Customer Reviews for

Smart Women Finish Rich: 9 Steps to Achieving Financial Security and Funding Your Dreams

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Easy-to-use advice on finance

    Women have disadvantages when it comes to handling money, says author David Bach. Having been brought up to believe that finances are a man's responsibility, some women don't even know their family's income. Although his book is addressed to 'smart women,' Bach's goal setting and investing guide is helpful to men, also. He does love his bullet points and numbered lists: in addition to the 'nine steps' of the subtitle, there are 'three myths,' 'ten biggest mistakes' and more. But, the lists help make his recommendations memorable and easy to use. Bach implies that he is revealing revolutionary techniques, but actually his advice is basic wisdom that emphasizes values and adopting sensible practices. We recommend this book to you if you find it easier to talk about sex, religion and politics than about money or if you're only making minimum monthly payments on your credit card ¿ so try not to get turned off by Bach's ever-wise grandmother (is she for real?) or his constant promotion of his books, trademarked seminars and other services.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    Thorough with helpful hints

    I like how David Bach doesn't assume that the readers are idiots and he writes to them as if anything is possible once they are armed with the information he is providing. I found this book to be very empowering with great tips that anybody can use. I identified several suggestions that I could apply to my finances. I thought this book was far superior to a Suze Orman book and a good compliment to the book 'Get a Financial Life.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    Amazing must read!

    I am currently a 19 year old college student and I feel this book has prepared me on dealing with finanes in the correct way. Money may not come with instructions but this book sure has it. Im so glad I found it at the right time! I even let my dad borrow it and he says that he only wished he had this book sooner. I recommend to book to anyone not just women!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Invaluable Information!

    Bach is a brillant writer, who makes the 'chore' of financial planning exciting and reasonable for anyone to jump in and get started. The personal situational stories interspersed throughout the book is a nice way to see the theories applied to life. I am in the middle of step seven myself, I am just sorry that I did not find this book sooner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Invaluable Book for every woman that will inspire and change your life!

    I first read this book three years ago at age 35 and I continue to buy this book for my family and friends. David helped me see the importance of paying myself first! I now possess a 401k which in 3 years is at the same amount of my husband's 401k of 10 years! In three years I went from contributing 3% TO 15% to my 401k. I also now have a modest savings account, life insurance,Roth account and two credit cards with zero balances! All this and I don't even live by a budget! David taught me to become more money aware and spend according to my values! David gave me the courage and knowledge to take the necessary financial babysteps that are now giant leaps to a secure finacial future,and is allowing me to donate to charities and fund my dreams of world travel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I stopped ignoring my finances!

    For many years I've ignored my finances and kept my head buried in the sand. I'm so glad I decided to read "Smart Women Finish Rich." David Bach makes taking charge of your money interesting and challenging. I am asking myself the questions he wants me to ask. I am taking the steps he tells me to take to organize me and my husbands finances. It isn't pretty...but I'm going to face this head on. I can't change my current situation until I truly know what I'm facing. With Mr. Bach's help, I know what I'm facing. Great book! I suggest it to any woman who wants to finish rich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    This book is awesome!!!

    I bought this book when I was frustrated to buy my own house and invest my money at the same time...After 1 month of just finished reading the book... I got it all!!! I am 26 and single achieving my own goals in life. This book is nothing but true and applies to reality and practicality. Even my brother read it and bought one for his girlfriend. Made my parents proud. And now am setting a good example to my friends as well. EXCELLENT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Wow! what a great book!

    Combining money with values, this book is amazing! It is clear and to the point. I learned so much about personal investment, what I am doing wrong and what I am doing right(it was a crash course on becoming a smart investor..one that you can really understand). It encourages you to make a positive change to achieve the goals you have been dreaming about. I could not put this book down! Davd bach combines his personal experiance and other peoples, making this book something you can really relate to. I just finished it a week ago, and in a week, I can truly say I have done a 180 for my financial future! you can too! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    I will FINISH RICH !!!

    I couldn't have read this book at a better time. At only 24, I'm now a homeowner, have been investing in my 401K for 2 years and have credit cards with 0 balances. If I hadn't read this book 2 years ago, who knows what I'd be doing! I now force this book upon my friends and family and continue to educate them on the importance of investing and paying yourself first. Everyone should read this book!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Excellent & Motivating Book

    This book is awesome. It is definitely motivating and helps you understand the importance of saving money now. You can always save money, even when you don't think you can. :) I highly recommend this book and other David Bach books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Excellent book!

    If you are looking for something to help you get started in your financial planning this book is written for you. I am a woman who wants to ensure that I will always be financially secure as I do not want to depend on anyone to take of my financial needs. Even though I began my financial planning at a very young age, there are some excellent tips in this book that I will put to use. If you have not began planning your financial future, this book is a must get.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    A must read for every woman!

    Absolutely the best financial and inspirational book I have ever read. This is a personable, well written, understandable, and humerous educational read. A man writing for women, where did this guy come from? I enjoyed the fact that David shared with us his own personal experiences, making him immediately 'real' and trustworthy to the reader. The author speaks of his grandmother, Rose which instantly allows the reader to recognize this author as a sincere, honest and heart felt man. I was so impressed by the author that I have placed my complete trust in him and have decided to follow his advice to the 'T'. This is an easy step by step book that anyone can follow. I will keep you posted with the outcome. This is a MUST READ for every woman, therefore I have purchased one for my boss, co-worker and sister. I sat my mother down with Smart Women Finish Rich, she's hooked and she is not even a reader. I have been so uplifted and inspired by this author that I am sharing the good news with every woman I know. I have visited the David Bach web-site and signed up for his newsletter. David shares in his newsletter similar to the way he shares in his book; you feel as if you know him personally and that he truly cares about his audience. The newsletter contains updated information and contact e-mail addresses, so be sure to sign up. I am astonished with the personal response I receive each time I have e-mailed with a question or comment. David shares with his audience 'How To' and how he did, he offers excellent encouragement and inspiration. David Bach Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your contributions and sharing your wealth of knowledge with us. Keep up the Good Work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Practical!

    David Bach's book is full of practical and sensical (yet usually forgotten or ignored!) advice for women looking to save money. Bach's simple steps apply to women of any age and class. This book would be very helpful to any woman looking to invest or save money but who needs several logical tips to get her started. Bach writes specifically toward (and about) women, and writes about our specific needs when it comes to finances. He refers to specific goals and values when it comes to finances: an aspect that I hadn't considered, which is refreshing and very informative! Bonus: you don't have to be an economic genius to understand what he's trying to tell you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    Awesome Book for Women of all Ages!

    Best book you could ever invest in..... Explains to you what all the terms mean and where and how you should invest your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2