Customer Reviews for

Small Gods (Discworld Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Terry Pratchett at His Best

    This is one of my favorite books. Period. It's Pratchett at his witty satirical, philosophical height. Belly laughs and brilliance. Read it. You won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of my all time favorite books, ever.

    I'm not going to ruin it by describing the plot or the characters in this review. Suffice it to say, this book goes into my mental file folder under "Greatest Books Ever", due to its combination of philosophy, comedy, and wordplay. Buy it, read it, enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    What I love about Terry Pratchett¿s disc world series is you don

    What I love about Terry Pratchett’s disc world series is you don’t have to read them in chronological order to enjoy them. Each book is a story unto itself but fitted into the context of that wonderfully quirky place called disc world. Of all those novels my favorite is Small Gods because to me even though it is a satire on conventional religion it is also profoundly theological. Reading it has given me a better understanding of my own religious tradition and its context in this complicated place we call Earth. I would recommend this book to anyone who believes in God, doesn’t believe in God, or addresses their prayers to Whom It May Concern.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitly worth reading slowly...

    The first time I read this book I read through it quickly, and didn't really appreciate it. At that point it was one of my least favorites in the Discworld series. About 2 years later I decided to give it another try. I read it slower and really tried to absorb what was really being said. I can now say this has definitely moved up in my rankings to the top!
    This whole book( particularly the scene where Brutha is going through the desert and is being courted by all the lost small gods) really brings to mind themes Neil Gaiman later brings to full life in American Gods. (which I also loved!) One has to wonder if he maybe started getting the idea for it from Small Gods. (Terry Pratchett and Gaiman are good freinds, read Good Omens for proof!)
    Anyway, I would recommend this book to anyone, most definitely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Even small gods have a story

    With lots of sarcasm and wit this book is easily one of my favorite discworld novels. Its a unique view of religion on the Discworld and really helps you to understand just why everyone on the Discworld acts the way they do. My only problem is that I wish Terry Pratchett would write more God books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Brutha - Brutha - Brutha

    On Discworld, a god comes into existance when it is believed in and loses power when it is not believed in. So what do sensible gods do? They live isolated from their subjects, tossing a few lightning bolts and play chess like games with them for entertainment. That is until one of them is left with one simple true believer in a corupt church. Condemed to roam the earth as a turtle, avoiding big birds that smash turtles on rocks, this god learns a lesson in how to be a god. Meanwhile Brutha learns that he is much more than one true believer. That he can make a difference. Funny satire with a point... One true believer can make a difference and restore sanity to both his church and his god.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    The biography of Gods

    Where the Gods come from? Where do they go? What make them Gods and what determine, just how much Gods they are? Read the 'Small Gods' and you'll make a long step toward the answers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    What can you say about a masterpiece?

    This is an extended theological discussion enwrapt with metaphor with choice sarcasm thrown in for good measure. Those who read this may appreciate religion with a soft chuckle, then go on with their lives with a bigger bounce in their step.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Elder den.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4