Customer Reviews for

The Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Do this to get strong

It's unfortunate that people admit to not reading Hahn's book and still insist that 'this type of exercise doesn't work.' To bad these folks are to ignorant to give Slow Burn a try. This approach to exercise works, is efficient, and time saving. When you don't have '...
It's unfortunate that people admit to not reading Hahn's book and still insist that 'this type of exercise doesn't work.' To bad these folks are to ignorant to give Slow Burn a try. This approach to exercise works, is efficient, and time saving. When you don't have 'all the time in the World' to hang out in a gym Slow Burn is an excellent resource to have to stay in shape.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't take my business

From the examples that I have seen it works, and it works well. By examples I mean people on the program. This program is like most any program, if you do it correctly it will work, if you do it according to your own methode you get disappointed. Sounds like the crit...
From the examples that I have seen it works, and it works well. By examples I mean people on the program. This program is like most any program, if you do it correctly it will work, if you do it according to your own methode you get disappointed. Sounds like the critics are gym owners or other 'professionals' whinning about loss of revenue. And they (or he posting multiple reviews) are so proud of their opposition to this poor excercise that they won't post their name. Whatever you choose, do it right, get instruction, and be consistant!

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Book Publicist Says This is The Real Deal!!

    When something works I say it is 'The Real Deal!'. Fred Hahn's book shows us his great philosophy in exercising for only 30 minutes a week. How do I know? Because I use this method at Fred's studio.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    I am generally a skeptic when it comes to "breakthroughs" in anything. Before buying this book, I visited Serious Strength's website and looked through the free online materials. The program is all that it claims to be - a safe, effective, and efficient way to improve health, fitness and strength. There are no gimmicks or quick fixes. Follow the techniques outlined in this book and you will achieve results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    The Best Objective, Truthful, and Logical Path to Exercise

    This book is incredible. If you are looking for a better way to exercise, and have been searching beyond the gym rats and club owner¿s viewpoint, this book will give you the knowledge that you so earnestly have sought out. When I "stumbled" upon the SuperSlow principles I was quickly drawn to this book. Upon obtaining this book I read it in one weekend, and couldn't wait to get back in the "gym" (and out in 30 minutes) with the "best" workout I ever experienced. To me the cost of the book and the time spent reading it has paid off 10,000-fold in time and health. What great satisfaction to understand one's body, and be proud of not wasting one's time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Slow Burn is a Fitness Revolution

    This is a great book and must have. Easy to read and easy to understand the fitness principles behind slow burn. It gives great insight on the methods behind slow burn and excellent examples on how to apply the slow burn method.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    I've heard this a million times...

    I used to be in the same boat, training 4 days per week, multiple sets per exercise, etc. However, once I was introduced to superslow, I learned 2 things: 1. Total muscular exhaustion feels amazing 2. Once a week is more than enough. I loved the feeling and the results so much I became a trainer. The claims made by this book are backed by 2 studies performed by doctor Wayne Wescott at the Springfield, Mass YMCA (feel free to look them up). Don't be confused, the intensity required for this program is beyond most standard programs, but the results speak for themselves. It's hard to understand how people can say SS is a crock when people continue to get results from using the method. This book is a great read, however I prefer 'The Power of 10' by Adam Zickerman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    16 weeks and I feel great

    My neighbor and I started this workout as soon as the book came out and I am in the best shape of my life. It is amazing that 30 to 40 minutes a week is all I need to get the most out of my workouts. But don't be fooled, it isn't easy. The workouts are very intense. I'd recommend a training partner for most people because it forces you to do your best and your partner can also help you time your workout and tell you if you're losing your form. Which is important especially near failure. When it's getting tough, and it will if you're doing the workout correctly, just remember that you only have to do this once a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    A short time ago, I was a bit overweight, not feeling that great, and had both the need and desire to do something about it. I looked into quite a few books, but thought that this one looked well balanced and honest. Within a month, following the simple programs in the book, and including the nutrition, I¿ve not only lost weight, but, I've also built up my major muscle groups. To see these results myself, plus the reactions of those around me, at over 40 no less, is great! Enough said. If you follow the program, you will see results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    This book really is the ultimate in fitness. The language is straightforward, clear, and concise. I'm currently doing the Slow Burn Workout and I find it challenging and very effective. You don't need to use heavy weights as you just need to focus on proper form and "zoning in" on the muscle(s) you're working. You can almost feel your body taking shape as you progress through the workouts. Also, the descriptions and images of how to perform each exercise are very well done and help you focus on exactly what you need to do to maximize your efforts. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone looking to get into serious shape the right way. Many thanks to Mr. Hahn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Best of the slow cadance workout books

    Slow cadence resistance training is far and away the best exersize protocol ever developed, and Fred Hahn's book is a great introduction to the benefits of this exercise regimine. Slow Burn is far superior to Power of Ten. Hahn's book succeeds by giving the reader a well-researched and not overly technical redering of the subtleties of slow motion weight training. His book is an excellent introduction to this terrific exercise protocol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    No more 25 miles per week!

    When you're 24yrs old and have chronic pain in your knees from runnning, it's time to look for something else. I get the same incredible High from this work-out and look forward to it twice a week. The mini-soreness I get everyday reminds me that muscle is being built and helps turn down chocolate chip cookies. I'm glad I found this so young. No more wasting time at the gym.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    After two kids and a back injury, I had resigned myself to flab and frailty. The SlowBurn approach gives the reader convincing evidence of the benefits of strength training in boosting metabolism. Walking on a treadmill wasn't doing it for me. Within two weeks, my tight clothes were loose and I was bouncing up stairs, which had been difficult. The exercises are explained well, and the diet information is first rate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    From a very long time women were told that looking good was of utmost importance. This was without regard to health or fitness and how age affected these parameters. Witness the whalebone and other types of corsets, the spike heeled shoes and the numerous weight loss programs on the market (some of which are downright dangerous). Now there is a book that allows women of all ages to remain fit and healthy for a lifetime. I am certainly going to recommend this book to all the women I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    After trying many different workout "schemes" with limited success, I bought this book and began doing SlowBurn workouts. I'm now only working out for only 30 minutes in the gym for each workout, and I'm stronger than I've ever been. I've never experienced progress like this before. The workouts aren't easy, but they're over quickly, and I'm able to spend more time with my family without feeling like I'm compromising my health and fitness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    What more do I say except, life has done to me what is does to many people. Ages you, puts a couple of pounds on you and makes you feel pains you haven't felt before. For the past 10 years I have had chronic back pain, which not only put a damper on my physical activites, but also made me think what everyone else usually does, "I need to see a doctor" Well, the doctor told me as he would anyone else, "loose weight" Eaiser said than done. I have tried several different workouot protocols, joined various gyms and even spent thousands of dollars on personal trainers over the years. All of which still left me in the same position as many people, many dollars poorer and still in pain. Till I came upon Serious Strength and Slow Burn. Where strength training not only provided relief of my aching back, but actually showed me a return on my effort in a safe and effective manner. Life is simple, you get out of it what you put into it. Thanks to Fred's book and workout program I have been able to enjoy life more without the constant aches of aging. Thanks again for changing my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Slow Burn Fitness Revolution

    I thought to myself 30 minutes a week, come on!! And would you know it, I have seen a vast improvement in not only my strength, but my energy, endurance as well as my ability to keep up with my active children. Since adhearing to Mr. Hahn's excersize methodology, now having those games of catch with my kids won't leave me useless afterwards!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1