BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Small Furry Prayer: Dog Rescue and the Meaning of Life

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not just about the dogs

This is such an interesting story. Steve Kotler went from being dogless to dog rescuer all because of love. When his girlfriend states that he needs to love her dogs as well as her, he jumps in, well, with reservations, but he is quickly won over by four legged furries...
This is such an interesting story. Steve Kotler went from being dogless to dog rescuer all because of love. When his girlfriend states that he needs to love her dogs as well as her, he jumps in, well, with reservations, but he is quickly won over by four legged furries that warm his heart. He gives up everything in Los Angeles to follow his love and his heart to New Mexico where he helps found a sanctuary for dogs. It is wonderful that this man found his purpose in life through dogs. People underrate the fulfillment that dogs (and other pets) can bring to someone's life. Any one who love dogs and memoirs are going to find this heartwarming story a true pleasure to read.

posted by BookHounds on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected - don't recommend

I absolutely love chihuahua's and really expected a different read. It did have chihuahua's in it as well as other dogs; no problem (I like all dogs) but for the most part it was just VERY HARD TO READ!!! I could only get thru 100 pages & then I had to give it up. W...
I absolutely love chihuahua's and really expected a different read. It did have chihuahua's in it as well as other dogs; no problem (I like all dogs) but for the most part it was just VERY HARD TO READ!!! I could only get thru 100 pages & then I had to give it up. Was hoping it would get easier to read, but it didn't. When I started enjoying a "story" he would then stray off on subject matter thst really didn't interest me OR really add to the story; and it dragged on forever!! I really wish I could give a better review, but I have to tell it as I see it.

posted by 8372715 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Not just about the dogs

    This is such an interesting story. Steve Kotler went from being dogless to dog rescuer all because of love. When his girlfriend states that he needs to love her dogs as well as her, he jumps in, well, with reservations, but he is quickly won over by four legged furries that warm his heart. He gives up everything in Los Angeles to follow his love and his heart to New Mexico where he helps found a sanctuary for dogs. It is wonderful that this man found his purpose in life through dogs. People underrate the fulfillment that dogs (and other pets) can bring to someone's life. Any one who love dogs and memoirs are going to find this heartwarming story a true pleasure to read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Amazing Read

    This book became a true spiritual journey for me - not at all what I expected, but one of the most profound and enjoyable books I have read in a very long time. [Full disclosure: I bought the book for it's cover - I love dogs - but this way surpassed my hopes.] Kotler manages to carry the reader through some unexpected terrain, all within the difficult and challenging framework that is dog rescue. You will end up knowing much more than you ever anticipated learning, on unimaginable levels. His wit and timing are entertaining, his pace and language really delightful (at times, colorful!) You know there will be somber passages, but the author moves quickly and deftly through without minimizing or glossing over some of the hurdles and setbacks. I laughed out loud through many chapters - and was amazed by the shear scope of this work, and honestly inspired. I plan to buy more copies - this book will make an excellent gift. If you know a dog lover, this book will not disappoint.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Living with a dog can be trying. Living with a dog-rescuer can be even more trying; the effects on the author are life-changing. Buy this book and follow Steven as his capacity for humanity grows and his understanding of his purpose in life becomes clear. This book will make you happy to be a human being.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

    Just finished this book and Steven Kotler has become one of my most favorite authors. A Small Furry Prayer is well written and researched. Kotler is also very well read and philosophical. When I first saw the subtitle I thought about giving the book a miss but I am so glad that I changed my mind. Besides being honestly autobiographical it made me seriously think about having pets again. Please if you only read just a few books about rescuing please please make A Small Furry Prayer one of the books on your list. You will never regret it. I promise.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant

    This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. I laughed and cried. I didn't want it to end.

    Kotler didn't set out to be a hero to unwanted dogs. That role came to him, first with a dog named Ahab, then with a woman who said that to love her meant loving her dogs. But this is more than a story about dogs. It's about a man finding his purpose through and with these dogs, about what it means to be human, about compassion and love and what's truly important in life. This book touched me all the way to my core.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Fun Read for Dog Lovers

    I love New Mexico and dogs so this non-fiction book was a fun read. Very interesting view of dog rescue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Enlightening & on my "favorites" shelf on my nook

    If you have a dog you should read this book! I couldn't put this book down! Not only did this book touch my heart with its moving story of dog rescue. But it also taught me a lot about the inner workings of my dogs mind. I find me and my pack (4dogs) are more in tune with each other and better at communicating after reading this book. Kudos to the writer for not only living the story but being able to put it together so wonderful in such a great educational book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Perfect

    Super quick read. Totally enjoyable. Love, life, passion, humor, psychology, history, science, awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Wonderful book about the joy, sorrow and challenges of running a

    Wonderful book about the joy, sorrow and challenges of running a rescue for dogs. The author had me laughing out loud when describing his adventures hiking the badlands with his pack but also went into great detail about the challenges of rescue including the emotional toll it can take. I love dogs and wish I had the funds to rescue all the wonderful dogs in shelters. Dogs are a blessing from god and this book - and the authors absolute love for his mutts - make this a must read for anyone wishing to learn more about saving these precious lives. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended--please check it out; you won't be sorry

    Truthfully I expected this book to be a longer epithet on the horrors of rescuing stray dogs. Since my husband and I also do animal rescue and rehab I thought I might find some tip to helps us do our job better. If you think this, too, and that's all you want, don't buy this book. If you want a book written from the heart and soul with total honesty, results of studies and philosophical renderings on the aspects of animals, their needs, feelings, desires and fears, then buy this book immediately. I laughed; I cried (a lot); I stopped to think the theories through. It's a good read with a good flow to it, too. I had to go to the website and see just who these folks were. I can tell you that now: they are great people with big hearts who really care about animals. You won't be sorry to have bought this book. I'm recommending it to everyone I know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Not what I expected - don't recommend

    I absolutely love chihuahua's and really expected a different read. It did have chihuahua's in it as well as other dogs; no problem (I like all dogs) but for the most part it was just VERY HARD TO READ!!! I could only get thru 100 pages & then I had to give it up. Was hoping it would get easier to read, but it didn't. When I started enjoying a "story" he would then stray off on subject matter thst really didn't interest me OR really add to the story; and it dragged on forever!! I really wish I could give a better review, but I have to tell it as I see it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    so so

    i expected more of animal rescue and their adventures with the dogs they rescued. But each chapter became more psychobabble. Some of the psychology was interesting but to me it was too much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Will pick whoever is active enough to be leader or the first pick i get

    -Lobber-

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I found it to be a well

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I found it to be a well written, well researched, humorous, educational and exceptional read. I felt I was living the events alongside the author and his bevey of dogs! I did not want the book to come to an end! I heartily recommend this book to anyone interested in a good read about life, or human-pet relationships, animal rescue, or spiritual journeys. It's a book you will want to read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Love, love this bOOK!!

    I am so glad that someone does rescue dogs. This is a wonderful and informative book for every one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Well Worth the Read

    At first I wondered - then, I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Cool

    Awsome small fury prayer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Why must school start tomorrow!!!!????

    In alaska, school starts on the 21st. :-(

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Uh

    Good or bad

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    cool

    good book, just not that exiting

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2