Balogh Read

    This is the first book of Mary Balogh's that I've read. I enjoyed it enough to buy the first book in the Bedwyn sibling series (Slightly Married). This book has a reasonably good plot, excellent character development and excellent dialogue reminiscent of Jane Austen. Would recommend to those who like books that are character driven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    so disappointed

    im so disappointed about this book. it talked too much about war which im not really interested and i felt so bored and just wanted to finish it just for the sake of finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    War and Peace -- A Geat Read

    The is a great installment in the Bedwyn's saga. Probably the best of the 'Slightly' books and as good as 'A Summer to Remember'. The lead character Earl of Rosthorn is captivating and multi-dimentional, not a typical 'rake gone bad,met the right lady and puff.. reformed' that you find in most Regency novels. This character is charming, selfish, honorable and sexy. I could hear 'cheri' over and over again! Morgan Bedwyn is too young to carry off the sophisticated role she is dealt in this novel. That is the only flaw in the book, if she was 22, OK, but 18 year old cannot possibly have that precense of mind and self, but oh well overall it is very good. The pages devoted to Brussels pre Waterloo and the war's carnage are well written and entertaining, it is still light read. There is a bit of Tolstoy's 'War and Peace' here. A definate must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Great Story

    Mary always writes a great story.The Bedwyns have a great sense of character and family.I was a little surprised that Wulf did not have a stronger part in the story. I thought for sure he would have torn Brussels apart looking for Alleyne. Can't wait for Slightly Sinful!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Well worth reading

    In 1815 Brussels, many English aristocrats arrive in the city to be near loved ones getting ready to fight against Napoleon who has returned to Paris. Also in town is thirty year old Austrian Gervase Ashford. At a party, Gervase finds himself attracted to eighteen years old Lady Morgan Bedwyn, but knows she is too young for him until he learns that she is the sister of Wulfric, a man he hates for making him flee England in shame nine years ago. He wonders if he can attain vengeance through the sister and plans to find out.................................. Gervase displays wit and intelligence to Morgan, who finds him quite attracted from the first sensual waltz they shared. As they become acquainted, he keeps her safe when the French assault the city. As Morgan mourns her missing and presumed dead brother, she and Gervase fall in love. However, once Gervase¿s ¿Cherie¿ learns the truth about his original deception, will she ever be able to trust his vows of love again?................................... The fourth Bedwyn Regency romance is an exhilarating tale that brings to life Western Europe during the final stages of Napoleon¿s comeback. The story line is loaded with action though it takes a bit too long to learn why Gervase detests his beloved¿s brother. Morgan is a young delight who brings out the best in everyone she meets. Sub-genre fans that have missed this series will be more than just slightly miffed at themselves as Mary Balogh has written fabulous tales worth reading................................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Romance with Historical Intelligence

    Mary Balogh has drawn characters that develop into interesting intersecting plot lines. This is not just another novel with the names and places changed and the same story lines. There is sadness, warmth, underlying depth, suspense, and of course some surprises. Both families are endearing. Highly recommend this to those who are looking for a different sense in the romance genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3