Customer Reviews for

Slow Ride (Rough Riders Series)

Average Rating 3
( 2055 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(500)

4 Star

(363)

3 Star

(477)

2 Star

(336)

1 Star

(379)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Try her books!

This is a short that doesn't give you much unless you've read the other books. I suggest you read them. She has a way of pulling you into her stories even if you don't like erotica,(skip those parts) she has real life adventures that leave you saying 'I can believe that...
This is a short that doesn't give you much unless you've read the other books. I suggest you read them. She has a way of pulling you into her stories even if you don't like erotica,(skip those parts) she has real life adventures that leave you saying 'I can believe that'. Her men are alpha males, and the women are not pushovers nor do they read like male characters. I started with 'shoulda been a cowboy' and left with a new understanding of how a handicap person might feel. 'Branded as trouble' dealt with recovering alcoholic and how his family didn't trust his sobriety, I never realized that someone would have trouble all their lives after they quit. Her sense of humor is great in my book. I'm pretty sure I have all of her books, :)

posted by 8877 on December 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

so dumb

why read this bull crap

posted by 7828761 on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Quick and steamy - but beneficial to read with series.

    For full review including excerpt and dialogue highlight, please visit Reader's Edyn at: ~~~ readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com ~~~ Review: ~~~ ...This novella picks up at Keely and Jack’s wedding. The blushing bride … well that is a terrible description because clearly Keely doesn’t have an inclination toward embarrassment … wants nothing more than to escape her wedding with her husband and get down to having sex hours ago! Jack is nothing but patient, having planned a surprise for his new wife, and is driving Keely to madness. She walks in on relatives getting’ some at her own wedding and that about does it. She then decides to take matters into her own hands to drive her dear husband to madness. So the story follows them from their wedding reception to their honeymoon destination. And I would venture to guess that they lean toward a bit of a volatile relationship at times. Keely knows what she wants and when Jack does not deliver, look out! ~~~ I noticed that some have rated this story low. To them I say, pay attention to the reviews before you buy it then. It was very obvious to me that Slow Ride was part of a series. I read the reviews and I knew this much before cracking the virtual cover. And sometimes, let’s face it, mid-series just doesn’t work. So the lack of story line in this book and the less than endearing characters are described as such only by those who have failed to read the series. In total, I think the story was less than 20 pages. That should tell you a lot right there. I think that this story was intended not so much as a whetting of the appetite for non-readers, but a bit of fun for the readers who are already committed and involved in Ms. James work. Why bash a story because you failed to read the rest of the series first? Seems rude. Therefore, I am rating this story 3 wings because I am on the fence. I didn’t love it and I didn’t hate it. Knowing my personal tastes and tendencies, I believe I would have enjoyed it quite a lot had I read the series first. It is a personal handicap – not one that should reflect on the author – at least not until I read a full-length novel to better judge my thoughts on her work. I will say that as a Samhain author, Ms. James stands a good chance that I will approve. *whispers* I yet to dislike an author from Samhain. ~~~ So for those who have a compulsive tendency toward reading in order, skip this book until you are ready to read it. For those who don’t care and just want a quick, fun, sexy read loaded with characters getting down and dirty, read it. It’s fast, it’s fun, and it’s stimulating. If you are not into cowboys, romance, and smoking hot sex scenes – you are in the wrong place! I do know that at some point I would like to read the Rough Rider series in order and then read this novella again. I am thinking that my view would likely change. But worry not … I will be sure to let you all know when I do. ~~~ (Digital copy purchased for personal library.)

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Umm

    I can see how some would like it but it is too... informative about...stuff for a young audience but a thrilling novel for the older age group

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    probably good with series

    I didn't read the rest of the series, so I wasn't as involved with the characters. I probably would enjoy it more if I read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    3 star

    Ok book but just to short for me to likr thought there would have been a better ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    It's Lorelei James............

    Entertaining writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    I'm not sure exactly what my thought process was, but I read thi

    I'm not sure exactly what my thought process was, but I read this one without having read any of the books in this series. I know this was a free novella on Amazon and this author comes highly recommended by trusted friends. So, I gave it a go. 




    I admit that I was a tad bit lost, not knowing any of the other characters or even the main characters of this novella. But, what I saw, I did like. Keely and Jack are fun, flirty, and know how to push each others buttons. *wink* They think back to some of their most favorite sexy times and I almost felt left out. Now, I want to go back and read through the series, just so I can get to their book and live their sexy times with them! Is that weird? Probably. 




    Anywho, this was a really speedy read for me and I liked it. I think I read it a half hour. I'm not typically into Western Romances, but I'd be willing to give this series a go. There is a simplicity and romance to the authors' writing that just made this novella enjoyable. It definitely left a smile on my face. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Good read

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Short read

    Not as good as the other books in the series but not terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    silly story

    Very sensual very short story. Not my favorite

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    pretty good book

    mainly about their wedding but it's a decent read slightly erotic love story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe I expected too much from such a short story but Slow Ride

    Maybe I expected too much from such a short story but Slow Ride was a disappointment for me. The plot, as unambitious as it was, had possibilities for sizzle and charm. But I found the characters so bland it was tough to get turned onto the story at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Could have been longer jmm 44

    It would make more of a story if it went on--it just kind of stopped and left the reader hanging

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Short and decent

    Was not great but was readable and delivered what it promised

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Short

    Ugh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Loved this series!!

    Lorelei James has a real steaming winner with this series; one is better than the next. However, this one was not a favorite. I've read them all; I'm now reading the latest, #12 - WOW!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Cute

    Its another cute short book. I wish there were full novels on here!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Love, sex, marriage

    Capturing the reader from the first page but too short

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    ok book

    Kind of short. BUt ok

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    A FUN sTORY

    I liked it but thre wwas way too much bad words. Its was a little annoying btht way

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    What is this? A sample?

    Maybe this is false advertising or whatever, but I'm under the impression that this is supposed to be a book and not a sample. What I read so far is engaging, if you're into the harlequin type of romances; it sounds pretty good, but I'm disappointed with the download. Thank God it's free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24