Customer Reviews for

Small-Plot, High-Yield Gardening: How to Grow Like a Pro, Save Money, and Eat Well by Turning Your Back (or Front or Side) Yard Into An Organic Produce Garden

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    not easy

    I just started out gardening and did not find this book helpful. I think this book is for people that already have experience in gardening. It has a lot of good info but I wanted something easy to follow since I am just starting out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Very helpful

    When I purchased this book, I thought I was purchasing something totally different. I had read the excerpt and loved it. I thought that the excerpt was the just the intro to the book, and then the book would proceed to give a "how to" of growing tips for the primary vegetables that are grown in the average joe's garden. Boy was I wrong! This book not only details about when and how to grow a wide variety of veggies, it also gives details on how to deal with different soil conditions and what fertilizers to use. Over the years, I have repeatedly asked questions about natural fertilizers, what soil is best for what veggies, and so forth. NO ONE has ever helped me out. I have alway wanted a green thumb, but unfortunately seemed to have been cursed with a black thumb. NO MORE!!! I told my husband that I finally believe that my green thumb has arrived thanks to this book. I only ask the writer to write another, and detail a wider variety of veggies, fruit bushes, and fruit trees.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Small Plot High Yield Gardens, the way to go by lynntahara

    I watched the Martha Steward show and she had this author on the program. He was very informative and explained why he did his small plot, high yield garden and what it took to increase the productivity. I started a garden like this and decided that I needed more info on how to grow the vegetables and flowers in my small plot to have them be higher yielding. I am almost done with the book and it has given me information on the plants that I have and I have increase my yeild. For example I am growing zucchini, summer squash, Japanese cucumbers, lettuce mixed and manoa, bitter melon, broccoli, bassil, red bell peppers and some of the questions on the amount of vegetables produces have been below standard and this was probably because of my over watering and also not using the right type of fertilizer. His suggestion is also to raise rabbits so the waste can be used as fertilizer and this was the best to use on the type of vegetables that I've planted. I am not going out to buy rabbits yet. I was not aware of the organization of the planting also. Also the trench or piling of the dirt or compost for certain vegetables. Full sun light makes a big difference for the plants. I have noticed this for my lettuce that when they do not have a full 8 hours of sunlight the lettuce is smaller in size. I am confident in planting different variety of vegetable and also flowering plants. I am in a dry area and enjoy the bountiful growth of my vegetables and flowers. My zucchinis have gone from a few to over two dozen. This and my summer squash have increased in quantity. I am waiting on the bitter melon and the Japanese cucumbers. I have breaded Iris and gladiolas that will be blooming soon, I hope. I highly recommend this book for a quick read and information on your garden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I love this book. It's freakin' awesome!!!!

    For a second year gardener with only a small sunny spot in her yard, this book is the perfect fit. It helped me understand why my container gardening didn't fare so well last year and pointed out what I truly need to get my plants out on the right foot whether I wanted to start from seed or buy seedlings to transplant.

    It has layouts for different garden sizes, charts on when to put out your plants as well as when you would need to start from seed indoors if you so choose. Organic is encouraged in this book because it's easier to keep a productive garden when it's small and organically maintained. So there are tips on how to garden organically. Raised bed, container, and regular garden styles are all mentioned. Also how to build cold frames and compost bins. A great go-to book!

    The only cons I have is that there weren't any illustrations (except the garden layouts in the back). I would like to have a better understanding of some of the trellising techniques and such. Also, - I want to plant fennel in my garden and there wasn't much mentioned about that particular vegetable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    loved it! a fun guide for both seasoned gardeners and beginners

    first borrowed this from the "new books" table at the local library, and had to have my own copy. very well organized, humorous, packed with great tips. My husband and I have been gardening off and on, depending upon our location, for about 35 years; have found there is always something to learn and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Gardening favorite

    This book was featured on Martha Stewart last month. For people with small spaces this is a great book. I gives you different plot sizes for even the smallest gardens. It gives information on materials, fertilizer, and organic gardening. I plan on making an 8x4 ft. garden. Any new or experienced gardener will be pleased. You will be surprized how much you can get out of a small garden, and this book tells you how.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1