Customer Reviews for

Small Favor (Dresden Files Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 476 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(369)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent! You'll love this!

From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading f...
From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading from dark until dawn.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Harry Dresden pulls another rabbit out of his hat

I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adv...
I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adversaries, and saves the world. Another typical day in the life of Dresden the Super-Uber-Wizard.

posted by Sigma on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 482 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Jim is my favorite fiction writer working today, and Harry Dresden is my favorite character (though Tavi is a close second). This book does not disappoint, as the relationships between the characters continue to grow and deepen. Jim does action and camaraderie like no one in the business. His last few books have built toward really enjoyable climaxes which demonstrate Harry's growing ability to think on multiple levels. These are wonderful books when you need to escape for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Excitement all of the way thru

    I had my doubts be cause I had watched the TV series before I read the books. But Now I can not get enough of them!!! If you have an imagination you will love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    A MUST READ BOOK! A MUST READ SERIES! JIM BUTCHER IS WONDERFUL!

    I have read every single book written by this man, and I tell ya I love them! I was soo excited when this book came out, unfortunately, my extra book buying money wasn't in the cards, but I was able to by this book when it came out in bargain status, and I was sooo happy to finally read it. I know that starting a book in the middle fo the series doesn't toot alot of peoples horn, but, I do suggest starting at the beginning of this series and working your way through. I am a card carrying fan of Jim Butcher, so please understand my excitement. I beleive if you have any inclination to read science fiction that you absolutely have to read The Dresden files series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Gets better and better...

    I started reading the Dresden File series 1 1/2 months ago and couldn't put it down. The characters are engaging and the style is a good mix of drama, excitement, and dark humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    jim butcher continues to shine

    i feel that this is one of the most well written series ever, his characters come alive, harry is one of a kind for sure, i hope that mr. butcher continues for many years, i for one look forward for another wonderful adventure with harry dresden!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The story continues to enthrall

    Small Favor is tenth in the Dresden Files series, and the story's really ramping up. There are inevitable references to previous events, but they're not essential to understanding the tale. I wasn't always sure what I'd forgotten or which book things took place in. But it was more frustration at my husband's remembering than a need to know, that made me look up Arctis Tor on the internet. Much to my delight, the search led me to the short story where Harry Dresden first met Karrin Murphy. Reading a reference to their first meeting on the next page in Small Favor was just a delightful slice of serendipity.

    Dresden's world is beautifully thought-out, endlessly inventive, consistent and evolving. It's filled with intriguing three-dimensional characters-unless magic's a dimension in which case four or five-dimensional. And there's a darkness gathering behind the tale that's never quite told, simply shown through the protagonist's eyes as he slowly realizes what's at stake. Who will wield the holy swords? How come evil and good keep joining forces? Why can't a bad guy simply be bad instead of meriting unexpected respect for his good deeds?

    And then there's God. The wizard, Harry Dresden, tries to keep a low profile there. He's not sure what to believe about God and church, but some of his friends take the divine very seriously. The God that's painted through their words takes life and humanity seriously too. How can a good God let bad stuff happen? The mysterious stranger suggests maybe He's working behind the scenes, and we've just not seen it yet.

    The author takes his readers seriously too, and the telling of his tale. This book is a fine addition to the set, for all that it's the wrong size. The story's complete, as it is in each volume, but the history's still got more to come, and I'm eagerly awaiting my chance to unwrap book number eleven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    The World of Magic

    For anyone who's into magic, this is a great series. Harry and his cohorts are brave and funny and they keep the story interesting. Wish Syfy had done more than one season of the Dresden Files.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Amazing

    Literally non-stop action(I mean it. There's not many breaks between each one. There's an action scene after every 25 pages in the first half and 35-40 in the next. And this is a 420 page book.) Harry Dresden is the most realistic and likable hero in the world. Every character has scope. The second best after Turn Coat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love all of his writing

    Fun, Creative, exciting. Can't go wrong reading Jim Butcher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    "Small Favor" is a big favor to a summer reading list.

    Classic Dresden Files. A very enjoyable escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another grand slam for Jim Butcher

    Great series! Haven't missed one yet! They have all been top of the line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jim Butcher is at it again!

    Jim Butcher has once again come through with another gem in his "Dresden Files" series! His writing style is descriptive and flows easily. The characters are all very interesting. This book, like the previous nine in the series is ALL GO and no slow. I found myself interested from start to end. I Still believe "Grave Peril" is his best work, but this book was extremely enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Another triumph by Jim Butcher

    Once again, Jim Butcher has brought to life a world of magic and intrigue. As with all the others in this series, the characters are well developed and strong. The story line is offbeat, exciting, and original. Jim's books explore the world of magic in a 'real world' way that almost makes you wonder if you are really reading fiction...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dresden is at it again

    Another great book from the Dresden files. The characters continue developing, and Butcher's wit is sharp as ever. Keep em' coming!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly worthy follow-on for Dresden fans

    An excellent sequel to a truly worthy series. Any fan of Jim Butcher already knows most of what I'm going to say. He is an excellent writer, and this is a truly interesting series of novels.

    Although one can trace this genre all the way back to Edgar Allen Poe (C. Auguste Dupin) or further, there's not that many worthy authors in it. Butcher is definitely one. I'm a fan of ironic humor and the Dresden Files novels are loaded with it. They can get formulaic, but it's a formula I don't mind.

    As a Christian, I also happen to like the fact that God is definitely not absent from his novels. Some Christians who believe that God can't take a joke (His universe disproves this every day) might take offense, but it's nice to see an author look at Christianity with a fairly open mind. I don't know his beliefs, but Mr. Butcher impressed me by not taking the usual cheap shots.

    All in all, it's very unusual to see any author get past three books and still keep me interested. Butcher has done it twice, with the Dresden Files and the Codex Alera series. My hat's off to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Very good read.

    It is best to read the prior books before reading this one in order to understand the characters better. This book is a very good read and worth purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Good read for fans of series

    As with most books written around a character so contrived and constrained by the fantasy world he inhabits, Harry Dresden is fairly predictable. There is really only one unexpected twist in the tale, but Butcher's sly word play takes the book out of the merely ordinary. He writes well and it's a pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    The whole family loves the dresden files.

    Great storyline. Usually a fight over who gets to read it first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best yet.

    Out of all of the dresden files books this is my favorite. i love how molly has transformed from his best friend's daughter who he barely knew to his apprentice. i was also very supprised with the harry/luccio pairing...but i like it. Anyone who doesent like these books has really bad taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolute must read!

    Every book in the Desden files just gets better than the last. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 482 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25