Customer Reviews for

Small Favor (Dresden Files Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 475 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(369)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent! You'll love this!

From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading f...
From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading from dark until dawn.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Harry Dresden pulls another rabbit out of his hat

I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adv...
I've been a long time fan of the Dresden series, but I'm starting to suffer from Dresden fatigue. The plots seem to be getting repetitive, that is, Dresden is dragged into a mysterious situation, encounters arch-villians, pulls a "rabbit out of his hat," humbles his adversaries, and saves the world. Another typical day in the life of Dresden the Super-Uber-Wizard.

posted by Sigma on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 369 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love all of his writing

    Fun, Creative, exciting. Can't go wrong reading Jim Butcher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    "Small Favor" is a big favor to a summer reading list.

    Classic Dresden Files. A very enjoyable escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another grand slam for Jim Butcher

    Great series! Haven't missed one yet! They have all been top of the line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Another triumph by Jim Butcher

    Once again, Jim Butcher has brought to life a world of magic and intrigue. As with all the others in this series, the characters are well developed and strong. The story line is offbeat, exciting, and original. Jim's books explore the world of magic in a 'real world' way that almost makes you wonder if you are really reading fiction...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dresden is at it again

    Another great book from the Dresden files. The characters continue developing, and Butcher's wit is sharp as ever. Keep em' coming!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly worthy follow-on for Dresden fans

    An excellent sequel to a truly worthy series. Any fan of Jim Butcher already knows most of what I'm going to say. He is an excellent writer, and this is a truly interesting series of novels.

    Although one can trace this genre all the way back to Edgar Allen Poe (C. Auguste Dupin) or further, there's not that many worthy authors in it. Butcher is definitely one. I'm a fan of ironic humor and the Dresden Files novels are loaded with it. They can get formulaic, but it's a formula I don't mind.

    As a Christian, I also happen to like the fact that God is definitely not absent from his novels. Some Christians who believe that God can't take a joke (His universe disproves this every day) might take offense, but it's nice to see an author look at Christianity with a fairly open mind. I don't know his beliefs, but Mr. Butcher impressed me by not taking the usual cheap shots.

    All in all, it's very unusual to see any author get past three books and still keep me interested. Butcher has done it twice, with the Dresden Files and the Codex Alera series. My hat's off to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    The whole family loves the dresden files.

    Great storyline. Usually a fight over who gets to read it first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best yet.

    Out of all of the dresden files books this is my favorite. i love how molly has transformed from his best friend's daughter who he barely knew to his apprentice. i was also very supprised with the harry/luccio pairing...but i like it. Anyone who doesent like these books has really bad taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolute must read!

    Every book in the Desden files just gets better than the last. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    DRESDEN FILES - GREAT READING

    Small Favor, #10 in the Dresden Files series is as great as the first book, Storm Front. Jim Butcher has managed to keep the suspense, humor and just all around fun in reading this series. I hope it NEVER ends. I started reading the books by accident, then proceeded to run through the entire series in a couple of months (which was both good and bad, I HAD TO WAIT SEVERAL MONTHS FOR #11). But I know the wait will be well worth it. I highly recommend this series for EVERYONE. Believe me it will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another day at the office for Chicago's hardest working wizard...

    ...and yet, with each new book, Jim Butcher sets the bar a little bit higher. Anyone who's ever read a long-running series (this is #10 for Dresden), can attest to the fact that they seem to hit a peak early on, and once you're hooked the author just gives up and gives you meaningless crap with a formerly-beloved character's name attached to it (I'm talking to YOU, Laurell K. Hamilton). The Dresden Files just get better and better...Jim Butcher actually deserves his readers' hard earned dollars...Go on, grab the first book...you'll thank him later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Good stuff as usual

    Great book wish Butcher would write faster.

    The only thing I did not like about this book has nothing to do with the story at all. I hate the book size, it is several inches taller than the previous books. It will look stupid on the bookshelf. I don't know who had this idea to create a bigger mass market paperback format but it annoys me.

    If it had been any other author I might not have even bought it. Ten dollar mass market paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Another great addition to the series

    This was another great addition to the series. I'm now caught up and joining the masses chomping at the bit for more. (that must be one chewed up and slobbery bit by now. Gross!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    This was a fantastic book. I absolutely recommend this and all of Butcher's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Sarcastic, Trouble-Prone, Wizard for Hire

    Out of all the sci fi books ive read...this series is the best. I have reccommended it to many people and have gotten them as hooked as my bff got me. If you enjoy watching CSI and a bit of Harry Potter/Bizarro X-File flicks, then heres a book for you! Harry Dresden is the all time charming, sarcastic, super hero. The author does a great job at making Harry's life hell with all the worst possible scenarios happening in the book. He does an even better job with all the friendships and relationships that he built in his series. I would say more but....its just something you need to find out for yourself. If you are going to read his series, then start with libre uno or else its not as exciting(kills effects in the books before this one). In my opinion I am going out on a limb that some crazed muggle would break of mine......but this series is much better than that harry potter junk because you don't have to read 5 chapters to get to the good stuff. no offense nerds...jk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Small Favor lives up to the hype

    Jim Butcher once again has delivered a novel in the Dresden Files series that lives up to the name. Small Favor is classic Harry Dresden, fighting supernatural bad guys and finding himself in impossible situations but always managing to figure out how to out smart and think on his feet to come up with solutions to get himself out of the situation he finds himself in. Harry is now done with two of the three favors that he owes to the wicked Fae Queen of Winter, Mab. I am sure an upcoming story will deal with the third and final favor, owed to this malevolent Queen of the Winter Court. Harry Dresden is the quintessential smart ass, with great lines and comebacks. He always manages to give me a giggle. Bravo Jim Butcher on another novel, well written and worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    James Marsters Spikes Dresden

    James Marsters is one of the best SF/F readers I've ever heard. His range of voices and accents brings Jim Butcher's characters to life. He captures the sardonic humor of Harry Dresden just as I imagined him. Although I've always liked Marsters as an actor, I never realized just how good he was until I listened to this book. He rivals Jim Dale in ability to bring characters off the page and into our world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Fanfreakintastic!

    This series will hook you in from the first chapter of 'Storm Front' and leave you, from a few days to two weeks later (depending on how fast you read) with a filthy house, malnourished pets, and a full answering machine with messages ranging from your boss firing you to your wife telling you she will be faxing you the divorce papers and keeping the kids. And you will absolutely not care! As a reformed sci-fi/fantasy skeptic, I strongly urge the rest of the world to stop thinking in terms of wierdness and just let the Tolkien of our generation work his literary magic. The man spins an excellent yarn, and his complex story lines and (cliche, I know) edge-of-your-seat action and suspense will make you wish that the bookstore was open at 4 am so you could pick up the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Can it get any better than this?

    How can you not love Dresden - Just when you think he's caught a break - Fairies & things that go bump in the Knight happen - I loved this book - Butcher keeps getting better & better - Kudo to the Master Magician & the gang

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    I found out that Sci Fi canceled this series and needed my dresden fix. I bought all of the books and have read up till this one. Now I am waiting with relish to April 1st to get this book. Stories haven't let down till this point and don't expect them to in the future. Keep them comin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 369 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 19