Customer Reviews for

The Smart One and the Pretty One

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Witty Chick Lit Fare

    No matter how old we are or how far we travel whenever we return to our first family we often revert to the old familial roles. Like an oldie but goodie tune sung slightly off key grown men and women transform into "the baby" or "the favorite" as soon as they re-enter their childhood homes. And few familial relationships are as complex as the sister bond.

    In The Smart One and the Pretty One author Claire La Zebnik spins a delicious tale of adult sisters who come to appreciate that they are more than their childhood labels. The twentysomething Nickerson sisters reunite due to personal crises: their mother has cancer and sister Lauren is in dire financial straits. The sisters quickly resume their respective roles as the "smart one" (Ava) and the "pretty one" (Lauren). Ava, an attorney, has a successful career and money in the bank, but hasn't had a serious romantic relationship in years. Lauren, an unemployed clothes buyer, dresses stylishly and is never long without a new guy on her arm, but is homeless and has creditors chasing her for unpaid debts. While both sisters love and support each other, they believe that they can "fix "the other sister. To that end Ava corrals Lauren into cleaning up her financial mess, while Lauren plays matchmaker for the reluctant Ava.

    While both sisters have romantic entanglements, the men are supporting players to the sister relationship. The author even includes her own personal sister Hall of Fame at the back of the book: Little Women's the March sisters; The Simspson's Bouvier sisters; the real-life Brontes; Pride and Prejudice's the Bennet sisters; and Greek mythology's the Gorgon sisters.

    The Smart One and the Pretty One is witty chick-lit fare with a meaningful twist!




    Publisher: 5 Spot (September 10, 2008), 304 pages
    Review Copy Provided Courtesy of Hachette Book Group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    A+

    The Smart One and the Pretty one it cute, entertaining, and it will keep you reading until the very end. I would know since I stayed up until 5 a.m. to finish it. This book is definitey worthy of a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great summer read.

    This was my first reading of a Claire LaZebnik novel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are endearing in their flaws and I cared about them. The relationship between the sisters was sweet, and the romances realistic. Written with both humor and poignancy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If a chick-flick were a book, this would be it!

    If you're looking for a book to cozy up with while you're indulging in a glass of wine or some chocolate truffles, then this is the perfect catch! This was just flirty and fun, and I enjoyed it until the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Smart One and the Pretty One - great fun!

    The title says it all. The Smart One and the Pretty One captures the rivalry and tension two young single sisters can share. Though the plot is a familiar one, I enjoyed the book very much. The pretty one, Lauren, is flighty and irresponsible and I wanted to shake her a number of times while Ava, the responsible lawyer sister, had my sympathy. The other characters are equally engaging and the Nickerson family draws you in to their lives. I found The Smart One and the Pretty One a fun satisfying read.

    Publisher: 5 Spot (September 10, 2008), 305 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    This was a fun read. While there are serious issues presented t

    This was a fun read. While there are serious issues presented to the characters, it isn't depressing. It's a quick read and I enjoyed it. Entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    So what...

    The characters are thinly drawn. There's virtually no plot. Nothing interesting happens. Some quirky and cute dialogue, but otherwise a real yawner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Omg

    Omg this book is f'in amazing. Seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect Beach Day read!

    This is definitely one of those books that would be a perfect chick flick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Tale of Two Sisters

    "The Smart One and the Pretty One" lived up to my expectations as a fun, spunky piece of chick-lit and then surpassed it. I quickly devoured this book in three days, so involved did I become in both the story and the characters.

    Both sisters, Ava and Lauren, are relatable - - they are witty, they are competitive, they are flawed. Both could be more annoying than amiable - - Ava, the conservative, buttoned up attorney who has some preconceived notions of relationships and men; Lauren, the flirty, flighty spendthrift who acts before she thinks and doesn't think too often of the future. I think most of us have aspects of both sisters in our personalities and that is what made them more endearing to me than aggravating. They have a strong bond, which they realize and identify during the novel, and act like typical sisters.

    Typical, too, in a sense, are their romantic relationships during the book. I could tell exactly where the story was headed for both sisters, but it didn't lessen my enjoyment with the book. I liked both their male counterparts and I liked the fact that they were as equally flawed as the sisters themselves.

    While "The Smart One and the Pretty One" made Lauren's financial woes and her poor handling of money a source of humor and one of the bases for the eventual contract disputes between her and Ava, it handles the sisters' mother's cancer diagnosis with much more seriousness but still keeps the overall tone of the book as bubbly as a glass of champagne. As a bit of an aside, a peripheral character who is also being treated for cancer at the same hospital as Nancy (the sisters' mother) is shown to be quite ill and there is certainly nothing lighthearted about it. In fact, some of the best dialogue (wittiness aside) in the book is between Lauren and the character of Daniel, speaking about dealing with a family member suffering from cancer and trying to make jokes during a depressing, demoralizing time.

    Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with the Nickerson sisters and lamented the ending of the book. I can only hope that Ms. LaZebnik found the sisters worthy enough for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    3.5 Stars

    I enjoyed reading this book and I have to admit I was somewhat disappointed with the ending. After I thought about it some more, I began to wonder if the author will write a sequel. I consider this book to be the beginning story for each character, setting the tone for what's to come. I don't want to include any spoilers in my review, so I'll just say I have many questions regarding the relationships that were discussed in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Humorous and thought provoking┬┐

    Ava and Lauren might look alike, but the two sisters are as different as night and day. Ava is a successful lawyer. She is successful in business, but not in affairs of the heart. Ava likes to look nice, and it takes money to accomplish looking her best. When the two are reunited at their mother¿s bedside, they each form a plan for improving the other. Ava puts Lauren on a budget and Lauren decides to help Ava¿s social life. Claire La Zebnik has a wonderful style. She uses just the right amount of humor and drama to create a thought-provoking page turner. Despite the normal sister bickering, these two sisters love each other. La Zebnik has captured to the true essence of a sister/sister relationship. While this is chick lit, La Zebnik does not degrade men. She presents them in a multifaceted manner. The Smart One and the Pretty One is a pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3