Customer Reviews for

Slob

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

slob is the best

when i read slob i thought it was boring at first but omce i got past the 3 third chapter there was no turning back READ THIS BOOK

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I like this book i would let kids read this 11 and up due to the swear words

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    slob is the best

    when i read slob i thought it was boring at first but omce i got past the 3 third chapter there was no turning back READ THIS BOOK

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Perfect for young readers

    I had read this book about 15 times and every time i read this it makes me smile

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Read it

    I couldnt put it down

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    One of my new fave books!

    Slob is such a good book! I love, Love, LOVE it. It's so eventful and it defs. keeps you on your toes! :D

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    Highly recommended

    Owen Birnbaum is 57 percent fatter than the average twelve-year-old. But this isn't self-pity speaking. It's just the facts. When Owen introduces himself in the first pages of this novel, the reader immediately knows we're also meeting a boy with better than average intelligence and a wry sense of humor.

    Along with battling his weight, Owen has some other problems. One is the puzzle of who keeps stealing his Oreo cookies from his lunch sack. Another is the bullying gym teacher who revels in humiliating the fat kid. And the most important is building Nemesis, which will help him solve a mystery that took place two years ago.

    At times Slob touches on serious matters no twelve-year-old should have to deal with. But Ellen Potter handles them in a sensitive manner, and Owen's pain rings believable and true. I really enjoyed this well-written story, and I hope we get to see a lot more of Owen Birnbaum, who's truly a delightful character.

    Reviewer: Alice Berger

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    by: chocolate thunder

    Slob is well written and is great read for all ages. Ellen Potter did a fantastic job of narrating and describing how Owen, a very hefty and smart boy, tries to use his smarts to create Nemesis and find the one responsible for taking his Oreos. If you are one for adventure and mystery then this is a great book for you. Once you start it you become entangled in the story and can't stop till you know all the answers.
    Some great things about the book is, it is a nice steady pace and nothing really happens out of the blue. Ellen wrote it to where some part she was narrating herself then would go back have Owen narrate. I felt like this really helped me keep things in line. She did a good job describing all of her characters and how the interact and how they look.
    However, in some parts you don't know why Owen acts or does something strange until the near end so you might be a little fuzzy on why he feels sick when he pulls out a slip of paper with SLOB written on it until he tells the situation later. There were also a couples parts where I think she rambles on about nothing then tries to jump back into the story but it doesn't affect the story really. It just kind makes you go "What?". Other than those couple sections it is very easy to read.
    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that needs a book for an assignment, for fun, or for a book club. Ellen Potter is a great author and you will with no doubt enjoy it. It is fun and entertaining and it will keep your attention start to finish.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Is it really 14$?

    My librarian described it to me and it sounds really good but my friend has the book and it says $4.99 on the back. On my NOOK it says $13.99. Is there a mistake?

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    HOLY CRAP!!!

    This was an AMAZING book!!! Kids of all ages should or have someone read this to them! A must read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    :)

    Boring at first but once u get pasted a few chapters then it will get interesting.
    Loved it and u will too!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good book

    I like this book i would let kids read this 11 and up due to the swear words

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Amazing!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿$?

    I loved it

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Haha!

    I love Ellen Potter and her sense of humor. Great book for young readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great book

    The narrator,(the main character owen), is just fun to listen to. I love ellen potter. This is an awesome book and a reccomend it fora nice,fun, relaxing read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    That's weird.

    This book is at my local library. :0

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Megs f Megs rev

    It soooooooo good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Best Book Ever

    This book is about an orphan Owen Burnban and his sister. Owen is always getting bugged at school. People call him swears and do other mean things to him. He tries to accomplish making a satellite so the TV could work. His sister Jeremy is in a group of girls who want to be boys so they wear boy's clothes and have boys haircuts. They both have no mother or father all they have is a mom who adopted them named Zelda. And Owen only has one friend Izzy I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Slob

    This book has a lot of meaning to it and can actually happen in real life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!!!

    This book was AMAZING! I couldn't put it down. You should really read this book! Everone who loves mysteries should read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Funny+funny

    This+book+is+fun+and+heart+pounding+at+the+same+time.+It+tells+you+not+to+judge+a+book+by+its+cover+and+love+who+you+are.+But+I+still+think+it+could+have+been+put+in+better+context.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Love this book!!!! Read it!!!!

    Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down! I laughed out loud and just loved it! If your looking for a funny quick read defenitly read it!! I recommend it 100%!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4