Customer Reviews for

Slipknot

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First and Last for this author.

    This book was good up until the end. After I finished it I sat back and thought, "That's it?" I had never read from this author before and I have to say that I was very disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Excellent reading, well written and keeps you attention. Plan t

    Excellent reading, well written and keeps you attention. Plan to read more of Linda Greenlaw's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    This was a great page turner and read at one sitting. While reading this novel I constantly pictured the odd ball characters and how this would be directed and portrayed by actors on the big screen. This would a good movie I thought with the exception of the lame ending. Throughout the novel the narrator referred to "her mentor" but this character was never really established however. Great book for someone who likes a good story and has time because you will not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Kept me guessing until the very end!

    I love a good whodunit and this was a good one. It wasn't dramatic, just a nice easy read. The characters were down to earth, everyday people. Just when I thought I'd figured it out, I'd realize no, I hadn't. It wasn't that the ending was shocking, it was just that it could have been anyone, none of whom would have been surprising. It was hard for me to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    Not a very well written story

    This book starts out pretty good. The plot then becomes so unbelievable it's a waste of time to finish the book. This book is sitting at home and I can't bring myself to throw out a book; however, in good faith I can't donate the book to the library either and have someone as disappointed as I was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Knowing the scene it is close to reality in Coastal Maine

    Just finished the book in three days, could not put it down till I found out how it would end. I have read every book Linda Greenlaw has written and enjoyed them all. Life long resident living in Maine I could understand how such matters happen! Plus Linda Greenlaw graduated from Coly College in Waterville, Maine, so you know she has to be talented!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    Will Jane sleep with the fish?

    Jane Bunker wants a quieter, more sedate life. She accepts an entry level position as an insurance investigator, leaving behind the violence and murder in her Florida job as a homicide detective. Along with the lazy, hazy everyday life of the small Maine fishing village, she finds murder, conspiracy, and arson some trade off. Linda Greenlaw couples her skills as a seafaring captain with knowledge of the people who take a living from the ocean¿s harvest and introduces us to the grit and underlying currents of seaport life and those who live it. Good characters good plot good action and suspense very good read. Reviewed by Wanda C. Keesey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    just okay

    Let me begin by saying I don't have much patience for crummy books, but this one didn't get tossed. I haven't read any of Greenlaw's books before, so I didn't know what to expect. This book was not up to the standards of other mystery writers I've read, but I give Greenlaw credit for trying. I didn't much care for Jane, her main character-I didn't care for how much was made of her tight-fistedness, which borders on real stupidity sometimes the male characters seem interchangeable, and the few females seem to be dismissable except for the coffee-shop waitress, who just needs a little bit more personality in order to be a great character. I wonder how much insurance investigation work is available in such a small town-unless she gets assignments further afield, it's likely that her penny-pinching will come in handy. I liked the older couple who are Jane's landlords and 'adopted' parents, though I had my suspicions about them, which I thought was a good way of making the reader wonder 'whodunit'. Most of the action is unrealistic, though-it was hard to believe some of the situations Jane was in. Still, it's not a total waste of time, and maybe her next book will be more polished and pulled together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1