BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sliver of Truth (Ridley Jones Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Good

Strongly recommend reading "Beautiful Lies - Ridley Jones Series #1" prior to reading this one (Sliver of Truth). I wish I would have read them closer together because Sliver of Truth refers to events from Beautiful Lies - this way you aren't wondering why, where, how c...
Strongly recommend reading "Beautiful Lies - Ridley Jones Series #1" prior to reading this one (Sliver of Truth). I wish I would have read them closer together because Sliver of Truth refers to events from Beautiful Lies - this way you aren't wondering why, where, how come... Definitely would recommend this as a read -- keeps you interested all the way through.

posted by sadeev on April 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Waste of Time

I listened to the abridged audio version of the book. It was terrible. The plot had holes a truck could drive through. Maybe if I had read the first book or heard the full version it would have made more sense (not sure it would have been better, but maybe made more ...
I listened to the abridged audio version of the book. It was terrible. The plot had holes a truck could drive through. Maybe if I had read the first book or heard the full version it would have made more sense (not sure it would have been better, but maybe made more sense). But at the end of the hours I spent listening to this all I could think was "What a waste of time." What exactly went on besides a seemingly inexplicable string of murders, I will never figure out.

posted by 1658402 on August 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Very Good

    Strongly recommend reading "Beautiful Lies - Ridley Jones Series #1" prior to reading this one (Sliver of Truth). I wish I would have read them closer together because Sliver of Truth refers to events from Beautiful Lies - this way you aren't wondering why, where, how come... Definitely would recommend this as a read -- keeps you interested all the way through.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Great Read

    Could not put this book down once I started. However I strongly suggest you read Beautiful Lies first as this is a continuation of that book. You can read this without reading the 1st but will not get the full impact.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    My new favorite author!

    This book has it all. I loooved it. I have been waiting to find this kind of book. This book is fast paced, has interesting characters, action, romance and intrigue but what distinguishes this one is that it's not over the top. The characters are believable and not perfect. You won't be disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Great Read

    Loved this second book from Lisa Unger. There were twists and turns I was not expecting. You will love this thriller and like the first you will not be able to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Discovery of Truth

    In this sequal to Beautiful Lies, the main character, not knowing how she came to her "parents" causes immense curiosity, a thirst for knowledge, and an acceptance of the truth, once found. The ending is offbeat, yet real. The writing style of this author is quick, funny, clear without overburdening the reader with excessive details. You are able to grasp the story and still be fulfilled that it is not a movie of the week Hollywood manuscript.
    Hopefully, this author will continue to produce more good reads.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you enjoyed Beautiful Lies then you will love Sliver of Truth.

    I found it fun to pick up the book and catch up with what was happening in the live of Ridley Jones. It is a good sequel and ties up a few missing ends. I enjoyed reading a book written in the first person. You don't find that too often.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A FINELY NARRATED EAGERLY AWAITED SEQUEL

    Here `tis - the eagerly awaited sequel to Lisa Unger's debut thriller 'Beautiful Lies,' and it's another corker. Protagonist Ridley Jones, whom we first met last year in 'Beautiful Lies,' had hoped to go on with a somewhat normal life - as normal as life can be for one whose face graced front pages after she saved the life of a toddler - but that is not to be, not even close. We hear, 'I bet you thought you'd heard the end of me. You might have at least hoped that I'd had my fill of drama for one lifetime and that the road ahead of me would not hold any more surprises, that things would go pretty smoothly from now on. Believe me, I thought so, too. We were both wrong.' Ridley's boyfriend, Jake, has moved out of the apartment they shared and the two of them have tried various ways to reconnect without a great deal of success. One might have thought a trip to Paris would do the trick! As if this breach in their relationship were not enough, Ridley has discovered that the man she thought of as Uncle Max is actually her biological father. Although Max is now dead, she's in the position of trying to 'recast' her uncle as her father. Max had played a pivotal part in the development of Project Rescue, an organization devoted to getting the Safe Haven Law passed in New York State. Under this law mothers are allowed to abandon their children at specified Safe Haven sites if their children are abused or the mothers fear they will be. As with so many thing there's an up side and a down side to Project Rescue. It seems that some doctors and nurses have been selecting certain children they think will be victims of abuse, then in cooperation with criminals abducting them and selling them to well-to-do parents. Myra Lyall, a reporter for the Times, was covering this story - until she was murdered. Ridley has picked up some photos that she and Jake had taken recently - in Paris, in Central Park. The photos reveal more than she remembers - there's a murky figure in almost all of them. It's a familiar figure, one she identifies as Max. How could this be when he is dead? Broadway, television and film actress Jenna Lamia does a dynamite job of vivifying Ridley with all of her fears, suspicions, and bravado. She effectively captures a range of emotions in an estimable voice performance. - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An engrossing thriller

    New York City reporter Ridley Jones thinks she resolved the identity of her biological father who was the now deceased Uncle Max Smiley, head of Project Rescue that saved abused children from nasty parents. Ridley was a rescued child placed in the home of Ben and Grace Jones, who adopted her. However, Ridley uncovers the fact that Project Rescue also abducted children from safe harmonious households to place them in the homes of clients.------------------- Now FBI Agent Dylan Grace takes some photos from Ridley that shows Max or a doppelganger in the background of the pictures. The Feds seek Max, who they believe is alive, for his alleged abductions of women that he sells as sex slaves and his baby vending business. Dylan believes Ridley is the link that will lead him to the recently vanished New York Times journalist, Myra Lyall, whom the special agent thinks Max kidnapped to sell to the highest bidder--------------------- Everyone including Ridley, Dylan and her on and off boyfriend Jake seek to find Uncle Max, who is the apparent head of several nefarious rings. The sort line is action-packed from the moment that Ridley collects her photos in Manhattan and never slows down until the final confrontation. However, the motives of the key characters are difficult to fathom until late in the novel even for those who read Ridley's previous discoveries about her parentage (see BEAUTIFUL LIES). Still this is an engrossing thriller that has the audience soaring along side the heroine on both sides of the Atlantic as she tries to learn whether Uncle Max lives.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    Couldn't put this one down loved everything about it. Characters were wonderful vant wait to see what lisa unger comes out w/ next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    A Waste of Time

    I listened to the abridged audio version of the book. It was terrible. The plot had holes a truck could drive through. Maybe if I had read the first book or heard the full version it would have made more sense (not sure it would have been better, but maybe made more sense). But at the end of the hours I spent listening to this all I could think was "What a waste of time." What exactly went on besides a seemingly inexplicable string of murders, I will never figure out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good first book does not always mean the sequel will be the same.

    Beautiful Lies told a pretty good original story. Sliver of Truth just twists the first story - and not in a good way. I love books that turn into series, but this book had nowhere to go from the start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great follow-up

    I read the first book with the lead character, Ridley and was glad to have this second book to continue with. I am a Lisa Unger fan now, need to find other books by her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Light reading

    Enjoyed it, but not as much as the first book, Beautiful Lies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Awesome - Part 2!

    Even better than the first -- got me hooked and never let go. Couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Even better than the first one!

    Sliver of Truth was even better than Beautiful Lies! A clever thriller!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Pretty Amazing

    Enjoyed this 2nd book in the series very much!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6