BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Do this to get strong

It's unfortunate that people admit to not reading Hahn's book and still insist that 'this type of exercise doesn't work.' To bad these folks are to ignorant to give Slow Burn a try. This approach to exercise works, is efficient, and time saving. When you don't have '...
It's unfortunate that people admit to not reading Hahn's book and still insist that 'this type of exercise doesn't work.' To bad these folks are to ignorant to give Slow Burn a try. This approach to exercise works, is efficient, and time saving. When you don't have 'all the time in the World' to hang out in a gym Slow Burn is an excellent resource to have to stay in shape.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't take my business

From the examples that I have seen it works, and it works well. By examples I mean people on the program. This program is like most any program, if you do it correctly it will work, if you do it according to your own methode you get disappointed. Sounds like the crit...
From the examples that I have seen it works, and it works well. By examples I mean people on the program. This program is like most any program, if you do it correctly it will work, if you do it according to your own methode you get disappointed. Sounds like the critics are gym owners or other 'professionals' whinning about loss of revenue. And they (or he posting multiple reviews) are so proud of their opposition to this poor excercise that they won't post their name. Whatever you choose, do it right, get instruction, and be consistant!

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Do this to get strong

    It's unfortunate that people admit to not reading Hahn's book and still insist that 'this type of exercise doesn't work.' To bad these folks are to ignorant to give Slow Burn a try. This approach to exercise works, is efficient, and time saving. When you don't have 'all the time in the World' to hang out in a gym Slow Burn is an excellent resource to have to stay in shape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Book Publicist Says This is The Real Deal!!

    When something works I say it is 'The Real Deal!'. Fred Hahn's book shows us his great philosophy in exercising for only 30 minutes a week. How do I know? Because I use this method at Fred's studio.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    Don't take my business

    From the examples that I have seen it works, and it works well. By examples I mean people on the program. This program is like most any program, if you do it correctly it will work, if you do it according to your own methode you get disappointed. Sounds like the critics are gym owners or other 'professionals' whinning about loss of revenue. And they (or he posting multiple reviews) are so proud of their opposition to this poor excercise that they won't post their name. Whatever you choose, do it right, get instruction, and be consistant!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    I am generally a skeptic when it comes to "breakthroughs" in anything. Before buying this book, I visited Serious Strength's website and looked through the free online materials. The program is all that it claims to be - a safe, effective, and efficient way to improve health, fitness and strength. There are no gimmicks or quick fixes. Follow the techniques outlined in this book and you will achieve results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    The Best Objective, Truthful, and Logical Path to Exercise

    This book is incredible. If you are looking for a better way to exercise, and have been searching beyond the gym rats and club owner¿s viewpoint, this book will give you the knowledge that you so earnestly have sought out. When I "stumbled" upon the SuperSlow principles I was quickly drawn to this book. Upon obtaining this book I read it in one weekend, and couldn't wait to get back in the "gym" (and out in 30 minutes) with the "best" workout I ever experienced. To me the cost of the book and the time spent reading it has paid off 10,000-fold in time and health. What great satisfaction to understand one's body, and be proud of not wasting one's time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Slow Burn is a Fitness Revolution

    This is a great book and must have. Easy to read and easy to understand the fitness principles behind slow burn. It gives great insight on the methods behind slow burn and excellent examples on how to apply the slow burn method.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    The Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    A helpful book with an interesting take on the perceived benefits of known workout routines. It's clear; it's a fast read; and it conveys it's information in a friendly and personable way. Doctor recommended, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Lackng the Energy of Movement for Living

    I have to admit I haven't read this book and perhaps never will. I have however, seen how the ideas in this book is applied by a believer of these authors (Protein Power) when working out. The mere concept of slowness that the title suggests is disturbing. 'Results' has been the buzz word to getting healthy and fit. Yet, it is proving to be an obstacle to what people NEED more of - movement. People might want results in '30 minutes a week' but unfortunately only at the great expense or should I say excuse of moving less and believing this is best in their lifetime. We need to move more, not less. We all need to practice moderation in all things, not adhering to one extreme (e.g., short duration workouts) or the other (e.g., long duration workouts).

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    No

    The claims that a slow-burn increases metabolism and fights osteoperosis are not backed up by scientific fact. Also, the idea that one 30-minute workout once a week is better than regular, standard lifting also is not proven. The problem with these books is two-fold: a. they take a theory already out there and present it as a 'revolution', and b. the author becomes the sole authority on whether it works or not. There is just no study that can be shown that slow-burn works the way the adherents say it does. And, there is at least one study that shows it doesn't. When confronted with that evidence, the authors and proponents of slow-burn will say, 'well, I just KNOW it works better'.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    I've heard this a million times...

    I used to be in the same boat, training 4 days per week, multiple sets per exercise, etc. However, once I was introduced to superslow, I learned 2 things: 1. Total muscular exhaustion feels amazing 2. Once a week is more than enough. I loved the feeling and the results so much I became a trainer. The claims made by this book are backed by 2 studies performed by doctor Wayne Wescott at the Springfield, Mass YMCA (feel free to look them up). Don't be confused, the intensity required for this program is beyond most standard programs, but the results speak for themselves. It's hard to understand how people can say SS is a crock when people continue to get results from using the method. This book is a great read, however I prefer 'The Power of 10' by Adam Zickerman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    There's nothing new here folks. Super Slow weight lifting has been around for decades. It's just a slow motion version of High Intensity Training (HIT). There's nothing 'revolutionary' about it at all. The book is full of hype about how slow lifting is safer and more productive than other forms of weight lifting, and is the only form of exercise you need. The problem is that none of these claims can be substantiated. There's no research to back them up. The authors even claim that many other forms of popular exercise are dangerous and should not be done. All of this is straight out of Hutchins book and just does not bear close scrutiny at all. You can hurt yourself doing anything, even super slow weight lifting, and it's just wrong to try to convince people that the aerobic exercise they've been getting is harmful to them and could be replaced by weight training once a week for 20 -30 minutes. I found the claim that you should not sweat when lifting weights to be very amusing. In short, if you want to give this a try go ahead, but I and lots of people I know found it to be relatively unproductive and quite tedious. Weight training should be fun and enjoyable, and this is anything but.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    16 weeks and I feel great

    My neighbor and I started this workout as soon as the book came out and I am in the best shape of my life. It is amazing that 30 to 40 minutes a week is all I need to get the most out of my workouts. But don't be fooled, it isn't easy. The workouts are very intense. I'd recommend a training partner for most people because it forces you to do your best and your partner can also help you time your workout and tell you if you're losing your form. Which is important especially near failure. When it's getting tough, and it will if you're doing the workout correctly, just remember that you only have to do this once a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    Oh no, not again!

    Yet another book purporting that super slow weight training is safer and more productive than conventional weight training. The authors also state that 20-30 minutes of this is all the exercise that anyone needs, and tha tother forms of exercise are less effective and certainly more dangerous than slow weight training. None of these are even close to being original ideas. Slow training has been around for many decades, so saying the methodology in this book is revolutionary is simply not the case. But the biggest problem here is that nothing is substantiated. There is no proof that slow training is safer or more productive. Or that it is all that you need to do as far as exercise is concerned. Or that other forms of exercise are inferior and dangerous. In fact, I and everyone I have ever spoken with who have done slow training has found it to be very tedious, unpleasant and not at all effective for building muscle. I have lifted weights in about every way possible over the past 25 years, and slow lifting was by far the least productive thing I have ever done. There are also medical considerations. Slow lifting causes pretty extreme blood pressure elevations which are much worse than what happens when you lift at a regular speed. If you have hypertension or vascular disease than you should really reconsider lifting this way. If you want to lift once a week, a normal speed full body High Intensity Training routine, using machines or free weights, will take you 30 minutes and will do much more for you than the slow motion stuff. If you don't believe me, try it for yourself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    Super Slow did nothing for me. Nor did it do anything for a bunch of peole I know. We all gained much more strength doing other routines. What really irks me about this book is that it makes all these unsubstantiated claims about how slow lifting is more effective and safer than other forms of weight training, and is the only exercise you need. None of this is in any way proven. The authors just say it, as if it's a fact. It certainly is hard to believe that 20 minutes of slow weight lifting a week is all the exercise anybody needs, especially in our society where heart disease is overwhelmingly the biggest killer, and about 40% of the population is obese. To try to discourage people from engaging in other forms of exercise is wrong. Most people here and around the world would benefit from a lot more exercise not less. I've lifted weights for 25 years in almost every way possible, and I can practically guarantee that you will not continue to make progress for very long doing this routine, especially once a week.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    A short time ago, I was a bit overweight, not feeling that great, and had both the need and desire to do something about it. I looked into quite a few books, but thought that this one looked well balanced and honest. Within a month, following the simple programs in the book, and including the nutrition, I¿ve not only lost weight, but, I've also built up my major muscle groups. To see these results myself, plus the reactions of those around me, at over 40 no less, is great! Enough said. If you follow the program, you will see results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    This book really is the ultimate in fitness. The language is straightforward, clear, and concise. I'm currently doing the Slow Burn Workout and I find it challenging and very effective. You don't need to use heavy weights as you just need to focus on proper form and "zoning in" on the muscle(s) you're working. You can almost feel your body taking shape as you progress through the workouts. Also, the descriptions and images of how to perform each exercise are very well done and help you focus on exactly what you need to do to maximize your efforts. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone looking to get into serious shape the right way. Many thanks to Mr. Hahn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    Doesn't Explain It Properly--

    Without a trainer, you'd never get the form down so you could work out once a week from this book. Once a week slow motion workouts only work with absolute, meticulous attention to every element of form in each rep, and with real intensity. It makes sense--if you're just going to work out 15 minutes a week, every second has to be done right. I bought the other new Slow Motion book, too. Power of 10. I found they took the time to explain every single step. And it was much easier to follow, not boring. You can tell the author was involved. I think the diet doctors must've written this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Best of the slow cadance workout books

    Slow cadence resistance training is far and away the best exersize protocol ever developed, and Fred Hahn's book is a great introduction to the benefits of this exercise regimine. Slow Burn is far superior to Power of Ten. Hahn's book succeeds by giving the reader a well-researched and not overly technical redering of the subtleties of slow motion weight training. His book is an excellent introduction to this terrific exercise protocol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    No more 25 miles per week!

    When you're 24yrs old and have chronic pain in your knees from runnning, it's time to look for something else. I get the same incredible High from this work-out and look forward to it twice a week. The mini-soreness I get everyday reminds me that muscle is being built and helps turn down chocolate chip cookies. I'm glad I found this so young. No more wasting time at the gym.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    After two kids and a back injury, I had resigned myself to flab and frailty. The SlowBurn approach gives the reader convincing evidence of the benefits of strength training in boosting metabolism. Walking on a treadmill wasn't doing it for me. Within two weeks, my tight clothes were loose and I was bouncing up stairs, which had been difficult. The exercises are explained well, and the diet information is first rate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2