BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sloppy Firsts (Jessica Darling Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(242)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, very relatable

I absolutely adore all of the Jessica Darling books! I've seen some reviews that were negative that concentrated on things that I thought made the book realistic. I first read this book in 8th grade, and things about Jessica that seem a little immature now (shallowness...
I absolutely adore all of the Jessica Darling books! I've seen some reviews that were negative that concentrated on things that I thought made the book realistic. I first read this book in 8th grade, and things about Jessica that seem a little immature now (shallowness, preservation on the move of a friend, excessive cursing) really resonated with me then. I aged as Jessica in the books did, and I greatly anticipated each one coming out. I think the books also get better as they go on; I'm not sure if this is due to the aging of the narrator or due to improvements in McCafferty's skill. Either way, I think the series is awesome.

posted by fridaysinjune on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

One of the worst books i have ever read, & i've read a lot of books!

What did I dislike about this book?
-She and her friends are constantly swearing and cussing. Alot of the F word.
-She thinks about sex all the time. She decides to have sex with a guy who uses her and she barely knows him.
-She is not a good role model in general.
...
What did I dislike about this book?
-She and her friends are constantly swearing and cussing. Alot of the F word.
-She thinks about sex all the time. She decides to have sex with a guy who uses her and she barely knows him.
-She is not a good role model in general.
-People who say "couldn't put it down!" I am shocked how many good reviews this book got. I could barely keep it open!
-After a few hours of wasting my time reading this book you find out the end isn't even worth it. Horrible ending.

Don't read it.

posted by 1161819 on March 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Excellent, very relatable

    I absolutely adore all of the Jessica Darling books! I've seen some reviews that were negative that concentrated on things that I thought made the book realistic. I first read this book in 8th grade, and things about Jessica that seem a little immature now (shallowness, preservation on the move of a friend, excessive cursing) really resonated with me then. I aged as Jessica in the books did, and I greatly anticipated each one coming out. I think the books also get better as they go on; I'm not sure if this is due to the aging of the narrator or due to improvements in McCafferty's skill. Either way, I think the series is awesome.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

    Ever get the feeling you're trapped in your current life, and won't be able to get out for, oh, all of eternity? Are you bored with your so-called "friends," bored with your so-called good grades, bored with your so-called life? Then you'll identify with SLOPPY FIRSTS, the witty, moving debut novel from author Megan McCafferty. <BR/><BR/>SLOPPY FIRSTS is the story of 16-year-old Jessica Darling, a girl who feels completely out of sync with everyone around her with the exception of her best friend, Hope. When Hope suddenly moves out of their Pineville, New Jersey, hometown, Jess feels even more depressed than ever now that she is forced to deal with all of the people in her life that annoy her without her best friend. Faced with vapid, materialistic girls at her high school, her dad's desire to make her the best track star that ever lived, and her new desire to be with the school's resident pseudo- intellectual bad boy, Marcus Flutie, Jessica records all of her hilarious, rambling thoughts in her journal for all readers to see. <BR/><BR/>SLOPPY FIRSTS is a creative and honest book about what normal teenagers experience in their day-to-day lives. It will please not only young readers, but also adult women who want to relive those cringe-worthy high school years, and look back on the memories. It's heartbreaking, fresh, and sure to become a classic among readers who like a little angst in their lives.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    alright, first of all, this book is incredible. basically its a love story. and it happens to be captivating enough that you cant wait to get through the parts about anything else, but its really one of the only true books ive ever read. some people think its funny, and it is, but its not hysterical. its not that funny because its honest. there arent that many honest books out there i feel like... here's one that really gets to you, i think the character is relatable because shes blunt. not only does she go through the average teenage things but shes one of the only characters who calls out everyone else's crap. she doesnt try to cover it up at all. and the other great thing is that she doesnt always know everything thats going on and as a reader your rooting for her so much because shes so much like everyother teenage girl out there(or me at least)- but its far from boring. its exactly what it should be. and marcus flutie is amazing. i want him... hahah no, seriously though. i love that there's an edge to him but he tries so hard to make jess happy. its a wonderful love story about the romance of hurting in so many different ways- and for so many types of people.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Anything but sloppy! Sharp and snarky and perfect!

    Jessica Darling goes about her life in her "just darling" high school bubble, but inwardly she is screaming for relief from the stupid teenage drama of Pineville High. Her best friend Hope has moved away and left Jessica to battle insomnia, gossip, lack of period, parental expectations, and her older sister's wedding all by herself. To top that, the enigmatic Marcus Flutie - whose reputation reeking of drugs and sex precedes him - becomes inexplicably the one person Jessica can turn to.

    I've been wanting to read this series forever and finally found all the books at the same time. Jessica Darling is the epitome of a teenager who feels lost amid the high school routine, but doesn't know what she's looking for. Written in journal form, I got sucked into Jessica's honest and snarky observations of the life around. sloppy firsts will definitely appeal to anyone who has ever felt like a freak of nature that no one will ever understand - with Jessica, you'll find good company!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Favorite Book Ever

    I started reading the Jessica Darling series the day this book came out. I finished this book in just a few hours; it was impossible to put down!!! The pages are worn from traveling to the bath tub and everywhere with me. I have highlighted passages through the entire book. I felt like I was reading my own diary! A must read for anyone going through or remembering teenage angst!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    Since I had to explain to my wife that my latest reading excursi

    Since I had to explain to my wife that my latest reading excursion was not in fact a between-the-sheets adventure with multiple terms for male and female genitalia, I might have reached my erotica novel quota for the month of May and possibly June as well. In case you haven’t already figured it out, this is not erotica, nor is it even classified as romance. But I was romantically involved with it all the same. SLOPPY FIRSTS punched my two front teeth out and slapped me hard on the cheek. It lifted my feet six inches off the ground, and turned me upside down. Had I managed to offer the world a coherent thought or two, I probably would have followed it up with a giggle.

    Jessica Darling might have been the greatest thing to happen to my otherwise miserable existence. She actually made me happy to be alive, and I even managed to smile for once in my dejected life. She made me want to attempt night running and swoon over poetry and wander the hallowed halls of my youth aimlessly and have crushes on Spanish teachers and pretend that I had a big sister named Bethany who was so full of herself that her head was a ticking time bomb and run through malls…and yes, it really was that flipping good.

    The voice was filled with sardonic poetry and wisdom and wit and charm, and she sounded older than she really was, even if her body had the developed pace of a kindergartner. Whether it was Burke or Bridget or Marcus or Manda or Sara, I was hooked, lined, and snickered, and I found myself reeling in a big mouth bass.

    Whether I actually did or not is hard to say, but I found myself bouncing along the halls with my head held high and my corduroys on rye and a picture perfect wave across the sky helping me find my way home.

    If I really stop to think about it, I probably shouldn’t have fallen in love with this novel, but you can’t always choose what books you love, and in this case, I tried to say no, but I ended up saying yes. Over and over and over again.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect content

    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect contentment I felt while being invited to stay in the wondrous world of Jessica Darling, queen of sarcasm and protagonist extraordinaire.
    In her five-book series Megan McCafferty allows us to follow Jessica on her way from being a teenager to a young woman, with all the responsibilities and decisions awaiting her in future. It was great to witness everything going on in her life over such a long span of time. I didn't want to miss one single of her thoughts. Because even though I am not a teenager anymore, it felt so good to read on page what makes these years so angstful and exciting at the same time.

    Every character contributes to the masterpiece of fun and hilarity -without ever forgetting that there's also the serious side of life- the Jessica Darling series stands for. I loved them all! Marcus Flutie, Jessica of course, her best friend Hope, the parents, her sister and her niece, to name only a few.
    Marcus Flutie is the main love interest and an extreme case of changeability. It's obvious that he hasn't found his place in life yet, always restless, always changing his mind and his heart about his future, his goals and even Jessica. I'd subtitle this series 'The metamorphosis of Marcus Flutie'. Alternative and surely not mainstream, he always seems to be on an experimental trip. We don't get him more often than we do, but when we connect, it's in all the right ways.
    Jessica is witty and her humour is the best. I laughed, I cried. I can’t believe how she always said and thought exactly what I was thinking. I wish I read this series much sooner. A revelation to every young adult reader!

    Jessica and Marcus make mistakes, get together, seperate again. Life comes in the way, wrong decisions play a part. It's just too much to point out every turn their relationship or lives make. There are so many scenes that need to be all time favourites! You. Yes. You. Marcus Flutie you stole my heart.

    We are very lucky, because Jessica is keeping a diary. And the writing is as appealing as it is, because the story is written in the style of numerous diary entries. It has a very personal character and feels like we are just inside her head, going through everything she experiences and feeling as much love for Marcus Flutie as she does. Her writing is changing over the course of the series, especially in the fourth book, which is great, because it's a fab way to express change in her person or her ways of thinking.

    This series is a guide for all young, sarcastic, lovable and insecure girls out there! Megan McCafferty, I thank you for all the hours of laughter and tears your novels brought into my house. You are a marvelous writer and I'm expecting to see many more books of you on my favourite shelves in the near future. I hope that we can find a version of that incredibly admirable and lovely Jessica Darling in all of us.


    5/5 ***** JESSICA DARLING series - Clever, romantic, sarcastic &amp; so much more. YA at its best!

    SLOPPY FIRSTS recently had its 12th anniversary. Unbelieveable, but true. This series is in no way inferior to contemporary YA relatives in its originialty or actuality. This is a series that needs to be handed down to your kids, they will surely love to read about that Jessica Darling when they are growing up. And for everyone who hasn't read this series, I suggest you catch up on it now. It doesn't matter if you are 13 or 30, you will get and love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Wonderfully easy to relate to

    We've all had that bad boy phase and we've all lost a best friend. Wether it is to them or you moving or because of a fight the feelings the same. Miss. Jessica darling is the ideal idea of a simple teen. This is such a great book i couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Great

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    I love this book and the whole entire series! I couldn't put it

    I love this book and the whole entire series! I couldn't put it down.
    Jessica Darling's point of view is exactly how it feels to live in the
    Suburbs of New Jersey! I recommend the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Megan McCafferty is great!

    I love Megan McCafferty's Jessica Darling series. Sloppy Firsts is a great beginning to this series. She introduces great characters and keeps you interested in their lives throughout the series. In this first book, Jessica Darling (main character) is lost without her best friend whose family moves away as the book begins. She is a funny and smart character, and the way she deals with her new situation at school is very entertaining. I love that this very book-smart character finds that she has a lot to learn when it comes to understanding herself and those around her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Adorable.

    Sloppy Firsts is one of the most entertaining books I've ever had the pleasure of reading. Jessica Darling's observations on the people and the world around her had me nodding my head in agreement, giggling in amusement, and putting my hand over my mouth due to some of the shocking twists that the story offers. The characters are original and the book captures feelings that we can all relate to. It's a fun, satisfying read that I think every girl should experience. I must say, though, that I wasn't fully satisfied with the length of the story. I wanted more! But that's probably why a Second Helpings exists. I can't wait to dive into another installment of Jessica Darling's hilarious insights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    Fantastic Book!!!!

    I LOVED this book. The characters were real, as was the story line. I feel like Jessica Darling, and most of the other characters, could have been people at my own high school. Some people don't seem to like it, and if you like bubble gum, everything turns out okay, perfect characters kind of stories, this book probably isn't for you. But if you want a real storyline with realastic characters, you should give it a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    High School, Reality or Fantasy?

    Have you ever had a friend move not only to a different school, but to a different state? Jessica Darling's best friend Hope moved away when her dad got a new job. Jessica and Hope have been best friends since grade school! They are inseparable. Even though Hope moved, Jessica e-mails her almost everyday. One thing I like about this book is how it relates to real life high school experiences. It does this by referring to the ¿cliques¿ and gossiping done by all the ¿upper crust¿ kids. The Clueless Crew is a perfect example these girls are in the upper crust and gossip all day about people and what they did. Another thing I like is the amount of detail in the book. Everything that happens goes into great, extensive detail to help you understand what is going on. At Bethany's wedding it tells you everything from the ceremony to the reception it goes into every detail imaginable. I also like how even though Hope moved, she still remained friends with Jessica. To me this shows what Best Friends are! Just because someone moves away, doesn¿t mean you should forget about them completely, you should stay in touch always! Lastly, I like how all the drama in the book is exactly like the drama that happens in High School. Bridget went to acting school over the summer, leaving Burke in Pineville. When she returns back to Pineville she finds out Burke was cheating on her all summer with her supposed Best Friend Manda. This is relative to something that might happen in reality at high school. Sloppy Firsts is a highly recommended book that once you start reading you can¿t put it down. It reminds you of all the adventures and teenage dramas you went through or are going through in High school. This book puts your mind back in the teenage years again! Everyone should read about how Jessica Darling dealt with all her drama, from Hope moving, to her sister¿s wedding and all the other problems in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    SO FUNNY!

    Ha...oh what a fun read! The language was a little much for me sometimes, but oh, it made me laugh out loud!! Definitely recommend it to friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    love!

    i loved this book!! it was my favorite of the series...i could totally relate to jessica...ANDD this book totally broadened my vocabulary!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    UHH-MAZE-ING!!

    This book was absolutely amazing! It's one of my personal favorites! I wasn't really into reading and I picked up this book just to take a look at it. I was instantly hooked. I highly recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    'a headline...for my review'

    My opinion is that Megan McCafferty really knows her stuff! She is so real in her writing, very candid, very actual/factual. She gets into your mind, the mind of her audience. By the end of this first book I was in love with the character 'ms. Jess Dahling', the book, and I was on to the next one in the series. She stays true to her story. She really follows through, which makes you Yearn for the next book! There is a constant struggle in Jess, she wants to be an optimist but things keep coming into her path that just wont allow her to quite reach that bliss! I think I finished all four in less than two months, they are Truly, that awesome! I suggest reading it, and let it go if you dont like it. If you love it, like me, go on to the next three, its wroth it. When I started reading, it was like, wow, Megan knows me! Of course she doesnt but her writing is that real and honest! She captures her audience, a diverse audience! I am in my twentys, yet I was able to give this book to my high school aged cousin! I encourage you to... Go and read :'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    amazing

    i loved this book i couldnt put it down.its a typical life of a teenaged girl.this book is full of love and realtionships and some dirty little secrets.it explains highschool sooooo well.right now im reading her second book which is the sequel to this one called 'second helpings'. following that is 'charmed thirds' and 'fourth comings'. i cant wait to read them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Laugh out loud funny, and not easy to put down

    i loved this book it is the only book i have ever read were i actually laughed out loud while reading it. jessica, the main character, is relatable and you can't help but love her. i definately recommend this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13