Customer Reviews for

Slut!: Growing Up Female with a Bad Reputation

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Slut

    I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to see how some people (by people I mean women sicne men don't have a harsh name like "slut") are treated. Being in high school I hear words like "slut, whore, skank and sleez" thrown around all the time. I know sometimes a girl might have earned that rep by sleeping around but, in my experience most people say it when they are fighting. The book really opens your eyes to how ladies feel about there high school reputation when they become middle aged and how having sex one time influenced the way there fiance or boyfirend looked at them. This book is really going to make me think twice before I say something about some girl whether she earned that "slut" name or not.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Think Twice!

    I would recomend this book to anyone willing to learn about the word "Slut". When my teacher first told me about this book it stood out in my mind. I wanted to read it but so did so many other people. I had to actually purchase the book. The word slut can have so many different meanings and this book covered every single meaning. A lot of girls call other girls "slut" when they are fighting and sometimes as a term of endearment. Either way it's still a hurtful word. This book has changed my prospective on the way girls are treated. I will not use the word "slut" unless it's really needed in the situtation. If a girl sleeps around i think she deserves the name. It's not right to sleep around. Sex is not a game.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    not too easy

    When i first got this book, I thought that it was going to be a sap story about one girl. I am going to be completely honest, before this book i was a sexist 18 year old male growing up thinking that women are less equal than men, and everytime i heard someone of being called a slut or a whore that i looked at them as that, never considering anything else. This book isn't just a story, its realistically telling you the way women of all ages are looked upon and how they get the term "Slut" and what it really does too a person. After actually reading this book, i look at things alot differently. I have not used a term like slut since. I can honestly say that this book will change your perspective if you are just like me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    calling all sluts

    Overall, I thought Slut! by Leora Tanenbaum was just okay. I know they say not to judge a book by it's cover, but i'll amdit that I did. By its bright cover I expected it to be a colorful book full of intruiging stories and words strong with female empowerment. However it seemed more like it was a book designed to epmower sluts. The book justified that it was okay for women to sleep with as many men as they liked. There was also a lot of excess information. In between stories i was informed on such information as the history or orgasms. However, this wasn't a horrible book. Even though it was a little longer than i would have liked, nestled in the pages was some fantastic information The book adressed the sexual double standard which is the undeniable fact that women and men get treated differenly in sexual relationships. It was very relatabale and brought up topics i have commonly contemplated. This book reassured the fact why I don't trust guys in the sexual area and why sex is such a confusing issue for America's youth

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    MC-4-EC

    As i read the book "Slut!" not only was i impressed by how the author captured the exact essence of high school, but she also did a great job of picking out stories that could relate to everyone. She related womens right with womend morals and i find that to be spectacular because we deffinently, even now-a-days don't see completely equal rights. In this book she herself was a victim of this "slut" bashing and talks about how not even kissing a boy can make you a slut just because you are so prude. As wrong as it sounds most of this book is based on rumor. Not that her book was based off that, it's just that is what the kids do. Even as you get older girls nicknames from high school stay with them. It's not easy to shake something that effected you for many years of your life. i find this book to be very empowering and encourages women to speak up and take a stand for themselfs. This was a great book and i highly recomend it, if not for self encouragement, just as a book to help culture yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    A New Persective

    I am a girl in high school, and I think this book is one that really opened my eyes. I've called girls sluts plenty of times, sometimes as a joke, sometimes not. If not, it was always done behind the girl's back. I found myself feeling like a bit of a prude reading this book. I certainly don't endorse or condone teenagers having sex, or having casual sex with multiple partners with whom there is no shared emotional connection. That's not something I do, and it's not something my friends do. However, Leora Tanenbaum acknowledges the reader like me, and reminds us that the important message of this book is not that casual sex is okay, it's that sexual equality is important, and the standard should be the same for both girls and boys. Tanenbaum provides an abundance of examples of situations in which boys are allowed, expected even, to explore sexually, while girls are punished for doing the same thing. Sometimes girls are even punished for male sexuality. Girls are even punished for being raped. I think the biggest thing I've learned is to not judge people for what they do sexually. Or if I must, I should at least judge both sexes the same. The best thing about this book, hands down, were the personal stories. Tanenbaum provided incidents and numbers and ideas, but what really brought these to life, what really made me see how damaging 'slut-bashing' is were the essays written by former 'sluts' themselves. They shared their experiences candidly, and wrote about how their experiences affected them in the short term and in the long run, for better or worse. This book was surprisingly easy to read. There's not an overhwhelming amount of facts and figures, and though there are parts that are painful to read 'especially the chapter about rape', it was not hard to get caught up in the personal experiences recounted in the essays. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone. Period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Shocking but Insightful

    I read this book in the privacy of my own home but i also read this book around town, in the car, and at sporting events, just having the book in my hand and seeing people read the title i got alot of questions. What are you reading? Why would you read a book with such title as Slut? I would tell them this is one of the best books that i have ever read. What made me want to read the book was the title. I found it very interesting. After reading the first couple of pages i was hooked. Tanenbaum was not afraid of saying things about the word Slut that most people would probably never say. I think that most intreging part about the book was the real stories of girls and women that have been taged with the word slut. While reading the text i would skim through the pages to see when the next true life story would be. I think that was the best part about the book the true life stroies. Some of the stroies a could relate to, and i think that alot of teens in high school could relate to the stories being told in the book. These stroies were very personal and a little scary. The stories where about just beign called a slut for no reason to, girls using drugs and sex to cope with the tag that was being put upon them. This might not be a book for everone but i would suggest that all teen girls read this book in hopes that they will take something positvie from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Amazing

    This is an amazing book i suggest it to everyone. male or female, it has an accurate view of how women are poorly portrayed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Disappointing

    Definitely written from a feminist bias. Difficult to agree with the writers theories.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2004

    Excellent Book! A definite 'must read'!

    Many young women and older women all across the globe can relate to the contents of this book in one way shape or form. It causes a person to unknowingly delve into their own childhood and teenage years, recollecting images or situations they long suppressed or overlooked. This is an excellent book for mothers to read with their daughters, or even vice versa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    Extraordinary Book

    The moment my mom saw the book, she asked me if I was a slut. She proved to me what society achieves with the word: if you don't acti like a lady, you can earn the name. It's an excellent book, makes you actually think about the connatations our society associates with words and phrases, particularly in high schools. It gives real life cases of how lives were harmed by it, and a more realistice picture into society than any other women's studies book I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    A Women's Studies must-read

    Slut! is a fantastic book! The facts presented are awful as well as enlightening, and the personal stories interspersed throughout add perspective and reality to the statistics. The author seems, for the most part, to be unbiased and informative, adding her personal story but not basing the book on it. I highly recommend you pick this one up! If nothing else, it'll make you think twice about what you call girls you don't like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    Outstanding Read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It gives insight into why girls label girls 'sluts' and what these girls can do about it. I recomend it to every girl, whether she was called a 'slut' or she was calling girls 'sluts'. A must-read for people in the education field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1