Customer Reviews for

Slow Burn

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down

I loved this book. I literally read it in a matter of hours. I only wish it had been longer. I can't wait till she writes more about this family. I feel as if I have known them all my life.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Slow Burn

i love all of ms. garwood's historical romances but i have not been able to get into her contempory novels. i wish ms.garwood would write more great historical romances.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Meets Your Expectations! Have you ever felt frustrated! Life no

    Meets Your Expectations!
    Have you ever felt frustrated! Life not going your way? Have I got a story for you! In Slow Burn the fifth novel in the Buchanan series we Kate MacKenna and her sisters.
    Synopsis:
    It all started with the wonder bra! Kate was on her way to an exhibit when an explosion occurs. She wakes to find paramedics and policemen looking her over. Kate brushes off the explosion as nothing more than bad luck. She starts to put it behind her when asked to come to Boston by her friend Jordan Buchanan. Kate meets up again with the Buchanan family who she knows well, and one in particular brother Dylan Buchanan. After one night together she leave quickly but her luck doesn’t change. Who is out to harm Kate? Will she and Dylan hook up?
    My Thoughts:
    If you are excitedly waiting for Julie’s next novel. Then I suggest you either revisit Slow Burn or read it for the first. I happened to be able to listen to the audiobook this time around. I have listened to others on audio that are by Julie Garwood and this one is the best! I thought the reader did a great job!
    Ms. Garwood tells stories with much humor and wonderful plot. She employs a form irony which pokes fun at her characters which creates an entertaining read.
    One side note if you have followed her other novels then you will know that they relate back to one another.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    I WANTED MORE

    I liked Kate and Dylan's story. The Plot was good, but typical. The woman in danger and the love interest ready to protect. I did want more love scenes with the couple too. there were not enough and it would of shown how much they really wanted and burned for each other. The love scenes left me hanging for the exception of the first one of course. It would start, and then left you hanging wanting more. But it was good anyways. It kept me reading. Overall the story was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Julie Garwood: Slow Burn

    Very good plot, easy to keep up with relationship of players in the story, nice suspense and surprise, fun & playfull relationship between main caracters. Having the characters from one book in following books adds alot of interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Garwood has new audience with contemporary novels

    I love all of Julie Garwood's contemporary novels. I have had a hard time getting into her historical novels, therefore I wouldn't write a review on it, because I don't enjoy them. However, I think that the contemporary novels draw an entirely new audience. It seems the Garwood fans of old prefer her historical books and did not enjoy her newer novels. I LOVE THEM! I appreciate the modern day romance/mystery. I do agree they tend to be typical hero/heroin someone is trying to kill her/he saves the day, but Ms. Garwood has captured a new audience with the Modern day Buchanans! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Better

    As most of the long-time fans, I loved her historicals and still reread them quite often. I've picked up a few of her contemporary books, and while I haven't liked most of them, I thought this one was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    Love those Buchanans

    I loved this book. I love all the Buchanans and cannot wait to read about the rest of them. I would like to see a little more about the rest of them in the new books though and what has been happening in their lives up to date. Also would like one on Noah Claybourne. That will be a great one. I love anything Julie Garwood. She has such a dry sense of humor in her women characters, its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Slow Burn

    How many people can say their lives were saved by a wonderbra? Kate MacKenna may be the only one who can do so, and that's just the first in a series of events that will rock her world in multiple senses. Shortly after narrowly escaping death by explosive, Kate learns her late mother's debts may completely wreck the lives of herself and her sisters, then, she has to deal with a best friend's surgery. It's not too surprising that she gives in to one night of passion with that friend's brother, a sexy buddy who becomes more, for just one night. When she comes home, yet another explosion sends Kate back to the hospital, and brings that sexy buddy back into her life. Dylan is convinced someone wants Kate dead, as strange as that seems to her, and a letter inviting her to the reading of a long-lost uncle's will only makes him more certain of that. It becomes Dylan's number one priority to keep Kate safe and find out who wants her out of the way, and why. Suddenly, she has become far more important than he ever believed she could be to him, and Dylan does not want to lose her now. ................... **** This is Ms. Garwood's best book since Murder List. Humor, love, warmth, and thrills are blended perfectly. The mystery is a little easy to solve, but the characters drive the plot, making you care about how they reach the solution, more than what the solution is. Make this a keeper on your shelf. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Julie Garwood does it again!!

    I also enjoyed the Historical novels, but I also look forward to her current novels. I will buy anything Julie Garwood because she has the experience to keep the reader interested and I know she is an awesome writer. I have read all her books and wait not so patiently for the next to be published. Keep up the good work Julie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2005

    Another Great One By Julie

    I always love books by Julie Garwood, and this one was no exception. It's an excellent read that you won't want to put down. Can't wait to see if we get Jordon's story next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    A STERLING VOICE PERFORMANCE

    From the startling video taped words spoken by an old curmudgeon on the verge of death to the varying voices of the MacKenna clan Joyce Bean gives one more sterling performance in this intense, emotion filled story. Compton Thomas MacKenna has made fortunes and lost them then made them again. Since his doctor's have told him that the end is near he has gone about putting his affairs in order, a rather surprising order. Some of his heirs who suspect they'll soon be very wealthy are in for a surprise, while Kate MacKenna is in for the shock of her life - the old man is leaving the majority of his estate, some eighty million dollars, to her. Is that why someone or perhaps some people want her dead? Kate's an achiever. She runs a very profitable fragrance company in South Carolina. However, business is on a bit of a slippery slope. Further she almost loses her life in an explosion at what was meant to be a soiree celebrating an artist's work. For her, life definitely doesn't seem to be as good as it once was. Then, Kate receives a telephone call from her best friend, Jordan, who has been hospitalized and scheduled for surgery in Boston. Of course, she hops a plane and hurries to be with her friend. The operation is successful. Kate is so relieved that the adrenalin that has kept her going seems to disappear and she succumbs to the charms of Jordan's brother, Dylan. After a bit of love and rest she returns home only to find that her woes aren't anywhere behind her. In fact, now it's a life and death problem. Give a listen - you'll enjoy it. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Great Book

    I am so glad that this book is so much better than her other contemporary books. I loved her historical novels, and then her contemporary books came out and I was disappointed. It did get better with Murder List and then I read an excerpt for Slow Burn and I was hooked. There is much more of a relationship with Kate and Dylan. I am disappointed that Jordan was fizzled out. A Jordan story would be interesting, especially putting in her overprotective brothers! Maybe even hooking her up with Noah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2