Customer Reviews for

Small Favor (Dresden Files Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 471 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(365)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent! You'll love this!

From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading f...
From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading from dark until dawn.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Harry Dresden pulls another rabbit out of his hat

I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adv...
I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adversaries, and saves the world. Another typical day in the life of Dresden the Super-Uber-Wizard.

posted by Sigma on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Small Favor, the Dresden Files, Book 10

    Jim Butcher creates an atmosphere of Armageddon, in my new favorite book of The Dresden Files series. Mab calls in one of her favors that Harry owes the Sidhe, Queen of Air and Darkness. Harry can not refuse Mab on this one, because of the SI crime scene investigation of a building torn by ritual magic. And not just any magic, but Very Powerful ritual magic. Together, Harry and Murphy are drawn into an investigation for the missing person/Baron/criminal, Marcone. Taxied by Thomas, and with the aid of the Knights Michael and Sanya, Harry gets in way over his head, (as usual), when he must battle the Denarians, Summer's gruff brothers, and himself, (with two black eyes and a broken nose), all while trying to save the kidnapped Marcone and tortured Ivy. With the overwhelming fear of the Denarians' possession of the Archive, more is revealed about Ivy, her role, her childhood, and her parentage. Also, Nicodemus' conversations clues Harry in finding who is behind the Black Council. Harry will barter everything he has, including the sword Fidelacchius and their advantage in their collection of the silver coins, in order to try and stop the long term, destructive plans of Nicodemus. Harry shifts his romantic eye away from Murphy and onto Luccio, which I do not care for at all. Table conversations with Luccio will show a secret that Dresden is hiding from the White Council about Bob. With the realization that the war between the Knights and Denarians can finally come to an end soon, Michael sees that he can simply be a father and husband to his family. Or, will a life altering accident allow the possible archangel to continue to be a Knight wielding Amoracchius? Can Harry repay the favor to Uriel, whom his godmother has warned him about?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Excellent! You'll love this!

    From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading from dark until dawn.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    The Archive Rocks!

    Well I love me some Laurell K. Hamilton, Old Anne Rice, Charlaine Harris, and ALL of Jim Butcher's books! But this one has got it all! I love the characters! Harry is hilarious and still interesting after all this time.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Dresden pulls another rabbit out of his hat

    I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adversaries, and saves the world. Another typical day in the life of Dresden the Super-Uber-Wizard.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Moo il loo

    L

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Camp half blood

    Hi this is lily daughter of artemis i made this camp im the only daughter of artemis post everything here thanks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Good News He Lives Through It.

    I want to give an in-depth review.
    But I find I keep giving away the best parts.

    So to avoid Spoilers I erased all my reviews of The Dresden Files and have put this type of lame and vague review up instead.

    Read the series.
    If you enjoy a quirky Magic User, You will love The Dresden Files.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Smallkit

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    More "action thriller" than "action comedy".

    I felt like there was a shift in tone with this one. Not a large one, and not one that would be inappropriate given the circumstances. But it felt different from the rest of the series so far.

    The worst threat Harry has faced so far returns. And in what has to be a record for the series, they exploit a plot thread that was introduced late in the last book to do some really capital E evil things. Harry's world isn't exactly one built around sunshine and puppies. But there's always been this kind of balance between the darkness of events happening in the story and the level of snark Harry faced events with. This time, either due to the nature of events or maybe a lesser amount of humor on the hero's part, the over all result feels darker. Don't get me wrong. I really did enjoy this book. But it felt like steps were being taken to move away from "action comedy" and more towards "action thriller".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Warrior den.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Novaslayerx: nononono

    Stop typing epic rap battles u noob. Dis is about magic and magic things alike as the book says it. So qack off. LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    YOUR VOICE SOUNDS LIKE A ROOSTER HAVING SEX WITH

    A FROG, THEY PUT ALOT LIPSTICK ONYOU BUT YOU STILL LOOK LIKE A DOG, PUT DOWN THAT TEACUP HONEY, GO PUT ON SOME PANTS AND, STOP LETTING LITTLE MONSTERS TEACH YOU HOW TO DANCE AND, YOU MAY BE GAGA BUT YOUR NOT A LADY AT ALL, I'VE SEEN THOSE OUTFITS YOU'VE BEEN WEARING THAT TAKES BALLS

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Hi boring book

    Dont get this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Unicorms

    DgdbfgfhdgdjvbxvxdwgdrqgwhcvdfvjglgkhuvdfhdunicornsAre cool

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/Unabridged/Urban Fantasy: This is book 10 of the Dresden ser

    CD/Unabridged/Urban Fantasy: This is book 10 of the Dresden series. This is the first time I listened to a Dresden book, narrated by my future ex-husband James Marsters. I was worried because I have always pictured Nicholas Cage as Dresden while reading. No worries, Nic is still the lovable loser, Dresden in my brain. (Yes, he a loveable loser with no hot water in his apartment, he hasn't gotten laid in forever, and worst, he can't carry around a cellphone).
    This book should have been called White Night because it snows, and snows, and snows through the whole book. Queen Mab calls in a favor Dresden owes her and it's off to the chases. Even though I've read all the previous books, I did have problems remembering who every past character who showed up is. With that one drawback, I still recommend this book. Butcher does a great job reminding the reader who everyone is. There are some netherworld politics going on, which never make sense to me anyway, and the story does flow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Great Book! Highly Recommend!

    I love the Dresden series and this book was no exception to the others in the series. Fast pace and full of surprises. I can't wait to start on book #12. I got hooked on the Dresden character after seeing the show on scifi. Too bad it's not still on the air :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Jim is my favorite fiction writer working today, and Harry Dresden is my favorite character (though Tavi is a close second). This book does not disappoint, as the relationships between the characters continue to grow and deepen. Jim does action and camaraderie like no one in the business. His last few books have built toward really enjoyable climaxes which demonstrate Harry's growing ability to think on multiple levels. These are wonderful books when you need to escape for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Excitement all of the way thru

    I had my doubts be cause I had watched the TV series before I read the books. But Now I can not get enough of them!!! If you have an imagination you will love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24