Customer Reviews for

Sly Fox (Dani Fox Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A Solid Legal Thriller Debut

Being a female Assistant District Attorney in New York in 1976 is not easy. Especially if you're like Dani Fox - a young, pretty A.D.A. that just so happens to think that abusing and/or killing your wife is wrong and aims to do something about it!

Sly Fox, a semi-aut...
Being a female Assistant District Attorney in New York in 1976 is not easy. Especially if you're like Dani Fox - a young, pretty A.D.A. that just so happens to think that abusing and/or killing your wife is wrong and aims to do something about it!

Sly Fox, a semi-autobiographical novel from Judge Jeanine Pirro has a very appealing lead in Dani Fox. Ambitious, feisty and a little naive. O'Brien, the semi-reluctant old-dog homicide detective that helps Dani is also a great character, with shades of Harry Bosch.

Occasionally Sly Fox feels a little too autobiographical and the bad guys are sort of one-note. And I wish the setting had been described more vibrantly. I never really felt immersed in the seventies.

Apparently, Pirro is a judge and TV personality of some celebrity, but I had been unaware of her until asked to review the novel. Pirro, aided by author Pete Earley, has written a compelling and surprisingly enjoyable legal thriller. I wish the era had been utilized for more than its attitudes towards domestic violence, but there were enough twists and well-written courtroom showdowns that I look forward to Pirra's next Dani Fox novel.

4/5

Reviews Of Unusual Size!

posted by Reviews_Of_Unusual_Size on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Yuck! This is the worst nook book I have ever unfortunately bou

Yuck! This is the worst nook book I have ever unfortunately bought. The characters are so poorly developed. Dani Fox is perfect in every way All the male characters are bigoted sexist pigs. They are willing to cut corners to get things done. Before you get the wro...
Yuck! This is the worst nook book I have ever unfortunately bought. The characters are so poorly developed. Dani Fox is perfect in every way All the male characters are bigoted sexist pigs. They are willing to cut corners to get things done. Before you get the wrong idea, I am a 60+ woman. There is nothing here to hold my interest. Obviously Dani is Ms Piro's idealized version of herself. I honestly don't know if I will be able to force myself through this to the end.

posted by DMHNJ on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    A Solid Legal Thriller Debut

    Being a female Assistant District Attorney in New York in 1976 is not easy. Especially if you're like Dani Fox - a young, pretty A.D.A. that just so happens to think that abusing and/or killing your wife is wrong and aims to do something about it!

    Sly Fox, a semi-autobiographical novel from Judge Jeanine Pirro has a very appealing lead in Dani Fox. Ambitious, feisty and a little naive. O'Brien, the semi-reluctant old-dog homicide detective that helps Dani is also a great character, with shades of Harry Bosch.

    Occasionally Sly Fox feels a little too autobiographical and the bad guys are sort of one-note. And I wish the setting had been described more vibrantly. I never really felt immersed in the seventies.

    Apparently, Pirro is a judge and TV personality of some celebrity, but I had been unaware of her until asked to review the novel. Pirro, aided by author Pete Earley, has written a compelling and surprisingly enjoyable legal thriller. I wish the era had been utilized for more than its attitudes towards domestic violence, but there were enough twists and well-written courtroom showdowns that I look forward to Pirra's next Dani Fox novel.

    4/5

    Reviews Of Unusual Size!

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Inappropriate reviews

    Im not happy about the reviews being left that are nasty and inappropriate content. I purchased this book just to post this and have no intention of reading it. Please send an email to bn service about this. Over load the service dept. They will get this under control. This is a big problem with alot of reviews. Im tired of it.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's 1976, and Dani Fox is an Assistant DA. As the only female A

    It's 1976, and Dani Fox is an Assistant DA. As the only female Assistant in the DA's office, she is a token for now, and is relegated to cases that are appealed. She hungers to prove herself in the courtroom. Will this desire get her into the spotlight, or will it endanger her life?

    Dani knows she has to prove herself. When a spousal abuse case is brought to her, Dani decides to pitch it to her boss. But this is 1976, and it is still legal for men to beat their wives in NY. The angle that gets her a chance, however, is one involving a reporter and a story that will showcase the DA's office as progressive in its hiring of women. Dani's life and the lives of her witnesses are put on the line. As women die, Dani must use all of her wits to stay safe and present her case. Will she prove abuse? murder? Will Detective O'Brien be able to keep Dani safe? This story will place you in the courtroom encouraging the jury to reach the right verdict.

    I really enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down. I love to watch Judge Pirro on television as she delves into the legality of cases. This story is well written and addictive. I can't wait for more!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Yuck! This is the worst nook book I have ever unfortunately bou

    Yuck! This is the worst nook book I have ever unfortunately bought. The characters are so poorly developed. Dani Fox is perfect in every way All the male characters are bigoted sexist pigs. They are willing to cut corners to get things done. Before you get the wrong idea, I am a 60+ woman. There is nothing here to hold my interest. Obviously Dani is Ms Piro's idealized version of herself. I honestly don't know if I will be able to force myself through this to the end.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Judge Jeanine Pirro has written Sly Fox as though she wrote from her experiences on the bench.
    I enjoyed reading the story because in addition to the mystery having a good plot, it had a bit of humor inserted into it.
    The story flows and is well written.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Engrossing tale

    Even better because, however loosely, it is based on true incidences. Can't wait for the next one!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    A fun story to check out

    I enjoyed this story very much...Dani starts when few or no females dominate
    the District Attorney's world. She grows by leaps and bounds, I love it and eagerly await her next story!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended - You MUST check it out!

    Once I started to read this novel, could not put it down! finished this in 2 days, read it day and night! Can not wait until her next novel it out!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    very good

    enjoyed this very much / hard to put down

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Awful

    Don't waste your money, even if it's 99cents. A college freshman could do better. Just awful. If I could give this no stars I would. Did I say it's awful?

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    So real - simply amazing - thats how a book should be written

    This book is trying to justify the current strict laws concerning domestic violence. However, just the same as in the case of restricting selling alcohol after midnight because of too many accidentss happening at night by drunk drivers, this laws go to far. We are going from one extreme to another. Just because zsome fuked up dudes end up killing their wives that does not mean that every man that grabs his wife arms in a moment of desperation because she just wont stop yelling should have a criminal record for life

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Fast paced

    A good read! Dani Fox is an admirable female prosecutor who has to prove herself in a 1970's good ol boy network.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    I am in the 60+ range and found this to be a very good story. I

    I am in the 60+ range and found this to be a very good story. I believe it was well written and although I do not like reading profanity, I understood why it was used. Thankfully, it was used sparingly. Although it is a work of fiction, I believe because the writer has been in the legal profession and became a jurist, she gives a reliable account of how things work "behind the scenes."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Very highly recommended

    The author did a very good job of presenting this story and it kept your interest 100% of the time. Very good writer and I look forward to reading many more books by her!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Why?!

    Why do authors insist on bad language and blasphemy! There are people like myself who just want to enjoy a good book without feeling violated. Another potentially great story removed from my nook. Sigh...........

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    highly recommended

    keeps your interest from beginning to end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great Read

    Exciting from page one to the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    I admire Judge Pirro; however, in this book she casts all her ma

    I admire Judge Pirro; however, in this book she casts all her male protagonists as being mysogynistic. Surely her career hasn't found that to be so. Otherwise, the story was light and ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    I thought this was a fun, light read.

    I thought this was a fun, light read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    A great read!

    Educational, couldn't put it down, didn't know what would happen next, fantastic, thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5