BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Small Medium at Large

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A BIG Hit with Me and the Boys!!!!

Ahhhh the only thing better than reading this book was reading it with my kids. They adored it. The cast of characters was fabulous--dead or alive. Levy hit all of their voices perfectly. We laughed in all the right places and my boys made fun of me when I got all chok...
Ahhhh the only thing better than reading this book was reading it with my kids. They adored it. The cast of characters was fabulous--dead or alive. Levy hit all of their voices perfectly. We laughed in all the right places and my boys made fun of me when I got all choked up at one point. They think I'm hysterical. *snort* But whether the scene included boobs or Bubby, there were snickers and giggles. In short--we are dying for more adventures from Lilah!

posted by Kimmiepoppins on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cute

Great for kids . Love the subject matter

posted by 13484779 on May 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A BIG Hit with Me and the Boys!!!!

    Ahhhh the only thing better than reading this book was reading it with my kids. They adored it. The cast of characters was fabulous--dead or alive. Levy hit all of their voices perfectly. We laughed in all the right places and my boys made fun of me when I got all choked up at one point. They think I'm hysterical. *snort* But whether the scene included boobs or Bubby, there were snickers and giggles. In short--we are dying for more adventures from Lilah!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    My daughter LOVES this book (and so do I) !!!

    My daughter is a finicky reader, so I was thrilled to hear her laughing out loud at some of the scenes in Small Medium at Large. Joanne Levy has totally captured the voice of a 12 year old girl - I adore Lilah! Right from page one, she proves herself to be a positive, happy kid who deals with the typical problems any 12 year old girl has, plus the added dilemma that she can hear dead people. And what a cast of dead people! Any writer knows that a story must have conflict, but the pleasure of SMaL is that this is not a dark book ... it's bright and funny and filled with positivity. Buy Small Medium at Large for your tween/teen daughter, but moms will want to borrow it for a fun read too!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Cute

    Great for kids . Love the subject matter

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Joanne Levy's a local author to this area, and I was so excited

    Joanne Levy's a local author to this area, and I was so excited when she
    offered to send me an ARC of her debut Middle grade novel- and I was so
    pleased to enjoy Small Medium at Large, even though it's fairly
    different from my typical choice of books. An adorable middle grade
    novel, there were so many facets to love about this one- and I could
    easily see younger readers thoroughly enjoying this one, and even older
    fans of MG books for its sweet story and even sweeter heroine. Reasons
    to Read: 1.A superstar heroine: Oh, I just ADORED Lilah as a
    character! She's so sweet and well-intentioned, and she has these
    incredibly embarrassing moments at times that she totally shines during,
    regardless of how embarrassed she is. They're scenarios that could
    happen to any 12 year old girl (12 year old Brenna can remember feeling
    tha tway, at times) but I was amazed at how well she continually bounced
    back. She's exactly the kind of girl younger girls will be able to
    relate to, but she has this quiet kind of confidence that you can't help
    but admire for - exactly the kind of girl I'd want the preteen/teen
    girls I know reading about. She knows what's important in life and
    doesn't let things hold her down. 2.Uplifting family dynamics: Not
    all families are perfect, but I really appreciate reading about some who
    try their best and you can tell truly love and care for each other. The
    Blooms are a perfect example of that, and Lilah's relationship with her
    father is particularly touching. They're incredibly close, in their own
    way, and work hard to support each other as much as they can. 3.A
    healthy dose of reality: I like that life isn't all sunshine &
    rainbows perfection in the story. There's divorce and cancer and death
    (well, clearly since there are ghosts) and bullying. But Lilah doens't
    let that affect her in a bad way, and it doesn't change her character.
    She makes mistakes and learns from them - but more importantly she knows
    to admit when she's wrong. Similarily, other characters learn from their
    own pain, are possible ways to move on and let things go. There were
    a few times I felt like Lilah's voice "slipped" and she came
    across as far older than a 12 year old girl - for example, I really
    don't know that many preteens who throw around the word "ogle"
    so casually. It can happen, sure, but I didn't feel like there was
    enough of an explanation for it (besides casually mentioning that she
    likes Scrabble - I think that could have been played up a bit more to
    explain her character and why her vocabulary is so impressive most of
    the time). And definitely be prepared for a book that's very much a MG
    read - I know that should be a given, but I also want readers to be
    clear that it's a very quick read, with a straightforward and enjoyable
    story. Everything is neatly resolved and tied up by the end, leaving the
    reader with a satisfying conclusion. ARC received from author for
    honest review; no other compensationw as received.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Adorable, quirky and oh-so-funny

    This charming middle-grade book is a surefire winner with a premise that lives up to its fabulous title. Not only is its depiction of 12-year-old girl woes spot-on, but the ghosts that haunt (small) medium Lilah are hilariously delightful. I predict many, many readers will simply adore this book (this one already does).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Love it

    I read the sample and fell in love with it. So I had to buy the book. Get this bookitis the best ever!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review Joanne Levy┬┐s Sma

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review
    Joanne Levy’s Small Medium at Large was a cute and entertaining book. The cover, nice and bright, immediately captured my attention and lets a reader know that the book, even with Liliah (who talks to dead people), is funny, good humored, isn’t scary or dark, and can be enjoyed by all kids or people who read it.
    "Who are you?"
    "Someone who knows disgusting meat loaf when she sees it."
    After being struck by lightening, Liliah wakes up hearing the voice of her grandmother Bubby. Problem is, her grandmother is dead. She realizes she can talk to dead people, becoming little “medium” Liliah. Liliah’s parents are divorced and her dad never started dating and he spends all of his time sad. With the help of her very silly grandmother, Liliah takes on one adventure after another such as bra shopping and trying to medium for the boy she likes, whose father is dead, as the dead and living constantly keep the love, laughs, and tween experiences going.
    Small Medium at Large was a nice, refreshing, lighthearted story, and I hope Joanne Levy writes more books just like this one.*You can view the original review at City Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Ugent

    Hey if this is hurricaneclan then tell me cuz ive been gone for a while and i saw these reveiws and i recognized some names. What is the actual location of this camp anyway? Also does anyone know where fishclan is or where frogstar or dawnfeather is? I would really appreciate some answers. Thanks •owlheart mintsong braveleap leopardfern•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Hi

    Im blueflame

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Urgent!!!!

    A small black kit with glowing flecks fell into the river. Water gurgled in her mouth, leaving her unable to scream for help. Dizziness flooded her head, which in turn, she scrambled with more effort to the surface. But soon exauhstion followed her screaming, bursting lungs. Watching her paws stop churning, a wave of calming numbness swept over her, and calmed her fear. 'Its over.' She thought. Her mouth gently opened, releasing her last breath of air to reach the surface. Finally she closed her eyes, and death clawed at her.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    A kit

    A small silver kit stumbles in. She is bleeding and hungry. Can i please join? Sh aks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Lightkit

    Yes!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Zap and reaper to dreadkit

    Hi whaz up. Zap meowed

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Darkeyes

    Layed down

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Echosong to Echosong

    "YOU ARE NOT THE REAL ECHOSONG!!"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    From sandstrom who is the leader

    Please tell me who the leader is and what you want me to do

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Fleetkit

    *Plays with a leaf boredly.*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    READ THIS!!!!!!!!

    There is a clan already called leafclan. If you want proof then go to piggy bank all results and ask them. Join blueclan at blue clan all results. We need more cats.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Fatalstrike

    Ignores the cats and steps on Dismays head. Curls up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Mistyclaw

    Please dont leave we need you as a clan if one cat leages every one eles leaves too if i am doin somthind wrong or the clan is twll me i will try to fix it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2