Customer Reviews for

Small Favor (Dresden Files Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(367)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Small Favor, the Dresden Files, Book 10

Jim Butcher creates an atmosphere of Armageddon, in my new favorite book of The Dresden Files series. Mab calls in one of her favors that Harry owes the Sidhe, Queen of Air and Darkness. Harry can not refuse Mab on this one, because of the SI crime scene investigation o...
Jim Butcher creates an atmosphere of Armageddon, in my new favorite book of The Dresden Files series. Mab calls in one of her favors that Harry owes the Sidhe, Queen of Air and Darkness. Harry can not refuse Mab on this one, because of the SI crime scene investigation of a building torn by ritual magic. And not just any magic, but Very Powerful ritual magic. Together, Harry and Murphy are drawn into an investigation for the missing person/Baron/criminal, Marcone. Taxied by Thomas, and with the aid of the Knights Michael and Sanya, Harry gets in way over his head, (as usual), when he must battle the Denarians, Summer's gruff brothers, and himself, (with two black eyes and a broken nose), all while trying to save the kidnapped Marcone and tortured Ivy. With the overwhelming fear of the Denarians' possession of the Archive, more is revealed about Ivy, her role, her childhood, and her parentage. Also, Nicodemus' conversations clues Harry in finding who is behind the Black Council. Harry will barter everything he has, including the sword Fidelacchius and their advantage in their collection of the silver coins, in order to try and stop the long term, destructive plans of Nicodemus. Harry shifts his romantic eye away from Murphy and onto Luccio, which I do not care for at all. Table conversations with Luccio will show a secret that Dresden is hiding from the White Council about Bob. With the realization that the war between the Knights and Denarians can finally come to an end soon, Michael sees that he can simply be a father and husband to his family. Or, will a life altering accident allow the possible archangel to continue to be a Knight wielding Amoracchius? Can Harry repay the favor to Uriel, whom his godmother has warned him about?

posted by brjunkie on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Harry Dresden pulls another rabbit out of his hat

I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adv...
I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adversaries, and saves the world. Another typical day in the life of Dresden the Super-Uber-Wizard.

posted by Sigma on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 479 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 24
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another day at the office for Chicago's hardest working wizard...

    ...and yet, with each new book, Jim Butcher sets the bar a little bit higher. Anyone who's ever read a long-running series (this is #10 for Dresden), can attest to the fact that they seem to hit a peak early on, and once you're hooked the author just gives up and gives you meaningless crap with a formerly-beloved character's name attached to it (I'm talking to YOU, Laurell K. Hamilton). The Dresden Files just get better and better...Jim Butcher actually deserves his readers' hard earned dollars...Go on, grab the first book...you'll thank him later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Good stuff as usual

    Great book wish Butcher would write faster.

    The only thing I did not like about this book has nothing to do with the story at all. I hate the book size, it is several inches taller than the previous books. It will look stupid on the bookshelf. I don't know who had this idea to create a bigger mass market paperback format but it annoys me.

    If it had been any other author I might not have even bought it. Ten dollar mass market paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Another great addition to the series

    This was another great addition to the series. I'm now caught up and joining the masses chomping at the bit for more. (that must be one chewed up and slobbery bit by now. Gross!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Incredible Continuation of an Incredible Series

    Jim Butcher's Dresden Files series is an awesome read. Most of the Urban Fantasy Genre are mired in melodrama and nonsensical plots with unbelievable characters. Dresden, of all the Genre's characters, escapes most of this to bring an addictive thrill ride to the reader.

    In the latest of the series, Harry is caught in a mystical skirmish between many different agents. The demonic Denarians are back and have an insidious agenda. Players from all sides of the Unseelie Accords are choosing sides, and Harry gets thrown in the middle of the mystical conflict.

    Virtually all the players from previous novels are back: The Order of the Blackened Denarians, the Knights of the Cross, the Faerie courts of Winter and Summer, the usual suspects amongst the White Council, and Harry's loyal companions. The characters are well layered and thought out, and what victories Harry manages to eke out are due to brains and wit, not due to raw power. Of course, since Harry's allies always seem to be at a disadvantage where it comes to said raw power, that will come to no surprise to fans.

    All in all, if you are looking this far into the series, then you are most likely a fan and buying this is a given. If you somehow managed to read this review without reading the prior novels, start at the beginning (Storm Front). The ride is well worth the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Dresden outing...

    Butcher continues to evolve the characters, interject great action, witty dialogue, and humor into the action. When one of the battles is won by a doughnut with vanilla icing and spinkles, you know this is not your typical sci-fi/fantasy outing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    This was a fantastic book. I absolutely recommend this and all of Butcher's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Sarcastic, Trouble-Prone, Wizard for Hire

    Out of all the sci fi books ive read...this series is the best. I have reccommended it to many people and have gotten them as hooked as my bff got me. If you enjoy watching CSI and a bit of Harry Potter/Bizarro X-File flicks, then heres a book for you! Harry Dresden is the all time charming, sarcastic, super hero. The author does a great job at making Harry's life hell with all the worst possible scenarios happening in the book. He does an even better job with all the friendships and relationships that he built in his series. I would say more but....its just something you need to find out for yourself. If you are going to read his series, then start with libre uno or else its not as exciting(kills effects in the books before this one). In my opinion I am going out on a limb that some crazed muggle would break of mine......but this series is much better than that harry potter junk because you don't have to read 5 chapters to get to the good stuff. no offense nerds...jk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Small Favor lives up to the hype

    Jim Butcher once again has delivered a novel in the Dresden Files series that lives up to the name. Small Favor is classic Harry Dresden, fighting supernatural bad guys and finding himself in impossible situations but always managing to figure out how to out smart and think on his feet to come up with solutions to get himself out of the situation he finds himself in. Harry is now done with two of the three favors that he owes to the wicked Fae Queen of Winter, Mab. I am sure an upcoming story will deal with the third and final favor, owed to this malevolent Queen of the Winter Court. Harry Dresden is the quintessential smart ass, with great lines and comebacks. He always manages to give me a giggle. Bravo Jim Butcher on another novel, well written and worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    James Marsters Spikes Dresden

    James Marsters is one of the best SF/F readers I've ever heard. His range of voices and accents brings Jim Butcher's characters to life. He captures the sardonic humor of Harry Dresden just as I imagined him. Although I've always liked Marsters as an actor, I never realized just how good he was until I listened to this book. He rivals Jim Dale in ability to bring characters off the page and into our world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Fanfreakintastic!

    This series will hook you in from the first chapter of 'Storm Front' and leave you, from a few days to two weeks later (depending on how fast you read) with a filthy house, malnourished pets, and a full answering machine with messages ranging from your boss firing you to your wife telling you she will be faxing you the divorce papers and keeping the kids. And you will absolutely not care! As a reformed sci-fi/fantasy skeptic, I strongly urge the rest of the world to stop thinking in terms of wierdness and just let the Tolkien of our generation work his literary magic. The man spins an excellent yarn, and his complex story lines and (cliche, I know) edge-of-your-seat action and suspense will make you wish that the bookstore was open at 4 am so you could pick up the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Can it get any better than this?

    How can you not love Dresden - Just when you think he's caught a break - Fairies & things that go bump in the Knight happen - I loved this book - Butcher keeps getting better & better - Kudo to the Master Magician & the gang

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    A Welcome Addition to the Dresden Files

    Jim Butcher is just getting better and better. The Dresden Files have always been well plotted, and clearly Butcher is leading up to a rip-roaring conclusion. In the meantime, this entry in his series is enough to keep any fan entertained. Butcher manages to keep multiple plot lines and a score of supporting characters juggling around Harry like so many chainsaws. This time around we see the return of The Knights, the Archive, Molly, the Wardens, the White Council, most of the Fae, and what seems to be half of Chicago's underworld. But the pace never slackens, Harry is never shy a wisecrack, and the story is as entertaining as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    I found out that Sci Fi canceled this series and needed my dresden fix. I bought all of the books and have read up till this one. Now I am waiting with relish to April 1st to get this book. Stories haven't let down till this point and don't expect them to in the future. Keep them comin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Dresden is at his best in this private investigative urban fantasy

    Finally a respite for Chicago's only openly practicing professional wizard Harry Dresden as no one has tried to kill in quite a while. However, Harry¿s serenity abruptly ends when the Queen of the Winter Court of the Sidhe and Queen of Air and Darkness Mab arrives to call in his IOU. Harry prayed this day would never come when he asked her for a favor years ago, but he now owes the ever dangerous Mab two favors.------------- Harry is relieved when all Mab asks of him is to rescue crime boss John Marcone, who was recently kidnapped. He figures how hard this can be as dealing with a mundane mob killers seems easier than some of the supernatural soul stealers he normally contends with. Still he is confused why Mab wants this done and bewildering him further she does not know why. Harry investigates to understand better the scenario as he finds it difficult to fathom how John was abducted from a highly guarded safehouse. He asks his friend Michael Carpenter, father of his apprentice Molly, to help him, but the ¿Knight of the Sword¿ hesitates as he distrusts Harry since the wizard was exposed to a curse. However, Harry soon realizes that by abetting Mab, he has brought onto him and his friends, the most powerful adversary of the Queen of the Winter Court, the Queen of Summer.-------------- Dresden is at his best in this private investigative urban fantasy as his R&R ends with paying his debt. Fans will appreciate the hero as the favor seems simple enough, but soon spirals into soul threatening danger that would have hard core sleuths like Marlowe peeing in their pants. Dresden¿s inquiries are cleverly done to set the stage for the usual lethal fantasy spin. Readers will relish Jim Butcher¿s latest tour of Chicago¿s underground as the sunny skies abruptly twist into deadly tornadoes.----- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    I went to Jim Butcher's website and read the first chapter. I have to say I am eager for this next book! I have just reread all the books up to this one and they just keep getting better. Some series suck as they move along, this is not one of them. I highly recommend it. Can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    I can't wait.

    I love all Jim Butcher's work. He's a very talented and entertaining writer. I expect Small Favor to be just as spectacular as all his other Harry Dresden titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 479 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 24