Customer Reviews for

Small Island

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Interesting, humorous, disturbing, hopeless & hopeful

    And I can think of many more adjectives to describe this remarkable story, which is about the experience of Caribbean people who immigrated to Britain after the 1940s war. The author's writing style is fantastic. The story is told in four different voices from the point of view of four different people. As a Caribbean person myself, while at times I was angry, other times I found the story dropdead hilarious. Beaurocratic red tape is alluded to and throughout the squalor and indignity, there is a warmth and even hope in this story. Well done!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    Incredible

    The book was beautiful. Slow in a few places, but wonderfully written. Touching, thought-provoking, funny, maddening, you have to have an opinion about it. What surprised me the most was the most interesting character turned out to be, for me, Bernard. The end of the book had a great twist and this will make me read all the author's books. Surprised this wasn't nominated for a Pulitzer. Very, very, very worth your while!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Read

    Small Island is a beautiful story told by four different narrators, two Jamaican and two British. All four are trying to make sense of post-WWII Britain and how they fit into a slowly rebuilding England.

    The Jamaicans leave their homeland in search of greater opportunity, a small garden, a bell at the front door; but what they find awaiting them in their Mother Country is much different than what they anticipated. She's not quite the loving mother they thought she would be.

    All four of the narrators' lives become intermingled with the others in a moving story about love, loss, opportunity, and starting afresh after a tumultuous journey.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    This book is amazing - not just because it should be a reference in Jamaican literature - not just because it should be a staple in any library - not only because it is bigger than the small island mind that it portrays here, but because of the style is pure genius and the writing is clean, beautiful and mesmerizing. I doubt she will be able to top herself any time soon. Andrea is the Queen of literature. I'm about to read Fruit of the Lemon - i think that's what it's called. I won't get my hopes up for it to be as good as this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Great Read

    This book is a beautiful tale of four vivid characters. I was drawn in and could not help but keep turning the pages to know what was next. I've recommended it to friends and family who have all reported similar experiences.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Outstanding!

    I am an avid reader, and I found this book to be possibly the best I've ever read. Ms. Levy is a genius. Every sentence, much less paragraph and chapter is a work of art. Character development is beautiful, and the interrelationship of the characters is fascinating. I never wanted to put it down, and I certainly didn't want it to end. This book should be at the top of everyone's list - I would give it 10 stars if I could.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    One of my favorites!

    I had to purchase this book for an English course I took at the University of Wisconsin- Eau Claire. The story is such an interesting read and the format is easy to get into as well as the pages are unique with how they're cut. I loved this book so much that I bought another to give as a gift to someone close! It's a great edition to any library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    An enriching story

    Small Island is the amazing story on the first wave of Jamaican immigrants who arrived in Britain after WWII. With beautifully grafted characters and a gripping story line, the narrative takes you through different cultures, people and life styles, and through the dialogue, we are given access to the souls of the characters in their moments of weakness, doubts, fears and dreams. The plot is fantastic and the pace of the novel is so fast and gripping that you will end up finishing the book before you realize it. If you are into Cosmopolitan or multi-cultural fiction, then get this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Gingerstar to Streamkit

    Ill meet you at res 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    what a book!!!

    small island was a delight to read. the book was especially enjoyable for me because of my west indian (Jamaican) background. the stories inside the story made me smile. the writing style was easy to get into. the story line flowed well and i found myself unable to put the book down because i was trying to read everyone's point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Fantastic

    I loved Small Island. The four characters take the reader on a journey encompassing, hope, despair, love, war, racism and sacrafice. Ms. Levy is a great storyteller, I can't wait for her next book. This would be a fun book group read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    A fantastic story

    The four voices of Small Island pack a powerful punch. They are all very different characters who weave an incredible story. Love, hate, racism, desperate times of war and hope make for a great story. Congratulations to Ms. Levy for writing this fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Wonderful book

    Ms. Levy has created both interesting, believable characters and an absorbing story. But the icing on the cake is that she has wrapped them all together in beautiful prose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    tHE BEST BOOK i'V READ IN THE LAST 12 MONTHS

    YOU LOVE ALL THE CHARACTERS, BECAUSE YOU GET TO KNOW THEM AND UNDERSTAND THEM.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2