Customer Reviews for

Small as an Elephant

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Very good- hard to put down!

    I just finished reading this book, and to be honest, it was amazing! It is about an 11-year-old boy named Jack who is obsessed with elephants. Jack and his mom have traveled all the way up to Maine from their hometown in Massachusetts. When Jack wakes up in his tent the next morning, all traces of his mom are gone. Her car is gone, her tent is gone, the pots she left on the picnic table are gone. Now Jack must try to find his mother, while hiding from the police who are frantically looking for him. I found this book appropiate for teenagers, since I am one myself. I learned that when your parent goes missing, you can't start wandering and not tell and adult, unless you would like to work on your survival skills (haha). I would recommend this book to anyone who wants an adventure book, along with some elephant facts:)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A thoughtful, emotional read

    Eleven-year-old Jack is left alone in a tent in Acadia National Park, Maine by his mother, who struggles with mental health issues. For years, Jack has protected her, not wanting to be turned over to state authorities and then to his grandmother. He realizes this is yet another time when his mother is "spinning" and vows to either find her or make his way home to Jamaica Plains, Massachusetts. He has been fascinated with elephants for years; he steals a small plastic elephant which reminds him of the stories and facts his mother has told him about the creatures. A live elephant in Maine figures into the story as well. The author writes in such a way that the reader will be afraid for Jack, afraid of the dangers of traveling by himself, afraid of being taken from his mother again, afraid that he and his mother might go to jail. We root for Jack over and over, to find his mom and the elephant, to not get caught by the police, to have his broken finger heal. This is a delightful book which might serve as a springboard to other books about teens on their own (sometimes called survival stories), such as books by Will Hobbs and Gary Paulsen.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    As Small As An Elephant was a great book

    It was a sad book about a boy whose mother left him at a campground because of an argument they had. The boy sets out to find his mother and.....an elephant.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Aweslme book!!!

    This book was so great!!! Totally recomended!!! It reminded me so much of the book the dogs of winter. Both are great books and anybody should read them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    I justbstarted this book and i cannot put it down. I tell myself im gonna read a few pages and end up reading fifty!! I highly reccomend this book! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is a very fun-filled book that you will never know what will happen next. It is a daring adventure of a boy just trying to find his mom when she ran away while camping!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Nice

    Kool book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Im also a gradma

    verry amazing book lots of sad parts but the end was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooiiooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooopooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo sorry if theres some letters that arent soposto be there my grand children typed the o s for me i asked them to put one but this book deserved all the os

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Maddog

    This book is one of the favorites at my school and i can hardly get my hands on it! Good thing i can just buy it!!,!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Amazing

    I love how you can just picture ot in ypur mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Elephant

    Elephant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Yay

    Stuff is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great

    This book is great book i love it:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    I am not a teen...I'm a grandma who came upon this book at a thr

    I am not a teen...I'm a grandma who came upon this book at a thrift store and I thought it sounded interesting. Not only was the story a very good one, but I learned lots of facts about elephants that I never knew. Was hoping from page one that this young boy would place his trust in someone on his journey, and I was glad that he had the small elephant to be by his side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    This book should be in a series called big as a mouse!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Small as an elephant

    Goood booook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Lend me!

    Any one want to lend me.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    :')

    Very good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Great book

    Jacobson does a wonderful job of getting into the head of a young boy and how he uses his past experiences to survive on his own. Great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    'Small as an elephant' is a very good book.

    awesome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2